Summer And Strawberries!

This post is in response to a contest by @indiaunited , check it out here

Theme: What is your Favorite season?


My favourite Season is Summer and it will always remain so. I regard it as the Sunny side of life because it lifts up my spirit like no other, the warmth of the Sun, the brightness of the day, being able to enjoy outdoor activities without any reservations, picnicking with loved ones, enjoying the abundance of Nature, being able to spend more time outside doing whatever one wants to do.
In childhood, the longest holiday always fell within this period of Summer and as soon as school ended, we had weeks for leisure and pleasure and relaxation.
I always love the way the plants and the flowers flourish during this season.
All the events I have ever hosted had been intentionally fixed during this very vibrant season of Summer because I didn't want any soggy interruptions.
Summer reminds me of strawberries too, and the fun I had picking and eating them, these are very fond memories from childhood. I had come to liken Summer to their delicious flavour, their fiery red colour as bright as the Sunsets of Africa! Have you seen the spectacular display of Summer Sunsets? Their magic is in their ability to hold one spellbound, mesmerized!

My first encounter with strawberries ever (aside from the ice-cream variant), was when I travelled to Jos in plateau State, for a Summer holiday. My sibling and I had gone on a visit to my Aunt's who lived Up-North with her family. I had always known that strawberries were grown in my country but I had never seen one except in movies, but strawberry ice-cream was my favourite. So you could just imagine what happened when my Aunt took us on a visit to a big strawberry farm, I was captivated by the very sight and I didn't hide the fact that I couldn't wait to get my hands on those fresh juicy things. I was allowed to pick some that warm summer afternoon and when I bit into this luscious fruit, I was hooked.
Summer is the time I get nostalgic about that holiday visit to my Aunt's, where I ate strawberry fruits for the very first time.

Summer is also the time I get to sleep on a terrace, watching the Clouds, the Stars and the Moon lazily stride by. The Sky in those nights come alive with so much luminescence, I just fall asleep while watching and trying to count the Stars above....😀


Photo source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency