Life is But the Dream of the Dead

I was sitting in the examination hall. The question paper was in my hand. I was looking at it anxiously. There were some questions that I couldn’t prepare well. I was too upset. I thought I would not be able to maintain my previous position in the class. I looked back into the paper.

It appeared too difficult. The stress made me forget even those questions that I had prepared quite well. “I will fail the exams this time”, I said to myself. “It has never happened. It will be too embracing. How disappointed Mom and Dad would be.” My heart was sinking

.........................

My home was on an alleyway away from the main road. I had to walk on foot every day to go from and come back home. I came back late from the university that day. It was afternoon. The route was quite deserted. When I entered a street I realized someone was walking behind me. I looked back. Four boys were following me. Their target was clearly me. They started catcalling.

I looked around; there wasn’t anyone to help me. I ran as fast as I could. They were chasing me. Before I could reach my home, they would grab me. I entered the nearest building. I didn’t know anyone there. I kept on going upstairs to protect myself. My feet were hurting. I was not only panting but also shivering with terror.

“I protected myself this time. What if it happens again? What if such guys are able to grasp me next time?” These thoughts were running through my mind. How horrified I was, I cannot explain in words.

.........................

It was my wedding night; I was sitting in the centre of my bed. The room was decorated with roses and jasmine. The fragrance made the environment ecstatic.

I was pouring the fragrance into my soul through deep breathing with my eyes closed when I heard the sound of the door opening. He was in. There was a sudden involuntary smile on my face.

He sat in front of me. The fragrance of his perfume dominated the other fragrances in the environment. We had some conversations in a lighter mood. This conversation had some pauses accompanied by confusion about what to talk about next. In between one such pause, I felt the caress of his hand on my hand that moved up to my arm and then face. I never thought that a mere touch might induce a unique feeling of pleasure. A joy never experienced before. Elation unimagined.

.........................

I was going on a trip to the northern areas with my family. The weather was quite beautiful making the journey more pleasant. Looking outside the window, finding various faces and shapes in the clouds, I was enjoying a bar of chocolate when the train got into an accident.

There was an indistinct noise in the surrounding. I could see the blood of the bodies lying beside me. My whole body was hurting with unbearable pain. I wanted to shout but I couldn’t. I was losing consciousness when I heard the voice of an angel.

.........................

My little angel, my son, was saying, “Mamma, Wake up! I am hungry. Give me breakfast.”

Oh! This all was a trail of dreams. All the pleasure, anxiety, terror, and happiness were merely an illusion. Everything was nothing but an unconscious imagination: the touch that I felt on my skin, the fragrance that I smelled through my nostrils, the things that I saw with my eyes, the voices and the noise that I heard through my ears, the food that I tasted. How real this all appeared till I slept. As soon as I woke up, everything turned into nothing.

Is it the reality of our real life? We experience things as real; however, death will reveal that everything was merely an imagination. One day each of us will hear the voice of an angel. It would wake us up from our dream. That day we will be called "the dead."

Is it this truth that God has revealed in verse#185 of Surah Al-Imran (of the Qur’an)?

Every soul shall taste of death…..and the life of the world is naught but an illusory enjoyment...... source

.........................

This is my entry for dreem-wotw


header image from pixaby by KELLPICS
image from pixabay by MagicalBrushes
image from pixabay by F1Digitals
image from pixabay by allenrobert
image from pixabay by LysogSalt
image from pixabay by tombark
This post first appeared on a dead platform, uptrennd.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency