Delightful meal... Iu contest #14.

Pleasnt greetings to you all. Happy new week!

Food as we know is something that we cannot do without, as it contains vitamins and minerals needed for a healthy body growth. There are diverse kinds of cuisines and food recipes that cuts across the whole world. There are some foods that are to die for (figuratively) once we have tasted them and there are some that we don't want to ever come across again..ever.

I will be sharing my recipe as a response to the #indiaunited prompt for the week that states " your favourite food". Coming to the conclusion of just having one favourite food is unsatisfying, cause I like all good foods. Don't blame me, blame my tasty tongue and foodie stomach. But for the sake of this prompt, I will be picking the one food that is able to trigger a response form my taste buds in an instant and that food is ** Yam and plantain porridge**.

Yam porridge is so easy to prepare and i like how it makes a balanced meal on its own. Yam is a good source of carbohydrate while plantation is packed with numerous vitamins and minerals. Other ingredients that go into the pot, combine to make up the proteins and fats and oil. Without much ado, let's see my recipe for a tasteful yam and plantain porridge below.

Ingredients

  1. A medium size yam tuber.
  2. 4 pieces of ripe plantain.
  3. Mixed protein (smoked fish and beef).
  4. Crayfish or dried prawns.
  5. Palm oil, seasoning cubes, salt.
  6. Red bell and chilli peppers (quantity depends on preference).
  7. 2 large tomato balls.
  8. Fresh pumpkin leaves.
  9. 1 large onions.

How to prepare

First things is to wash all the ingredients and utensils properly over running water. Then I start to peel the yam skin off. I also peel and dice the tomatoes and onions, I blend the peppers to a not so smooth paste and I also peel off the plantain skin and dice it to cube form.

Next I add my beef in a clean pot, add in some seasoning and allow it to cook for some minutes, because I will be needing the stock from it later. As the beef is cooking, I attend to the rest of the ingredients , washing and slicing them to my preference. The smoked fishbis washed and de-boned, for safety.

Once I'm done prepping my ingredients, I check on the beef that was cooking. Using a strainer spoon, I take out all the cooked beef, putting them in a plate and set aside while I add in some more quantity of water into the pot with the beef stock. Then in goes the diced yam and plantain. I don't boil my plantain separately like some prefer rather I allow both of them to cook together and mix their flavours.

Once the contents in the pot begins to boil, I get to adding the blended pepper, smoked fish, crayfish, seasoning cubes, salt and some palm oil, then I cover the pot to allow the mixture combine properly. After about twelve minutes, I stir the food and see that it is properly cooked, then I reduce the heat of the stove before adding the sliced pumpkin leaves. I allow that to simmer on low heat for seven minutes before adding the sliced fresh tomatoes. Once I have added the tomatoes and stirred the food properly, I turn off the heat and voila, my yam and plantain porridege is ready to be be served. This food is absolutely delicious!

I hope you enjoyed my recipe. Feel frree to try it out and let me know how it tastes 😁. You can also participqte by clicking here

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency