How I lost my money in the act of borrowing

business-g08551a9c3_1920.jpg
Source

I have had a bitter experience in the past about borrowing people money, so as my husband. Now, I understand that people experience some financial burden at some point in their lives, and what they do is run to their close friends for assistance, which is good, and I am not an exception either. One thing that has saved the day for me many times is the good circle of friends I have. I have gotten help from most of them on different occasions when I needed financial assistance, but what I do with every effort when I request such assistance is quickly plan on how to pay it back, either in one go or in installments. This will give you room for another opportunity to get assisted, should you need one in the future!

debt-g8c5a6a397_1920.png
Image source

One of the things that makes me uncomfortable is debt! Whenever I remember that I am owning anyone, my heart beats a bit. This is how much being in debt affects me emotionally, but there are times when I can't control the situation and must reach out to friends for assistance. For the record, I have never disappointed anyone in this regard. Even when I can't meet a promised date, I ensure to carry the lender along and seek a little more time. I believe this act will prove to the lender that you are committed to paying it back regardless.

However, whenever it comes to my turn, people take advantage of my soft heart.
I have lost money several times with friends in the act of borrowing, which I just overlooked after considering some certain factors; but then there is this particular one that made me take another decision about borrowing anyone money. There is one man who approached me last year in need of $30 to buy food and fill his cooking gas cylinder for his family. He promised to return it the next month after making sales. He is a family man who does good business, so I never imagined that he wouldn't pay me back. One month to four months later, I didn't see any refund, and I started calling the man. He kept giving me empty promises, and on the fifth month, he asked me to forward my account details to him for the payment. I did and kept expecting an alert that never came. I tried everything I could do politely to get my money back, especially when I noticed that he had started making sales, but to no avail.

wallet-g5a758d03d_1920.jpg
Image source

Recently, I heard that he opened a laundry shop in a very good location, and I even saw his WhatsApp status update on that. I quickly sent him a message reminding him of my money, but the whole thing played out as if I were begging him to give me money. Maybe it's my weakness that caused his non challant attitude because I find it difficult to be harsh to people; perhaps he would have released my money by being harsh towards him.

My new resolution on borrowing money...

The experience with the man made me come up with the decision that I wouldn't borrow anyone money that I couldn't overlook if it didn't play out fine in the end. The $30 may not be too big, but I gave it out hoping to get it back in a month. However, in a situation where I cannot borrow a particular amount requested, I will rather give the person any amount I can give out without expecting any payment in return!

Have you had a similar experience like mine? How do you deal with people who lend money without showing any interest in paying it back? Do you think my resolution is good enough? Please share with me in the comment section😇.

20230226_220017_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency