Hive Naija Chronicles - Zealy Campaign Edition

The banter, the love, and the sense of family and belonging that exist among the Hivers that make up the Hive Naija Community cannot be traded for anything in this lifetime.

Of course, the longer I interact on Hive, the more experiences I gather—some spectacular, others straight up messy.

But if I were to ponder which experience stands out the most, it will definitely have to be the atmosphere that surrounded the November/December Inleo Zealy Campaign last year.


Designed my Image Using Canva

I think there were two consecutive Zealy campaigns before the November edition that closed off the year. When the first one commenced, I remember it was @nonsowrites that alerted us about it. Not a lot of people showed interest until it ended, and right before our very eyes, people got compensated in HBD!

The second one started not too long after, and as expected, a lot more people participated in it. I didn’t, because I wasn’t ready for the hassle that it came with; the numerous tasks that we had to do, some of which cost us our sleep.

Eventually, that one also ended, and the participants were given their rewards. At this point, my curiosity was piqued, and I experienced some major FOMO (fear of missing out). It didn’t feel great to miss out on such an opportunity.

By the time the November/December edition was announced, you bet your ass I was among the first set of people to sign up and participate. I wasn’t going to miss out on this one!

The campaign kicked off, and coincidentally, the Hive Naija platform became very active. Apparently, a lot of us didn’t want to miss out as well. As Nigerians would say, “No be me go come carry last!”

For people that aren’t familiar with the Zealy campaign, we were basically expected to complete numerous tasks, some involving Twitter and other Web2 platforms, while others required us to show up daily.

At first, I decided to go solo and wing it by myself. But along the line, the tasks got more and more difficult to handle alone. So I resorted to our Hive Naija platform. The moment I joined, and I saw how supportive and receptive the vibe was, I knocked myself in the head for not joining sooner.

They made the mental and physical load a lot easier to carry. For example, one of the huge factors that posed a problem was the difference in time zones between us (Nigerians) and the organizers of the campaign.

Several tasks required us to attend certain Twitter spaces, but because of the different time zones, the spaces were held around 3am or 4 a.m., in the middle of the night!

Being the deep sleeper that I am, if I were going solo, I definitely would have missed a lot of the spaces held and consequently missed out on points that elevated my chances of earning bigger prizes.

But because of the immense support I got from my people 🥰🥰, I barely missed any of them. I will use this opportunity to give a shout-out to @fashtioluwa, @kingsleyy, and @tomiajax, especially for coming through for me at my different points of need.

Fashti would go out of his way to beep some of us that he thought were asleep, just so we would wake up and attend the spaces. There was a period when we were tasked with powering up some Leo, and I didn’t have any in my wallet.

Guess what? Kingsleyy and Tomiajax came through for me!

In these moments, I silently thanked God for the amazing people that make up the Hive Naija Community. It warmed my heart to know that we could rely on each other in ways that mattered the most.

Even after the whole campaign, when it looked like the organizers had gone quiet on us and some of us were getting slightly worried, we still had each other to cheer ourselves up! The after-campaign banter was epic😂😂😂. Thankfully, they held their end of the bargain.

So yeah, my most memorable Hive experience has got to be the November/December Inleo Zealy Campaign Period!


Thanks For Reading🥰🥰


Images used are my screenshots.

This is my participation in the IndiaUnited Weekly Prompt. Click the link to join in the fun!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now