Rocco’s Halloween dog tale

It became clear my beloved Scout was very near the end of her watch, and I became that much angrier at the thought of being left in charge of the humans on my own. Scout was the Alpha dog in charge, I just skated by, and was a crabby Corgi that kept to myself. I became very angry when Scout decided she could no longer continue with her watch and left me in charge. How dare she leave me alone to take care of the humans by myself.

Time went on and I did what I could to cheer up the humans. Until one day I noticed the humans were excited and giddy and I could not figure out what had happened to make them this way. They had been so sad and gloomy after Scout had left. A couple weeks later there was an unfamiliar car that came into the driveway. I barked and tried to make them go away, maybe it was just a new delivery person for Chewy (our dog food delivery company) But maybe it wasn’t?

I couldn’t make out who it was, and I heard some talk between the humans, but because of my deafness and being half blind from old age I really could not make out what they were saying or doing and why they were so excited. Until the front door opened and I saw the devil come into my house, that’s what I’m calling him, I don’t care that they had given him a real name. They are laughing and cooing over this new puppy, how could I have not been able to see or hear what was happening, my old age had crippled me in knowing what was to come. I was outraged and I was not going to befriend this new devil puppy into my life, hell no! I made it clear that I was off limits and made him very scared of me right away. I growled and bit at him, needless to say my humans were not happy, and I was reprehended and sent to my room.

This was not working out as planned, and I decided I needed to put a spell on this new intruder and try to get rid of him. So I traveled to the pony Witch Olivia in the pasture out back and asked her to grant me one wish to rid my house of this intruder. She whinnied and made two circles with her front right hoof in the dirt and told me my wish could not be made. I begged and barked and asked her to do it again and she said it could not be done. I would need to return to the humans and wait for a sign. A sign, like what did that mean like something was going to drop out of the sky?

I went back home, and the new puppy tried to be so cute and tried to play with me. I just became more angry, tried to bite him, and became obsessed with making him miserable. The only problem was, I only got into trouble, my humans got mad at me, and I was more miserable than I had ever been before. That’s saying a lot since I’m just a crabby old Corgi. I was spiraling out of control and didn’t know how to stop.

I slept one afternoon in the lower hallway where the puppy wouldn’t dare go and kept my teeth showing so he would not bother me as I fell asleep. I had the weirdest dream; a ghostly Scout came to me and told me to soften my ways towards the puppy or I would not be able to visit her over the rainbow bridge when my watch was over. I woke up and was a bit frightened from my dream, it seemed so real. I decided to return to the pony Witch Olivia in the pasture to ask what my dream meant. She replied that those who are long in the fang will not live a very nice after life. She told me to be nice to the new puppy and I would be given a second chance at being happy myself. Happy???? What is that? I don’t think I ever knew the meaning of happiness.

I retired to the house, and everyone was playing and talking cute baby talk to the devil puppy. I thought maybe I needed to go to the Dark Wizard to get my spell granted. He lived very deep in the forest, and I traveled without food and water for two long days, which is a very long time in dog time. When I reached the area, the Dark Wizard was known to live, there was a grey fog hovering around the ground, and it started to swirl and surround me. My eyes had so many cataracts it was hard to see. I yelped out to make my presence known. I was so cold and hungry and a little petrified when suddenly a loud growling voice asked, “What do you want?” I was so scared I ran all the way home with my tail between my legs, I think I may have even peed myself, yes, I know I peed myself.

When I approached my house the jack o lanterns were all lit on the porch. I could see through the windows and watched all the games my humans and the new puppy were playing together on Halloween night. I then, realized how much I had been missing out on all this time by being so grumpy and mean. I knew at that moment I had the sign the pony Witch Olivia had told me about. It was a sign to not be bad and try to be a good boy and enjoy this new puppy and my humans, for dog years go by much faster than you think. Being angry all the time hasn’t made my years any better.

I returned to my house and was greeted with open arms, I’m still crabby but I’m trying to not put a spell on anyone, at least anytime soon. And for the devil dog, well he’s just a rambunctious rapidly growing little puppy that I hate to love, they named him Timber, I think he’s stolen all our hearts. Well, most days, I’m still a mean old Corgi.

CREDITS

Happy Halloween!👻Trick or treat

#halloween
#hivebuzz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency