Happy Birthday!

It is the day after #caturday (#dayaftercaturday), and I feel I missed it again, but this week has a good reason for it; today is my favourite cats birthday! This isn't a "gotcha day," or the day that she was received at home, but her actual birthday!

There are multiple cats in the house but this one - Bella - is my favourite.

_DSC6603.jpg

She was wee and tiny when we got her with huge, round eyes.

20171106_201717.jpg

Shortly after arriving home, she became very, very ill. She started by literally falling over while sitting. Looking at her would see she had a continual head-tilt, like this, which was taken when she and I were waiting for the Vet in the doctor's office. Poor thing felt awful. She would lean against me and stay there. My initial thought was that she had an ear infection and, sure enough, I was right. It was severe enough that the doctor could not see into her ear at all, so I got to feed her antibiotics.

20171130_184314.jpg

She still has that head tilt today.

Not long after correcting the ear infection she grew very ill again to the point that I took her to an emergency vet clinic on a Saturday. The doctor feels that if we had waited any longer she would not have survived. She was dehydrated, not eating, and could barely move; it turns out she had a rare feline illness which, the best I can describe it, would make her feel like she has full body arthritis. As a kitten. Poor thing. We got some fluids into her via an IV and a prescription for some strong steroids and medicine.

She was still only this big:

20171124_093014.jpg

Happily, the medicine and tender, loving care worked, and she is now as healthy as she will likely ever be. I spent as much time as was necessary nursing her back to health, from giving her the medicine she needed to hand feeding her when necessary. We bonded. I think she will also be somewhat fragile, and even today she gets a vitamin B supplement with her food to help keep her energy up and lets her lead a normal cat life. For instance, she likes to find new and interesting ways to sleep:

20171117_110421-edited.jpg

20171119_094342.jpg

20180217_113253.jpg

Being a young cat, she also likes to play on electronics. Because... well... why not?

20181119_083943.jpg

She's a very photogenic little thing and even looks good in black and white.

_DSC7674.jpg

Today she is four years old, which I suppose makes her a young adult in cat years. I will be celebrating, and will have cake tonight.

20191015_175347.jpg


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Amateur photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

My Favourite Tags

#spaceforce3#altphoto#crappycameraphotos
#digitalpinhole#pinhole#firehydrant

IUR5Qh1mwwwiebe.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency