The Significance of Cultural Cuisine: An Insight into Traditional Meals and Heritage.

I was going around when I came in contact with this post made by @bhattg, which is an initiative, and the title says cultural cuisine. Here is a link to the post. I was delighted to see this post, and I would really want to share a bit of my knowledge about it. But to start with, I will share a little idea with us all.

What does cultural cuisine means? This refers to cultural foods, or traditional meals that are created to showcase a particular culture and heritage. Cultural cuisine isn't just about food alone because it shows cultural ethics and values amongst all others. There are different foods or dishes according to the culture. Some foods are like rice, pounded yam, cassava flakes, spaghetti, vegetable mixtures, and so on. These dishes are very classic, and when we see them, we can easily say the tribe that is associated with them because it is their symbol.

Now, let's take, for example, pounded yam. This meal is known by everyone, but it is mostly known amongst the west side of Nigeria, which is the western part of the country ekiti state precisely. This food is a notable meal to the Ekiti citizens because whenever they have any celebrations to do, you will surely see them preparing this meal and without them taking pounded yam, they feel their food is not complete. Whenever you see this meal anywhere you will know it is for those from Ekiti State.

They prefer to eat pounded yam for the three square meals of the day, and they will never get tired of it. The amazing part of this is that whenever they have any visitors, they get to prepare this meal within a short time even with the level at which the meal is stressful to prepare, you will still see some old mothers at their old age, and when they prepare this food for you with vegetables to accompany it, I bet you will finish eating and get a good sleep immediately.

Food is something cultures cherish so much, and when they do it, they do it to their total satisfaction because this is what they stand for, and nothing can change that fact. I could remember the last time I traveled to the village, and when I got there, the first thing I was served was a pounded yam with goat meat on it. I felt as if I hadn't tasted such before, but the feeling was very different. This meal makes us stand out and be distinct amongst all other tribes. Other tribes are known for their meals, and there are still more foods allocated to each tribe in Nigeria.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency