This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The Adventures of DC and DD / Las Aventuras de DC y DD

Portada.jpg

Although I did not present the birth of this pair of chicks that I will tell you about today, I will tell you that they were born after the last 3 that were born and these were rejected by the hen, so I had to keep them and take care of them both. I gave them names and everything, one is called DC and the other DD. DC is the biggest, DD the smallest because he was born later, they were not born on the same day.

It has not been easy, because I have had to teach them to eat, to drink water and I have also had to introduce them to the cats, so that they do not hurt them.

They have been with me for several days now, I think a little over a week. The point is that they are very lively, so I took them out of the basket where I had them and introduced them to the yard, where the other chickens and the cats are.

Aunque no les presenté el nacimiento de este par de pollitos del que les hablaré hoy, sí les comentaré que nacieron después de los últimos 3 que nacieron y estos sí que fueron rechazados por la gallina, así que me los tuve que quedar yo y cuidarlos a ambos. Les di nombre y todo, uno se llama DC y el otro DD. DC es el mas grande, DD el más pequeño porque nació después, no nacieron el mismo día.

No ha sido fácil, porque he tenido que enseñarles a comer, a beber agua y también se los he tenido que presentar a los gatos, para que no les hagan daño.

Ya llevan varios días conmigo, creo que poco más de una semana. El punto es que están muy animados, así que los saqué de la cesta en donde los tenía y les presenté el patio, donde están las otras gallinas y las gatas.

1.jpg

I took them out in a small container where I keep their food. They are very small and tender, so I have to take care that they don't get hurt by the other hens or the cats, because with a blow they can aggravate them.

Well, the food I am giving them is composed of several things, such as rice, corn and a little concentrated chicken feed, all ground up.

Los saqué en un pequeño envase en donde les tengo su comida. Son muy pequeños y tiernos, así que tengo que cuidar de que no les hagan daño las otras gallinas o las gatas, pues con un golpe pueden agravarlos.

Pues bien, el alimento que les estoy dando está compuesto por varias cosas, como arroz, maíz y un poco de alimento concentrado para pollos, todo molido.

3.jpg4.jpg

InShot_20231005_153339115-min.gif

I also took the lid of a glass container and put some water in it, because they looked a little hot for being in the hot climate of the patio, because where I have them, they usually get the breeze from a fan I have.

También tomé la tapita de un envase de vidrio y les coloqué un poco de agua, porque se veían un poco acalorados por estar en el clima caluroso del patio, pues donde los tengo suele darles la brisa de un ventilador que tengo.

8.jpg

Also in the yard were the other hens and a new rooster that was given to me. I didn't keep them near the chicks, because they can hurt them and even kill them, only when they are with their mother hen who can take care of them I could leave them alone in the yard; even then a rooster could kill a chick.

También en el patio estaban las otras gallinas y un nuevo gallo que me regalaron. No los tenía cerca de los pollitos, pues estos pueden hacerles daño e incluso matarlos, solo cuando están con su mamá gallina que los pueda cuidar es que los podría dejar solos en el patio; incluso así un gallo podría matar a algún pollito.

9.jpg

On the other hand, although I have found that cats are comfortable with the presence of chicks, they are cats after all; therefore, they are the natural predator of animals such as chicks, chicks and other birds.

That's why I'm careful about leaving them alone with the cats, although they are always nearby, snooping on the chicks.

Por otra parte, aunque he comprobado que los gatos se sienten cómodos con la presencia de los pollitos, al fin y al cabo son gatos; por lo tanto, son el depredador natural de animales como pollitos, pichones y demás aves.

Por eso soy cuidadoso de dejarlos solos con los gatos, aunque siempre están cerca, curioseando a los pollitos.

11.jpg

As for the newborns, I found it quite interesting that they feel comfortable in the ground, as if they feel comfortable in that place by instinct.

They are animals, so that's the place they should be, free, in nature, in open spaces, but they are small so I have to take care of them while they grow a little more.

En cuanto a los recién nacidos, me pareció bastante interesante que se sientan cómodos en la tierra, como si se sintieran cómodos en ese lugar por instinto.

Son animales, así que ese es el lugar en el que deben estar, libres, en la naturaleza, en espacios abiertos, pero están pequeños así que tengo que cuidarlos mientras crecen un poco más.

12.jpg

Still, this pair looked brave, jumping over the boundary of the dirt tires where I had placed them, venturing further out, exploring the terrain to see what they could find. And look what they did find to eat in the ground...

Con todo, se veían valientes este par, saltando el límite de los neumáticos con tierra en donde los había colocado, aventurándose más allá, explorando el terreno a ver qué encontraban. Y miren que sí encontraban cositas que comer en la tierra...

18.jpg

InShot_20231005_153630097-min.gif

While I was following them, I sat down to dig a little bit into a log that is infested with beetle larvae.

They are small but well they can tear up a thick log in a matter of weeks, just turn it to sawdust. I found a couple, one I gave to the chickens and one I gave to the chicks, but the chicks weren't sure whether to eat it.

Mientras los seguía, me senté a escarbar un poco un tronco que está infestado de larvas de escarabajo.

Son pequeñas pero bien que pueden destrozar un tronco grueso en cuestión de semanas, simplemente lo vuelve aserrín. Encontré un par, una se las di a las gallinas y otra se la di a los pollitos, pero estos no se sentían seguros de si comerla.

19.jpg

In fact they looked at it suspiciously, fearful that this strange thing they had never seen before might hurt them. I tried to bring it closer to them but as I got closer, they just freaked out so I decided to just throw it to the other chickens, who did eat it.

De hecho la veía con suspicacia, temerosos de que esa cosa extraña que nunca habían visto pudiera hacerles daño. Intenté acercárselas pero conforme se las acercaba más, estos simplemente se asustaban así que decidí solo arrojársela a las otras gallinas, que sí se la comieron.

20.jpg

21.jpg

They spent a little over two hours in the yard, while I was busy cleaning up some things and organizing the yard, as well as feeding the other big chickens.

They wandered around a lot and dug in the dirt, looking for their own food, but I couldn't leave them alone so it was time to end this pair's adventure.

Pasaron poco más de dos horas en el patio, mientras yo me ocupaba de limpiar algunas cosas y organizar el patio, además de darle de comer a las otras gallinas grandes.

Pasearon bastante y escarbaron la tierra, buscando su propia comida, pero no podía dejarlos solos así que llegó la hora de terminar la aventura de este par.

InShot_20231005_153857485-min.gif

Well folks, that's all for now. The other chicks are doing well with their mom, a little bigger and more developed than these. All eight, these two and the other six are growing well. I hope they keep it up...

I invite you to leave your opinions below in the comments, as always I will be happy to read them. I really appreciate you taking the time to read me. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por ahora. Los otros pollitos están bien con su mamá, un poco más grandes y desarrollados que estos. Los ocho, estos dos y los otros seis están creciendo bien. Espero que sigan así...

Los invito a dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos. Agradezco mucho que se tomaran el tiempo de leerme. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!


Separador.png

7.jpg