It Took So Long To Get There

It was about a month since I joined the Hive community. It has been an exhilarating journey those first few weeks. Starting from my introduction post, for which I made a mind-blowing amount (at least that’s how it felt to me at the time), to my consequent posts. Everything was going smoothly because as far as the coins keep rolling in, we are all smiles right?😂

Then before you know it, it all stopped. The eye-widening upvotes, the thrill of being seen and appreciated, it all stopped. The coins practically ceased, and I was thrown into despair. I kept reading posts that told me that many upvotes weren’t that important as far as you were doing what you love. That should have motivated me but somehow it wasn’t enough. Compiled with the writer’s block I faced, I just quit.

A day passed, two days passed, rolling into weeks and finally into months, I didn’t branch Hive. Unlike what I do to apps that I don’t use often which is freezing them, I just couldn’t bring myself to freeze my Ecency app, because I kept having that hope that someday, I’ll return.

I’m the kind of person that likes auspicious timing. So I finally started making plans to become active on Hive, not the two posts a week I usually did, but full activities which I set at, at least five posts a week. But I didn’t want to just come in like that so I set plans for the first of January so that I would know I was starting the year a new me. Hah!😂


Mart Production on Pexels

It's strange how it finally sunk into me after months. It’s like I received new enlightenment. Before Hive I always wrote. The writing was my way of escaping my worries, escaping my fear. It had always been my outlet for any negative emotions. And I did it without getting paid. So why stop now just because I want to earn from it?

I know it should have taken more convincing, but honestly, that was the final motivation I needed. I came back to Hive and I don’t know if it’s because of my new mindset, but doors started opening for me. I’m practically humming “I can see clearly now” by Jimmy Cliff as I write this. That’s exactly how I felt. I made friends with people that made me grounded, showed me support and offered me ways so I never had to suffer from writer’s block again.


Anna Tarazevich on Pexels

Looking back now, I regret those wasted months, I look at the reputation of those that came into the Hive community after I did and see how high it is compared to mine, I regret being inconsistent in the first place. I’ve not completely reached the total nirvana of consistency yet. Sometimes I still wake up and feel down and sometimes I get sick, and I just want it all to end. But I’ve come to know that consistency is not about being perfect, it’s about being disciplined, maintaining a steady and reliable approach towards a goal and not allowing sudden changes to deviate you.

It's important that we understand how important consistency is. As far as it involves following your passion, or doing anything you love, being consistent gives you that balance, and that sense of stability because you know that you’ve not reached your ultimate goals but you’re trusting in the process so you know you’ll get there soon.

I’m working towards my consistency and I hope you are too.❤



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency