A drama in my college life- where I played a role of an Army officer.

IMG_20210331_010833.jpg

Friends,
When I was studying in college I used to drama with my friends.
I learned to play Tabla at a very young age, so, little knowledge of music I have.
We formed a group in the college and performed many small dramas at that time.
Directed and written by one of my friends Kaushik and produced by all of us.

We produced the dramas with our tiffin money.
Koushik afterward became a film director and written many scripts for different films and drama shows.
We used to rehearse the play at one of our friend’s houses with full music sets. We have the guitar, drums, flute, harmonium, synthesizer with us.

IMG_20210331_010853.jpg

We also performed many dance dramas, serious dramas, dramas related to current topics of politics.
We performed in different auditoriums, universities, colleges, and streets.
I remember one play which was of the Apathy movement of Africa. At that time it was prevailing in South Africa.
I played the role of a white-colored army officer who used to torture black people very cruelly. The story was of one black poet who has been thrown to prison for an unknown number of years.

IMG_20210331_010754.jpg

He had been beaten brutally by the army officer every day. But the poet was stubborn and not left his writing against apathy. He wrote songs, stories, dramas in the prison unaffected by the torture he received. Lastly, the White Army Officer bowed down to this Black Poet and committed suicide.
We played this Drama at Jadavpur University fest and got the best drama awards.

IMG_20210331_010713.jpg

After joining the professional engagements slowly and gradually I started missing the group, though it had been continued for some time after my college years also.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency