Last Sorceress: Detention - Chapter 5 - Thunder and Magic (Luna's POV)

Hello! Glad to see people reading! Enjoy!

I was about to go into the classroom when a hand stopped me. Seeing those chubby fingers with a ton of rings, I knew it could only be one person. “Oh, hey, nerd,” she said. She jumped down from her perch, her seat. “What do you want,” I said in a low voice. “Pay the toll,” she said.

If you're wondering who this is, this is the worst girl in school. Kelly Rootbath. The girl that everyone loves. She’s super rich, like king level. Literally. Her mother married the king when Kelly was two. So Kelly grew up rich and famous, being treated like, well, a princess all her life. And she always picked on the peasants. And especially orphans. Lucky for me, I’m the only orphan in the whole town. And she always forced me to give her a coin to get into the classroom. Like she wasn’t rich already.

57,539 King Queen Stock Photos, Pictures & Royalty-Free Images - iStock

“I said pay the toll,” she growled. “I have no money,” I lied. “Ha! Nice try. Hailey, Franchesca! Grab the nerd.” The two girls grabbed my arms. They were too strong. But I wouldn’t let them grab me. I was able to slip under them. The two girls poked each other in the eye. I sometimes wish I hadn’t done that, because I've now learned one small movement can cause a crazy sequence of events. Kelly was about to put me in a choker hold when the teacher came out. “What is going on out here,” Mr. Free exclaimed.

“Luna started it! She punched me! See,” Kelly said. She showed a bruise on her arm. It looked like she had drawn it on herself. It was completely fake. “Luna! Detention,” Mr. Free said. I looked at him with hatred. “But-,” I started. “She also stole my money,” Kelly interrupted. Mr. Free grabbed my purse and gave all my money to Kelly. I was surprised I didn’t attack Kelly. I almost forgot to tell you. Kelly gets away with everything. And when I say everything, I mean everything. “Go to detention, NOW,” Mr. Free said. I gave Kelly my I will kill you later glare and trudged to the detention room.

OP ED: Are Detentions Being Handed out too Easily? – The Pel Mel

Luckily, Mr. Down was running detention today. He’s the kindest teacher here. He always catches when Kelly does something wrong. Plus he knew everything about my favorite topic. Magic. Everyone says magic is pure evil. They all say that the story of Aberon and the Witches is what was supposed to happen, witches were too powerful. I thought that was kind of stupid. And so does Mr. Down. He even says he saw a dragon with his own eyes! Boy, he loves to tell that tale.

When I came in, he was the first to notice. “Ah, Ms. Newmoon. Detention?” I nodded. When everyone else here heard my name, they all turned around and stared at me. I pulled my cloak tighter around myself. I never liked being the center of attention. Yet I was all the time. I sat and looked down. I could feel their stares. Some of them were whispering. “Is that the orphan,” one whispered. “Yep. I’ve heard she’s a witch.” “I heard she just craves attention.” “I heard her parents hated her.” I was used to their talk about me. Everyone like spreading rumors about my past, which was why I was alone half the time. Being an orphan, it was looked down upon.

“Well, today we are learning about magic,” Mr Down said, slightly excited. Everyone groaned. I perked up. I needed to know about magic if I was a witch, and I just loved his stories.

Magic Locket : 14 Steps (with Pictures) - Instructables

“Once upon a time,” He started. “There was a girl named Willow. Willow was an orphan, but-,” Mr Down said. “Orphan?” A kid burst out. Mr. Down frowned. “Don’t interrupt, unless you want more detention. As I was saying Willow was an orphan, but she was also very clever. One day she was in the forest. She came upon a cottage. An old woman was about five feet away from the house. She had lost her cane and couldn’t see anything. Willow went to go help the old lady without thinking about it. 'Thank you young lady,' the old lady said. 'Let me repay you.' The lady gave Willow a small locket. Then, the old lady disappeared. When Willow opened it she was filled with energy. The woman had given her an extraordinary gift. The gift of magic. Willow was not born with the gift. But that locket gave her magic. You cannot gain magic in any other way, unless you yourself are a witch.” Everyone in the classroom had their mouths wide open. “Witch,” One said. “Witch,” another exclaimed. “WITCHES ARE EVIL!”

Just then, something hit the window. Everyone jumped. Even me. When we looked at the window nothing was there. The door slammed shut. Everyone screamed. Mr. Down looked out the window. “No, no, no,” he muttered. “Not now.” What was going on?

What Runners Should Know About Lightning | Runner's World

“Get over here. NOW,” Mr. Down said. Rain started to pour. I heard thunder and saw the lightning. I ran up to Mr. Down. So did-Logan? I hadn’t seen him earlier. Why was he in detention? “Tell us what’s going on,” a girl said. “Um, Magic, obviously,” I said. Everyone gasped. A girl got up. It was Penny. She had green eyes, glasses, and black hair. She looked kind of like a business woman, just a bit shorter. “I trust Mr. Down. He knows all about magic,” Penny said. I looked at her and smiled. She looked away, but I could see a small smile appear on her unnaturally red lips. A boy sighed. “Fine,” he said. It was Daniel. He looked almost exactly like Penny, except he had no glasses. He looked a whole lot more athletic looking. He held Penny’s hand. That’s when I realized why they looked alike. They were twins. No one else was willing to get up. “Get up your lazy butts and get over here,” Logan shouted over the horrible wind outside. No one moved except a little girl. Her name was Annie I remembered. She had curly red hair and the biggest eyes I’d ever seen. She looked like a drawing.

The next thing I knew, lightning struck the room. It was strange. It danced around the room until everything and everyone was on fire. The other kids ran and most escaped. But it didn’t touch us. It was like a force field. Actually, it was a force field. Anything that tried to hit us would disintegrate and fall into dust on our feet. “Everyone, put your ring finger on this,” Mr. Down said. He took a worn out ball out of his pocket. Everyone did as they were told. Then I felt a weird tingling all over my body, as if all my muscles had fallen asleep. All I saw were flashes of colors. I closed my eyes. When it stopped, I felt a horrible pain in my head, like it was splitting open. But I was alive.

I was in the middle of a grassy plane. I saw mountains in the distance. Where was I? Everyone else was here. Logan helped me up. I looked at his legs. But they weren’t human. They were brown and shaggy. And instead of feet he had two hooves. “Logan,” I asked. He looked down at his legs. “Dang it,” He exclaimed. He put on some shoes he had in his backpack. Round shoes. Everyone else looked the same. Mr. Down got up and helped Annie.

The Sinking House in Montmartre | Rue Margaux

“Ah,” Penny winced. Her leg had a deep cut. I guessed something happened when we were escaping. Annie went over to her. She touched the cut. “What are you doing,” Penny asked. “Let me help,” Annie said. Suddenly, the wound started to glow. A gleaming white. Then, the cut was gone. Annie laid down and fell asleep. "Did she just-," Penny started.

I felt a big fat raindrop on my forehead. “Come with me. I’ll explain everything,” Mr Down said. “How do we know we can trust you,” Daniel said. “He saved us from the lightning you dummy,” Penny said. “Don’t you think he would have killed us if he was going to?” The two siblings walked hand in hand after Mr. Down, but I could see them elbowing each other. I walked behind them with Logan, who was carrying Annie.

“So when were you going to tell me that you were a satyr,” I asked. “What was I supposed to say? Hey Luna. I forgot to tell you, I’m half goat.” “Ok, I admit that would have sounded ridiculous. But I’m a witch, Logan. It’s not that crazy that your half goat anymore. So, how do you know Mr. Down? Like, who is he, exactly?” “Mr. Down is powerful in magic. Not like you where he can control it, more like herbs and potions. Oh, and he’s a Red Dwarf.” I looked at Logan confused. “A red dwarf is this creature that is said to come when a misfortune is bound to take place. He can transform into animals too.”

satyr kid by itsa-puck on DeviantArt
“So, what are you two? Like some kind of club?” “Not exactly. Were more of a group of magical creatures that stick and work together to learn about what we are.” “That sounds like a club.” Logan rolled his eyes. “You see, we’re the last of our kind. I’m the last Satyr. He’s the last Red Dwarf.” “And I’m the last sorceress.” “Exactly. You were meant to come here. Along with the others.” “Wait, so Penny, Daniel and Annie, they’re all magical creatures?” Logan nodded. “Most likely.”

I heard thunder in the distance. “We better hurry now. The rain is getting worse,” Logan said. He seemed afraid of the rain, like it was dangerous, but I didn’t think too much about that. The place Mr. Down was taking us too kind of looked tilted. It was tall, like three stories. It was painted a reddish brown color. I had no idea what was inside. But I walked in anyway. What choice did I have?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency