[ENG-SPA] The Raven Queen | La reina cuervo

bird_tree_black_and_white_sadness_nature_beak_fly_animal_1278238.jpg

This is my entry to the bizarre contest The Birth of the Raven Queen! hosted by @dibblers.dabs and @ravenmus1c in the Scholar and Scribe community.

Esta es mi entrada al extraño concurso The Birth of the Raven Queen! organizado por @dibblers.dabs y @ravenmus1c en la comunidad Scholar and Scribe.



[ENG - English is not my language. I used Deepl for translation. I apologize if there are mistakes, words out of context or phrases that don't sound right.]

The Raven Queen

That day the ravens were more restless than usual. They used to perch on the big tree, silent, motionless, while we tried to get something from the dead earth. That day, however, they were circling, cawing noisily. We noticed it early in the morning. After all, there wasn't much going on here: just the wind kicking up dust, the sun burning our heads. We picked the stems of the thistles and prickly pears, and returned home full of thorns. We worked the land with resignation. We went out to hunt the few animals that still survived. And, if we were lucky, we would gather a small bucket of water: then it was one of the good days, and people smiled and talked carefree.
Life hadn't always been like that, my grandmother said. When she was young the big tree was full of leaves and fruit. The land, crisscrossed by streams, was fertile. In the village they grew corn, tomatoes, squash; they raised chickens and turkeys. And nature provided the rest: fresh water, fleshy fruits, wild animals. There were no ravens in the big tree. In its shade, great feasts were held to celebrate the arrival of spring and the rains, to announce births, to give thanks for the harvests.
One day, my grandmother told me, the ravens arrived. Huge flocks darkened the sky and perched on the big tree. She remembered it as a wonderful sight. The force of nature unfolding. But then the tree began to languish and then the plants around it, and those beyond it too, and the streams dried up, and the rains became scarce, and only dust remained, the wind sweeping the bare earth. Those who killed ravens died. Those who tried to leave returned: there are no better places, they said, only the desert. This is all that's left, my grandmother used to say. And still, until her death, she went every year to the tree to thank nature for all it gave her.
That day, when the man came to tell me the news, the ravens were restless. I was collecting prickly pears for my children. He came walking slowly, as they all walked here, and sat down next to me. There is a girl near the tree, he told me. I looked at him without understanding. She's not from here, he added; she's lying on the ground. Did someone help her, I asked. He lifted his shoulders. We have no way to help her, he said, we have no water or food for our children. It was true. Water was scarce and we had nothing but some wild fruits. We could not help her, but we could not let her die alone in this barren land. I got up, took the small basket, and walked to the tree. The girl was lying on the ground. All around, at a safe distance, some villagers were squatting. They watched. I sat down too and began to peel a prickly pear. The thorns, almost invisible, were digging into my fingers. A raven descended and landed on the girl. Someone threw a stone. The bird flew away cawing. I finished peeling the fruit and approached the girl. A group of ravens approached in a rage. I shooed them away as they tried to peck me. No one spoke, although I could feel all eyes on my back. Only the screeching of the ravens could be heard. More and more flew in circles. Others were perched in the branches of the tree, expectant. Like us, I thought, perched on the ground, waiting. I reached the girl and gave her a small piece of the fruit. Her eyes were open, her lips pale, her mouth dry. I didn't know what her gaze was saying, as if she was looking in an unknown language. Suddenly I felt the ravens very close. They began to hurt my back. I shooed them away again. Squatting down, the other villagers kept looking at me, motionless. It could not be said that they were curious. To tell the truth, we felt almost nothing anymore. Monotony was the only way to survive.
I sat with the rest as I peeled another fruit. The noise of the ravens was already intolerable. The tree was empty and all the ravens were flying over the girl. Somehow, it was a wonderful sight. My grandmother was right. We thought we knew what was going to happen and had no way to avoid it. Some of them started to walk slowly back to the village. Then, I thought I saw something strange. A large raven landed on the girl. It stood on her forehead and looked long into her eyes. I thought it was going to pluck them out with its beak. I threw the fruit I was holding in my hand. The raven looked at me and cawed. It went down to the ground and stood near one of its ears. I threw the few fruits I had gathered at him, and then the small knife and basket, but they fell away from the raven. The others watched the scene without interest. The raven let out a bloodcurdling screech. And then the girl opened her mouth and the ravens began to enter through her, one by one. I wanted to run to the girl, but someone grabbed my arm. I fell to the ground and covered my face with my hands. I could hear the flapping of the ravens descending one by one. And then I heard nothing. I looked up. The girl was sitting on the dusty ground. She was smiling. I looked at the others and they were kneeling, their heads resting on the ground. I couldn't understand what was happening. And then I saw the tree full of green leaves. And I saw how the ground was getting covered with grass. There were no more ravens. And the girl was still smiling as the grass sprouted around her. I knelt down too and rested my face on the ground. I wasn't prostrating myself before who would be our raven queen. No. I was just kissing the earth.



[Español - Original]

La reina cuervo

Aquel día los cuervos estaban más inquietos que de costumbre. Solían quedarse posados sobre el gran árbol, en silencio, inmóviles, mientras tratábamos de obtener algo de la tierra muerta. Ese día, en cambio, volaban en círculos, grajeaban ruidosamente. Lo notamos temprano en la mañana. Después de todo aquí no pasaban muchas cosas: solo el viento levantando polvo, el sol quemándonos la cabeza. Recogíamos las pencas de los cardos y las tunas, y volvíamos a casa llenos de espinas. Trabajábamos la tierra con resignación. Salíamos a cazar los pocos animales que aún sobrevivían. Y, si teníamos suerte, juntábamos un pequeño balde de agua: entonces era uno de los días buenos, y la gente sonreía y hablaba despreocupada.
No siempre había sido así la vida, contaba mi abuela. Cuando ella era joven el gran árbol estaba repleto de hojas y de frutos. La tierra, atravesada por arroyos, era fértil. En la aldea sembraban maíz, tomate, calabaza; criaban gallinas y pavos. Y la naturaleza proveía de lo demás: el agua fresca, los frutos carnosos, los animales salvajes. No había cuervos en el gran árbol. A su sombra, se hacían grandes fiestas para celebrar la llegada de la primavera y de las lluvias, para anunciar los nacimientos, para agradecer por las cosechas.
Un día, contaba mi abuela, llegaron los cuervos. Enormes bandadas oscurecieron el cielo y se posaron en el gran árbol. Lo recordaba como un espectáculo maravilloso. La fuerza de la naturaleza desplegándose. Pero entonces el árbol comenzó a languidecer y luego las plantas que lo rodeaban, y también las de más allá, y los arroyos se secaron, y las lluvias se volvieron escasas, y solo quedó el polvo, el viento arrasando la tierra desnuda. Los que mataron cuervos murieron. Los que trataron de irse regresaron: no hay lugares mejores, dijeron, solo el desierto. Esto es todo lo queda, decía mi abuela. Y aún así, hasta su muerte, iba todos los años al árbol para agradecerle a la naturaleza por todo lo que le brindaba.
Aquel día, cuando el hombre vino a contarme la noticia, los cuervos estaban inquietos. Yo estaba recogiendo tunas para mis hijos. Llegó caminando lentamente, como caminaban todos aquí, y se sentó a mi lado. Hay una nena cerca del árbol, me dijo. Lo miré sin comprender. No es de acá, agregó; está tirada en la tierra. ¿Alguien la ayudó?, le pregunté. Levantó los hombros. No tenemos cómo ayudarla, me dijo, no tenemos agua ni comida para nuestros hijos. Era cierto. El agua escaseaba y no teníamos más que algunos frutos silvestres. No podíamos ayudarla, pero tampoco podíamos dejar que se muriera sola en esta tierra estéril. Me levanté, tomé la pequeña cesta, y caminé hacia el árbol. La nena estaba acostada sobre la tierra. Alrededor, a una distancia prudente, algunos habitantes de la aldea se sentaban en cuclillas. Observaban. Me senté yo también y empecé a pelar una tuna. Las espinas, casi invisibles, se me clavaban en los dedos. Un cuervo descendió y se posó sobre la nena. Alguien tiró una piedra. El pájaro se alejó grajeando. Terminé de pelar el fruto y me acerqué a la nena. Un grupo de cuervos se acercó enfurecido. Los espanté cuando trataban de picotearme. Nadie hablaba, aunque podía sentir todas las miradas en mi espalda. Solo se escuchaban los chillidos de los cuervos. Cada vez eran más los que volaban en círculos. Otros se quedaban posados en las ramas del árbol, expectantes. Como nosotros, pensé, posados en la tierra, esperando. Llegué hasta la nena y le di un pequeño trozo del fruto. Tenía los ojos abiertos, los labios pálidos, la boca seca. No supe qué decía su mirada, como si ella mirara en una lengua desconocida. De pronto sentí a los cuervos muy cerca. Comenzaron a lastimarme la espalda. Volví a espantarlos. Sentados en cuclillas, los otros aldeanos seguían mirándome, inmóviles. No podía decirse que sintieran curiosidad. A decir verdad, ya no sentíamos casi nada. La monotonía era la única manera de sobrevivir.
Me senté con el resto mientras pelaba otro fruto. El ruido de los cuervos era ya intolerable. El árbol estaba vacío y todos los cuervos volaban sobre la nena. De algún modo, era un espectáculo maravilloso. Tenía razón mi abuela. Creíamos saber lo que iba a pasar y no teníamos forma de evitarlo. Algunos comenzaron a volver a la aldea, caminando lentamente. Entonces, creí ver algo extraño. Un gran cuervo se posó sobre la nena. Se paró sobre su frente y la miró largamente a los ojos. Pensé que iba a arrancárselos con el pico. Arrojé el fruto que tenía en la mano. El cuervo me miró y grajeó. Bajó a la tierra y se puso cerca de una de sus orejas. Le arrojé los pocos frutos que había recolectado, y luego el pequeño cuchillo y la cesta, pero cayeron lejos del cuervo. Los demás miraban la escena sin interés. El cuervo emitió un chillido escalofriante. Y entonces la nena abrió la boca y los cuervos comenzaron a entrar a través de ella, uno por uno. Quise correr hacia la nena, pero alguien me agarró del brazo. Caí sobre la tierra y me cubrí la cara con las manos. Podía escuchar el aleteo de los cuervos que descendían uno por uno. Y después ya no escuché nada. Levanté la mirada. La nena estaba sentada sobre la tierra polvorienta. Sonreía. Miré a los demás y estaban arrodillados, con la cabeza apoyada en el suelo. No podía comprender lo que estaba sucediendo. Y entonces vi el árbol repleto de hojas verdes. Y vi cómo la tierra se iba cubriendo de pasto. Ya no había cuervos. Y la nena seguía sonriendo mientras la hierba brotaba a su alrededor. Me arrodillé yo también y apoyé mi rostro sobre el suelo. No me estaba prosternando ante quien sería nuestra reina cuervo. No. Solo estaba besando la tierra.



Note: The original Spanish text has less than 1000 words, but in the English translation it was just over the limit.

Nota: El texto original en español tiene menos de 1000 palabras, pero en la traducción al inglés quedó apenas por encima del límite.


The photograph is by Pxhere and is in the public domain.
La fotografía es de Pxhere y se encuentra en dominio público.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency