Getting my first smartphone: An experience I won't forget

As a young teenager, getting a smartphone is always something to look forward to. The excitement is almost next to nothing.


Source

I got my first smartphone during my early teens. Before then, I had been using a small button Nokia phone. That was the kind of phone in vogue then. Almost everyone had a Nokia button phone. Some could take photos, which obviously would be as clear as that of smartphone these days. The button phones back then could play music, and even some videos.

Some of those phones could even access the internet. I remember using my small button phone to download games from the internet. I played a lot of game with it, and back then, it was really cool.

Now, I would say the graphics of those games were poor, but back then, we saw the graphics as good, as it was the best thing available as at then. I played adventure games, and even soccer games. I remember also using that small button phone of mine to browse the internet for my homework.

Eventually, smartphones came along and everything changed.


Source

People began taking interest in smartphones, and some teenagers started having smartphones of their own. My attention also shifted to wanting a smartphone. Of course, there were many cool things a smartphone could do that the button phones couldn't do. I remember that Whatsapp, for example only operated in smartphones. It wasn't compatible with the smaller button phones.

The smartphones could also take better, clearer pictures. With all the cool features the smartphone came with, I wanted one for myself. So I disturbed my parents to get me one. For months, I would cry to them and try to persuade them to get me one.

In truth, I really needed one, mostly because of my academics. Most of my peers had a smartphone, and I didn't want to be left out.

One day, my father came home and presented me with a smartphone. It was a Tecno L8 smartphone. It was unexpected, but it was one of my happiest days. Even though I've wanted it for so long, I couldn't believe that I got a smart phone of my own.

Immediately I got it, the first thing I did was to download all the cool apps my friends always told me about. I created a Facebook account immediately, and it was like a whole new world had opened up for me. Facebook was in vogue back then.

I also created a Whatsapp account and every other social media account I could think of. I must say, I felt on top of the world at that moment, and I appreciated my parents for getting it for me. Years later, the phone gradually started developing fault and eventually, it got bad.

It was sad letting go of it, but I had to get a new and better one. Every now and then, my mind goes back to that phone, and I realize how much things have changed since then.


You can join the India united weekly contest. Check out the post for week 13 here


@trexane

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency