Dog; a blessing to mankind.

My parents do not accommodate some animals, I don't know why but they have unsuccessfully passed whatsoever belief or thoughts they have about those animals to me.

Having pets is something I always wanted and I am looking forward to having one in my apartment when I am deployed for National Youth Corp Service. I tried it in school but it didn't work out because some of my roommates were scared and the rules of the hostel say that pets are not allowed.

Getting a pet will be for companionship and nothing more. Despite being an extrovert, I am someone who always want space and it's weird how I get bored easily when I am alone. With my pet, I won't have to be worried about loneliness.

I have seen people who call animals pets and lock them in cages, put them at the gate which doesn't feel right to me. The word pet goes beyond using animals for security or work, it has to do with sharing bond with the animal.

I don't have a pet now as I said earlier but I will soon and it's either a cat, dog or both. I am familiar with dogs because I have friends who have them, I became friends with a few people because of how they take care of their dogs so getting a dog will be my first choice of pet.

Dogs have got beautiful qualities that I can't prevent myself from admiring, they are loyal, affectionate and protective. They are man's best friend, it is interesting how they won't betray you when a fellow human will do.

On the other hand, a cat wouldn't be bad. They are beautiful creatures and I cherish how they love to cuddle, it's one of the common things I share with them.

There is a stigma attached to cats here and it is annoying. Attaching spirituality to animals is something I don't find cool that many people in my country are doing. For the sake of changing people's mentality about cats, I think I should have one as well.

Based on the information gathered, the two animals like to fight a lot so I intend to get them as babies at the same time so that they will get used to each other and be best of friends as well.


As I mentioned earlier, I am having them to be my friends. I believe that I can give them proper care and with the help of my friend who is a veterinary doctor, things should be a lot easier for me.

The challenge I have with pets is their lifespan, I really wish they could live long like elephants so that I won't have to worry about losing them when they are too old to carry on.

It hurts to have grown so much bond with your pet and they just disappear all of a sudden.

It took my cousin over a month to mourn his dog and I am always worried their departure will leave me broken.

Getting myself a pet is a decision I have made already and there is no going back. Death is natural and expected, everyone will die one day so I just have to hold to the belief that life happens if such incidents happen in the future.


Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency