Meet Simon , The Siamese Fighting Fish

Hello, I am Simon!

5 days ago, when my mom and I went to the market to get our baking supplies, we passed through the fish market. There's a small section at the market that sells decorative fish, aquarium, and its supplies. The place is always crowded even during the evening. Childrens and adults are there either buying or just checking out the fishes. I've been wanting to get a pet. I wanted either a turtle or a guinea pig since that's manageable for now. So, I went along the fish sellers and asked them if they have small Brazilian turtle.

IMG-20210430-WA0015.jpg

I stopped in one of the vendors that seems to be the most crowded than the others. I asked if he had the turtle that I wanted. He showed me the only turtle he has and it was quite massive. But then, I distracted as I saw some adults were checking out bottles lined up on the wooden shelves. Apparently, those bottles are filled with Siamese Fighting Fish.

Betta or Siamese Fighting Fish is a low maintenance fish - sounds perfect for someone like me. At firsth, my mom was objecting my decision to buy it because she said I won't have the time to change the water or feed it. So far, I have been making the time to clean the place and feed it.

There were many options with beautiful color patterns. I chose one with dark blue combined with red and purple. I think it's because it was my favorite color and it looks fierce.

IMG-20210430-WA0030.jpg

When Simon swims, it's so beautiful. I am considering getting Simon a bigger home instead the glass that he's living now. When Simon was taken home, he was living in a tiny plastic bottle. Simon's friends lives in worst condition. Some of them are kept in a plastic instead of a bottle. They weren't able to swim nor move a lot.
IMG-20210430-WA0012.jpg

My grandma also told me to buy a new aquarium for Simon. But as far as I know, many people kept Siamese fighting fish in rather a small aquarium. They are also an aggressive fish that can't really have friends. They are highly territorial as well. Now that I think about it, I am drawn to this fish because its personality matches mine. I wonder, do any of you consider the pet personality while choosing pet?

Line_Break2.png

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, Mac enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency