The hunting - A Crypto Shot Contest by Scholar and Scribe Community


banner from scholar and scribe community

The hunting - A Crypto shots contest by Scholar and Scribe

  I remember as a child hearing some stories from my grandpa that his grandfather John Tyrrel was the best hunter from the town that our family used to live in a small city in Minnesota. He used to be a guy that killed any type of animal with a single shot using his killer shotgun. All the stories were amazing and I was a very good listener. All these gun stories and about the environment on planet Earth that used to exist populated my dreams for years.

  Nowadays, I, Vance Tyrrel, live in a big colony space station. my obsession for guys, well, just got bigger. I started to train and do some jobs as a mercenary for big rich guys. I think that killing was never a problem for me, I have never bothered with what I was doing since I loved to shoot with my laser rifle. Until a bad thing happened. I received a mission as usual by my message receiver to kill a name: Lisa Melmstein. The receiver also gave me the current location, a small apartment not far from where I lived in the space station.


Vance Tyrrel from the NFT in Crypto Shots


Laser Rifle from the NFT in Crypto Shots

  I accepted and went there. When I found the location, I hid with a good view of the entrance to this apartment and waited with my rifle ready to shoot. After a while, I saw one woman and her daughter exiting the apartment, 6-year-old kiddo. My rifle aim can recognize the name of people, and when I pointed to the mom, it gave me a different name: Cassandra Melmstein. I started to think about whether more women were inside the apartment, but then my gun pointed to the kiddo and showed: Lisa Melmestein. At that moment I freezer and started to think about lots of things. Maybe a system error? So I texted the bounty message and asked for the age. Then it answered back: "under 12 years old". At that moment, I gave up on the job. I threw away the message receiver in the trash and went home to lock my gun forever.

  I was reading the jobs posting on my tablet when someone knocked on the door. Two military guys were inviting me for a meeting, saying that it was a matter of space security. I had to go with them. After I arrived at a restricted zone in the space station, ten different militaries received me, including the space station general, that invited me to a seat. I sat and they started to talk:

 " Mr. Tyrrell, we know about you. You did bad things, you know who you are. So for the space station and the whole human federation to forgive your crimes, you will need to accept one last job." - Said the General.

 "Well, forgive me Sir. I don't accept any other job like that, since I can't kill anything anymore. I would prefer to pay for my crimes", I answered.

 "So here is the good news, what if you are not killing anyone?", Questioned the general.

 "What? So explain me more", I answered surprised.

 "Well, you will need to shoot again with your rifle, but at this time to destroy some evil A.I. drones created by an evil alien species", He answered.

 "Please continue", I said.

 " So we were exploring some new planets with a good environment to start some colonies when they arrived. The only clue is that they receive some kind of code not written using any know human language", He explained me.

 " So what should I do?", I asked.

 " Well you should try first the colony on the planet AH300. Reach the colony base find survivors and destroy all the drones as possible. For that, we will provide a Firefly spaceship. This unit is high-speed and optimal for a maximum of 10 people. After you finish this mission you will get forgiveness for all of your crimes", the general finished the explanation.

 So I accepted the mission and went to the launch station to find the Firefly spaceship. It was an amazing new machine, and it smelled as new. I fastened my seatbelt and launched in the direction of the planet AH300.


Firefly from the NFT in Crypto Shots

  I arrived on the planet it was a huge desert, but I could see very fast the colony base and approached the landing site. There was a few spaceships there but no one there. I prepared myself with my rifle and exited the Firefly. The silence was bothering me, carefully, I entered the base then I saw one laser shot. At this moment I hid behind a crate and looked: A flying drone trying to kill me. It took me a moment to breathe and aim. With one shot, the drone went down.

 I looked closely, it was a drone that I have never seen before. I remember seeing some robots in the space station but this was much more advanced, The material was lighter than any found in human electronics. And in addition to that, no wires or connections inside. I continued the way going up the stairs where I had to shoot down two more drones before they could turn around to aim at me.

  I entered a big room, maybe the cafeteria was there, I found three bodies. No life in there. So I continued my way and opened a door. BANG, another drone that I had to shoot. The base was not big, more than 3 rooms and a command control area and I cleared everything. In total, I shot 12 drones and found 12 human bodies, no life.

  I took some pictures and called the general:

 " Sir, everything is dead in here and I shot all the drones, what should I do?", I asked.

 " Yep, you cleared everything bad. But good job. Now I will pass the next planet's coordinate to your spaceship so you can go there" - He answered

 "What? You told me that I could return and give me the forgiveness I needed. I will go home", I told him

 " Sorry for that, but we control the directions of your spaceship now, you will need to do what we ask you, or you will be stuck on this planet forever", He threatened me.

  So I went back very pissed off to the spaceship and muttered:

  "What the heck of situation that I am right now. So what choices do I have? Let's go to my next mission"

 The spaceship took off and I started my journey as a drone hunter.

The End?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency