Summering

Ok! So my favourite season of the year..... We call it dry season over here in Nigeria. In the Western world, it is known as Summer.

Why I love this season is because I have an abusive relationship with cold, Summer keeps me healthy and keeps the drugs away.

Basically, whenever the temperature drops because it rained heavily or probably its harmattan, I'm already down with the chills.

Before now, I would struggle to breath and so far doctors haven't been able to diagnose exactly what's wrong with me.

Some say its asthma cough, some say its pneumonia, others say it's asthma but I don't use inhaler and I have never used one.

Recently, I discovered that when either of my nostrils or lungs get blocked and I struggle to breathe, I usually get relief when I come out and expose myself to air.

The moment I discovered that, I got off my routin drugs and that's how I have been managing the condition. I also stay away from anything cold.

Basically once its spring or Harmattan, my life gets really boring. I get careful of the temperature of whatever it is is that I am consuming, I am always fully clothed to prevent myself from cold and I'm not a fan of heavy clothing.

Then there's no going out because I can't get the things that I love which are icecream, milkshake and cold drinks. But then I'd be stubborn and go for some chills, having in mind that I'd get on my drugs the moment the cold starts creeping into my system.

It's usually a trade off for me during these times because the drugs shakes me whenever I'm on it, my whole body shakes and my heart beats faster than usual.

But then, when I get invited out on dates, especially Ice cream and Shawarma dates as much as I wouldn't want to get on the drugs I'd go, "ohh just taking the drugs this ones wouldn't hurt." Funny how I'm willing to go through the hassle of my routine just to satisfy my longthroat (cravings).




Have you ever wanted to go out and then it starts raining or the weather starts getting dark? Then you don't have a car and cab business is not really a thing at your end?

How about after dressing to kill and getting ready, you'd need to capture all that steeze in a photo but then there's no Sun to give you that Pop?

Yes! This is another reason why I love summer. The fact that I know no matter how long it takes me to get my makeup done, the sky will always be bright and the ground will be dry gladdens my heart.

How about the time when you are out and it starts raining? No umbrella and you just got your hair done??

Yeah! Another reason why I love summer 🙂



Some Sundays ago, I had prepared this deep fried snacks for our family get together. We were all excited and have anticipated this event but the moment I got done frying, it started raining heavily. I was so sad that I could cry, but I tried really hard to keep my emotions in check.

The family get together got cancelled and we just sent individual snacks across

There was a day it rained all through and all my plans of going out got ruined. I was so bittered that I didn't know when I screamed "I hate rain."

While I am so keen on the negative aspect of raining season, it is not without its advantages as the rain is very beneficial in Agriculture and our food production process.

Moreso, as much as I love the dry season or summer, when it gets too hot, dehydration sets in for me and its not usually a nice experience.

Ironically, in my dehydrated state, I will start wishing for rain.

ALL IMAGES ARE MINE


Above is my response to the IndiaUnited Weekly Contest #12: Theme - "What is your Favorite season?". Please click to respond 🙂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency