Are you personally afraid of unemployment?

WARNING - THIS POST MAY TRIGGER ANXIETY

‘Hey Dude, What's up?’ inuke seemed to return back after a good long break.
“Nothing just filling up this random survey on the internet.” I pointed him to the screen of the Google Ads.
Inuke started reading like a school kid “Which. Of. The. Following. Would. You. Likely. Consider having as a Pet? A. Dog, B. Cat, C. Tarantula, D. Python.” inuke paused for a while and then asked, “The question is wrong, its should ask Do you want to live with a pet or get murdered by one? What kinda stupid questions are these?”
“Shhhh…” I shushed inuke and then clicked on Tarantula.
“Arey bhai, There are questions designed for training Machines and AI. I am giving them stupid input so they become dumb.” I explained my genius plan.
“So you are just wasting time here.” inuke asked.
“Nope, I am fighting AI,” I replied.

“Since you have nothing important to do take a look at this.” inuke showed me a Hive post by @bhattg .
Corporate Layoffs and Job Insecurity: Building a Secure Future this looks interesting” I started reading the post.

2mins later.

“Ok. What do you think?” Inuke asked.
“It is a good post. I think one must be prepared for such scenarios.” I replied.
“Are you?” inuke asked the very next moment.
“Well, I think I am,” I replied
“Hmm. Let's see how ready you are?” inuke asked with a smug on his face.
“Ok. Let's see how bad it can be.” I agreed with a little hesitation.
“Let's take a hypothetical scenario. Your boss calls you in the morning asking you to hand over the ID card and submit your laptop. And inform you that you are no longer needed.” Inuke asked the question with a different tone.
“They wouldn’t do that,” I replied.
“They did. Now what will you do?” inukes tone changed a little more.
“They cannot unless they compensate with two month's salary.” I replied.
“Fine!!! Here take that two-month salary and get lost.” inuke voice has some authority now.
“I don't like where this is heading.” I expressed my concern to inuke only for him to proceed with no regard.
“Now what will you do, you got your two months' salary but you now have no source of income.” inuke asked me.

“Well, I will start looking for other jobs in other Payment companies,” I explained my plan to inuke.
“Sorry, they are not Hiring.” inuke shot it down immediately.
“Ok!! Ok!! I will try in the BPO, I can use my experience of the early year.” I explained plan B.
“Sorry, Automation has taken over. Not hiring.” inuke shot this one down too.
“Oh!! Ok!! I can always go back to teaching tuition.” I made up Plan C.
“GoodPlan, But I don't think you will be getting any students. The competition is too tough. With free internet in school libraries, Sorry but I don’t think anyone is going to enroll.” inuke shot this one also.
“I think you are being very negative,” I asked inuke to cut me some slack.
“Bro, I haven’t even brought the negatives yet. Let's take a look there too. Shall we.” Inuke started walking me to the hell gate.
“You have two months' salary with you right?” inuke asked.
“Yes,” I replied.
“Suppose you weren't able to secure a source of income and one month has gone by,” Inuke said.
“But with my resume, I can get a Job anywhere,” I replied.
“And you trust your luck. Tell me how long you were unemployed before you got your first job as a call centre executive?” inuke asked.
“6monts..” I mumbled.
“That too when you were fresher and energetic and ready to work your ass off. Now look at you. You are in your mid-thirties, Your medical conditions are longer than your resume and you can barely manage your commute to and fro the office. This is the reality. You have EMIs, Rent, Medical Bills and treatment. I haven’t even touched the requirements from your Wife and Kid. Imagine he is in school, there will be school fees, tuition fees, and 100 other things. These are all possible scenarios.” Inuke ranted.
“I am…” I hesitated to reply. Because I wasn't sure.
“Answer me, I want to know what your plan is for the worst-case scenario. Where you have no money, no source of income and no savings. What's going to be your action plan?” Inuke asked.
“I.. I..” I choked and was not able to answer.

Inuke saw me sweating, breathing heavily and coughing violently.
“Sit.. Sit… Sit… Relax bro. Drink some water. And breathe slowly and relax… Since when do you have panic attacks?” inuke asked.
“I.. don't.. Know.. I.. think.. You unlocked it.” I replied gasping for air in between words.

5mins later.

“You feeling better?” inuke asked.
“Physically I am fine now, Mentally not so much,” I replied. “I mean I don't have a plan when and if this happens.”
“Don't worry you will think of something, you have time to act and make a plan. All I am saying is that it's better to be prepared.” Inuke said to me.
“I agree, let's get to the solution,” I replied.
“No. No. I think you better take a rest or do something that will take your mind off this. Let's do some more of those silly surveys.” Inuke suggested.
“Hmm.” I clicked on the next survey.
After reading the survey heading and the first question inuke panicked. “You know it already 0200. You better get some rest.”

The survey was from the Business Administration and the question read. “Are you personally afraid of unemployment.?”

Hello Everyone,
For those who are wondering how am I doing. I am doing ok. The cough is still, and I think I have developed an allergy to dust. So Yay!! :( But no worries I am doing fairly better. The mask is a must for me when I am stepping out. The pollution triggers the nasty coughing.
This is just a fun post but with truth to it. I have no plan it seems if things go sideways. The good thing is At least I know I don't have a plan. Will take some time off my busy schedule to explore the option.

Before signing off. I would like to thank the lovely people of IndiaUnited and BeAwesome community.
Espcial thanks to @bhattg

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency