How I learnt my lesson painfully and brutally

pexels-photo-5697256.jpeg
Source

This is my first time posting in this community. I have to be honest and day I had no clue that this community existed, Fortunately I was scrolling through people's posts and I saw this on @merit.ahama wall about how she wanted to double her money and ended at a loss.
It was too good to pass on because I too have been scammed. It's not the most pleasant story and up till date I still get embarrassed talking about it.

So it was just another day, if I recall correctly it was during the second semester of my two hundred level in school.
I was viewing people's status when I came across a friend's post. It was all about tripling, not doubling, tripling your money.
I was never one to take risks so I ignored it.

Next thing I knew she slides into my dm telling me she just saw that I viewed her status, without waiting for a reply she started telling me how a close friend from Lagos brother was the one responsible for it and within two days whatever amount I put in it would be tripled.
I was skeptical and it just so happened that I was reading a book that time about stepping out of my comfort zone and taking more risks.
She told me she had put in money into it the previous day so her "tripled money" would come soon.
I was like okay when you get your money tell me then I will also do my own. She said it was closing soon because a lot of people know about it.
That was the first red flag but I didn't notice it.

"We can buy lots of clothes with the money. I know you like to look pretty, plus it's free money"
She had gotten me and she knew it. I said okay I would send her the money, she said no she would give me her friend's brother's contact so I could talk to him directly.
I thought to myself even better.
I got number, we started talking, even video called and all because I needed extra convincing. After some hours I was fully convinced so I put in eight thousand naira to get twenty four thousand.

Second red flag came immediately I transferred the money. I couldn't even make transfers with my phone so I had to go out to a POS, pay to withdraw, then pay to transfer. That was when POS attendants didn't scare me with their charges😂.
I called to tell him the money had gone through,his number was switched off. I kept calm at first.
Later that night he called me and apologized that his phone battery died.

Two days came and passed, I called him because I had previously dropped my account number.He was just supposed to pay in the money.
I was even planning to reinvest a bigger amount when I got the money. His number was switched off.
Three days, four days, five days. I kept on trying, his number was still switched off.
Why didn't I think to call my friend?

I quickly dialed her number. From the first hello she said I heard it. She was crying.
I can never forget the conversation because it was one of the most painful and annoying conversation I have had in my life. It wasn't these words exactly;
"Guy I haven't heard from him"
She kept mute
"Deborah how far?"
She finally spoke, "Me too I've been calling o. I've even called the sister. It's like they both blocked my number".

I didn't understand, she said the sister was a close friend so I asked her.
Her reply was that she had met the alleged sister in a bus when she was going home last holiday and they had been texting on Whatsapp.
Something hit me in the head, "Debby how much did you put in?"
She started crying, I managed to hear the session's school fees.
That was approximately fifty thousand naira.

I was very angry with her but I couldn't even talk. I told her sorry and ended the call.
My money for manual went like that. It was so painful.

pexels-photo-736843.jpeg
Source

Debby managed to pay School fees, luckily for her. After over hundred sorrys, I forgave her.
Now when our parents give us money to pay for anything school related we do it as quick as possible without looking back.
I learnt my lesson after that, even if it's to put in an amount as little as five naira I won't ever do again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency