Timber our new husky puppy 2022

My husband and I have been looking around for a husky for a while. I really wanted an older dog already housebroken and he really wanted a puppy. We already had two older dogs at the time a corgi named Rocco who is 14 and a husky named Scout who was 12. I found a dog online through a local rescue group and we filled out the paperwork to adopt her online, her name was Ava. We received a call within minutes. We set up a time and place to meet the next day at a local dog park. She was an absolute doll, and Scout loved her, which was quite unexpected because she usually tries to protect me from other dogs. Rocco on the other hand growled and snapped at Ava and he turned around for the rest of the meeting with his back to everyone and was pissed off.

The rescue thought it was best not to upset the dog already in the household. I guess we should have told them he’s already pissed at the world that’s just him. So as our search goes on, I looked at different rescue groups and breeders I ran across a malamute at a rescue in Colorado, but when I messaged them, he was a foster failure, his foster is keeping him. I guess it’s just not meant to be, right now.

We had plans to take our motorhome for two weeks up to Washington state for my brothers wedding and have no business trying to take a new dog or puppy with us. But fate would have it I randomly pulled up a breeder’s website in Alabama and there’s two puppies listed; their website also says that usually puppies are already taken because they have a waiting list. I felt I should not even be calling because we are leaving in a few days for two weeks, but I figure I will call and get some information for maybe a future litter.

So, when I called the puppy is available and the price is great, the breeder asked me to call and get a price for a transport to make sure I’m happy with that price and then call him back. We called a couple of places and get quotes, and everything looks good except I’m leaving for two weeks. So I ask the breeder Is there any way he could board him until we returned? He tells me the puppy will need another set of shots by then and the food he feeds is expensive. So, I ask him how much and he says $100. I’m so excited, I agree on the price, confirm, and pay for transport. The puppy is expected to be at our house the day after we get home from Washington!!!

After everything is set, I think to myself what have I done???? The transport company was great sending us pictures and updates on their arrival. Our little puppy “Timber” arrived right on time. The driver says he’s been the best puppy he’s ever had and thinks he’s so cool looking he wanted to keep him for himself. The driver says goodbye and hands him to us and the adventure begins.

All my friends and clients think I’m crazy getting a puppy, and I just kept telling them he’s going to be perfect. Our little Timber’s enchanted forest, that’s his AKC registered name, is going to be the best puppy ever.

We bring him inside so he can check things out, our other two dogs are in their room downstairs, yes, they have their own room with a doggy door to a dog run. We take him outside to potty and then introduce each dog separately in the front yard, that goes better than we thought so we all come inside the house, and everything is really going well. Both older dogs really like him, even Smeagol, from Lord of the rings, which is Rocco’s nickname, need I say more. I think we really lucked out; this little guy is so smart. My husband has taught him to sit and shake within days of getting him and he just wants to learn more and more. He loves to play with toys, fetch balls and chew on bones, keeps himself occupied very well for a puppy. Crate training him was fairly easy and potty training him went really quite well once we put bells on our sliding glass door for him to let us know he needed to go out. He started off sitting at the back door perfectly quiet and if we weren’t paying attention, we wouldn’t know he needed to go out. Then he started to hit the door with his paw so I purchased a long dog bell to hang on the handle. The first time he hit the door and the bells rang it scared him, but he learned quite quickly what to do, maybe too well. If he rings the bell and we don’t responded quickly enough for him he starts ringing the bell harder and faster. He’s quite a smart little guy.

Right after getting Timber, I get a call from our vet about a pony we had talked about adopting. I’m thinking to myself should I really do this now that we have a new puppy???? Oh, what the hell. She has told us if it didn’t work out with our sheep and goats, she would take her back. She’s the sweetest little paint pony with one eye, and she ends up getting along quite nicely with everyone out back and loves Timber. They form a little friendship every morning at feeding time through the fence and before long we bring Olivia out on our lawn and let Timber loose, watch them, and make sure they are alright with each other. They have really formed a beautiful relationship.

He’s five months old now and we take him on his first RV trip. We usually go every fall to the Eastern Sierras to camp, but with gas prices we decided to just go to a local campground for four days and just relax hang out and teach him the ropes. We barley get to our campsite and a truck pulls up and I see my husband talking to someone and realize its my brother and new sister-in-law and they brought there two small dogs with them. They hang out with us for couple of hours and Timber is so good with both of their dogs even though Nasa (My brother’s older dog) keeps growling at him. This is the first time Timber has been around any other dogs except our own and he’s such a good boy. There was so much action going on poor little guy couldn’t take a nap, there was way too much to see and do. He slept all night, not a peep out of him. We took him on a nice walk in the morning and he just loves to sniff every boulder and zig zag across the trail. We really lucked out with tis little guy. He has stolen our hearts that’s for sure.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency