Old age can become painful for some

Day before yesterday was Nowruz, it's one of our festival. It's a celebration which marks the first day of the Spring and also the Iranian New Year. It's the day of the equinox. Me having Iranian roots, we do celebrate this festival at our home. We Zoroastrians across the world celebrate this day. It makes us feel connected with our roots. This time it was a sad day for me, because on this very day my friend passed away, there was nothing that I wanted to celebrate with such heaviness on my heart.

Yesterday also I was not wanting to step out of home, I just wanted to be by myself, but then one of my friend called up and she told me that she was going to an old age home to spend time with the elderly people there and if I wished to join her. Though I was not feeling like getting out of home, I thought I should join her for this one, as it may bring some solace to me. I was not wrong with that. I felt so much better after going there. It was a mixed feeling going to that place. I felt good spending time with them, and at the same time looking at their condition I was feeling extremely sad.

image.png
Source

All of these senior people have been abandoned by their children in the old age home. It's shameful that children cannot take care of their parents when they get old. When I went there and I was meeting everyone, they were telling me, that even for Nowruz none of their family members have come to visit them. Seriously, how could the children do such things to those who have given them birth. This world is becoming extremely selfish, but they forget that it's all karma, what goes around will eventually come around in some or the other way.

These old people were craving for love and attention, they want to talk to someone so when someone visits them they feel so happy. There are men and women both staying in this old age home, some of them are couples also, they have separate sleeping arrangements. During the day time they can spend time together. Some of these people are very old and constantly need support. God bless the administration team who take such good care of them in every way.

This group wanted to take pictures with me, happily we clicked one.
IMG-20240322-WA0001.jpg

When I was around with them some of them had tears in their eyes feeling helpless, missing their loved ones. This side of old age really scares me, so much pain and suffering these people are going through and they are not even able to express it because there is no one to talk to. Even if they have been given all the comforts of the world, still no one can replace family love. At that age they would want their children support and not the support of an old age home. Life is so unfair to them at that stage.

They kept on thanking me for visiting them, but the fact was that I was grateful to them for giving me this opportunity to be of service to them. My heart was as it is heavy and sharing my pain with them made me feel light and at the same time seeing their pain again choked me up. God bless these people who take care of them.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif

image.png

"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency