My elusive visitor / Mi escurridizo visitante

*****English version*****

(Abajo está la versión en español)

In a previous post I told you a little about one of my cats, Shuri. In that post I said that I would soon make another post where I would tell you about my second cat, T'challa; however, I think it is worthwhile to make a post between both posts to mention another regular visitor to my house, a little iguana that today we will simply call My Elusive Visitor....

First of all I must tell you that this was not a varied photo session, no. This little iguana is very fearful and at the slightest movement he runs away. This little iguana is very fearful and at the slightest movement he runs away. So I could only take several photos from the same position, without moving too much. In fact, if I managed to move, it was simply to crouch down and get a better focus.

You see, this iguana is one of the many animals that came to my house without my consent. Besides this one, I have a couple of pigeons and yellow birds that made nests in the top of a soursop tree that is in my yard, which is why I have not been able to take pictures of them, since the tree is very tall.

One day, I came home and entered through the garage door, as I usually enter through there instead of the front door. As I entered, the first thing I saw was that green skin standing out against the many small pieces of firewood I have in storage. I froze when I saw it as it was the first time I had seen it so close.

That morning I had decided to take my tablet with me to take a couple of pictures of some work I needed to do, so my immediate reaction was to slowly bend down, open my bag and take out the tablet to take pictures.

I had seen the iguana many times before, on branches, in bushes or on top of the guanabana tree or the guava tree at home, but I had never even managed to focus on it because when it saw me it would just run away.

I have no idea what was different this time, but at this moment I was able to take the picture, get close enough and managed to take a few pictures of it, which you are already seeing.

I must confess that while I was taking the pictures my hands were shaking with emotion, because I wanted very much to have some souvenir of this elusive visitor, as I had a fat little toad before and one day I found it dead in the yard without even taking a picture of it. I was afraid this would happen with the iguana, but luckily it did not....

In my case, I love animals, so I am delighted with this iguana, if it is one; I really don't know if it is one or some other kind of reptile, but whatever the case may be, I love my elusive visitor as much as my cats, so I always try to leave her food that she is used to eating.

For example, I have a small vegetable garden here at home:

On more than one occasion I have come across numerous bite marks on my spinach and bean plants. At first I didn't know what animal left those marks, until one day, while I was watering, I came across the iguana among the plants. Needless to say, I was scared to death when it jumped away from me, climbing up the wall until it was out of sight....

Upon this discovery, I decided to set aside an area of my garden to plant beans and spinach, so the iguana would have plants to eat. If you look at the pictures above, those are the type of plants the iguana feeds on. However, I read that spinach doesn't do them any good if they eat too much, so I don't have as many of these plants in the areas where I know this iguana roams. I also leave bits of cabbage and lechoza among some of the plants for her to find when she comes out to eat. I don't know if she eats them, but when I go to check, there is nothing, so if it's not her, some little animal will take advantage of these foods.

I have seen pictures of iguanas on the internet and a long time ago I saw one in person, which is why I have doubts if it is indeed an iguana, because it is much smaller than the ones I have seen. Maybe it is a young iguana, I don't know, but I'm glad to have it hanging around the house and see it from time to time....

Hopefully another time I will have the opportunity to take more pictures of him, maybe when he is a little older, so you will see the difference between one moment and the other.

Well friends, I hope these pictures have been to your liking and that you have enjoyed this majestic creature. Every time I see her I am glad, because I know she is doing well, something that motivates me to continue taking care of her and leaving food for her, hidden among the plants. Later I may have the opportunity to share with you more pictures, if I manage to capture the moment. With nothing more to add, I will say goodbye then....

See you next time!



*****Versión en español*****

En una publicación anterior les comenté un poco acerca de una de mis gatas, Shuri. En esa publicación dije que pronto haría otro post en donde les contaría de mi segunda gata, T'challa; sin embargo, creo que vale la pena hacer un post entre ambas publicaciones para hacer mención de otra visitante regular en mi casa, una pequeña iguana que hoy llamaremos simplemente Mi escurridizo visitante...

De entrada debo comentarles que esta no fue una sesión de fotos variada, no. Esta pequeña iguana es muy miedosa y ante el más mínimo movimiento se echa a correr. Así que solo pude tomar varias fotos desde una misma posición, sin moverme demasiado. De hecho, si logré moverme, fue simplemente para agacharme y lograr enfocarla un poco mejor.

Verán, esta iguana es uno de los tantos animales que llegaron a mi casa sin mi consentimiento. Además de esta, tengo un par de palomas y pajaritos amarillos que hicieron nido en la copa de un árbol de guanábana que está en mi patio, razón por la que no he podido tomarles fotos, ya que el árbol es muy alto.

Cierto día, llegué a casa y entré por la puerta del garage, ya que acostumbro a entrar por allí en lugar de hacerlo por la puerta principal. Al entrar, lo que primero que vi fue esa piel verde resaltando sobre los numerosos trocitos de leña que tengo almacenados. Me quedé inmóvil al verla pues era la primera vez que la veía tan cerca.

Esa mañana había decidido llevarme la tablet conmigo para tomar un par de fotos a un trabajo que necesitaba hacer, así que mi reacción inmediata fue agacharme lentamente, abrir el bolso y sacar la tablet para tomar fotografías.

Ya había visto a la iguana en muchas ocasiones, en ramas, entre arbustos o en lo alto del árbol de guanabana o en el de guayaba que está en casa, pero nunca había logrado siquiera enfocarla porque al verme simplemente se echaba a correr.

No tengo idea de qué fue distinto en esta ocasión, pero en este momento pude sacar la foto, acercarme lo suficiente y lograr sacarle unas cuantas fotografías, las cuales ya están viendo.

Debo confesar que mientras tomaba las fotos las manos me temblaban de emoción, porque deseaba mucho tener algún recuerdo de este escurridizo visitante, pues antes tenía un gordo sapito y cierto día lo encontré muerto en el patio sin siquiera hacer una foto de este. Temía que esto sucediera con la iguana, pero por suerte no fue así...

En mi caso, me encantan los animales, así que estoy encantado con esta iguana, si es que acaso lo es; la verdad no sé si se trata de una o de algún otro tipo de reptil, pero sea cual sea el caso, amo a mi escurridizo visitante tanto como a mis gatas, así que siempre trato de dejarle alimentos que ella acostumbra a comer.

Por ejemplo, yo tengo un pequeño huerto aquí en casa:

En más de una ocasión me he encontrado con numerosas marcas de mordidas en mis plantas de espinacas y frijoles. En un comienzo no sabía qué animal dejaba esas marcas, hasta que cierto día, mientras estaba regando, me encontré con la iguana entre las plantas. No hace falta decir que me llevé tremendo susto cuando saltó corriendo lejos de mi, trepando por la pared hasta perderse de vista...

Ante este descubrimiento, decidí reservar un área de mi huerto para sembrar frijoles y espinacas, así, la iguana tendría plantas para comer. Si se fijan en las imágenes de arriba, esas son el tipo de plantas de las que la iguana se alimenta. Sin emargo, leí que la espinaca no les hace del todo bien si consume demasiado, así que no tengo tantas de estas plantas en las áreas donde sé que pasea esta iguana. Tambien acostumbro a dejar trocitos de repollo y de lechoza entre algunas plantas para que las encuentre cuando sale a comer. No sé si ella se las come, pero cuando voy a revisar, no hay nada, así que si no es ella, algún animalito aprovechará estos alimentos.

He visto fotografías de iguanas por internet y hace mucho tiempo vi una en persona, razón por la que tengo dudas de si es, en efecto, una iguana, porque es mucho más pequeña que las que he visto. Tal vez es una iguana joven, no lo sé, pero me alegra tenerla rondando por la casa y verla de vez en cuando...

Espero que en otro momento tenga la oportunidad de tomarle más fotografías, tal vez cuando esté un poco más grande, así se verá la diferencia entre un momento y el otro.

Bien amigos, espero que estas fotografías hayan sido de su agrado y que hayan disfrutado de esta majestuosa criatura. Cada vez que la veo me alegro, porque sé que está bien, algo que me motiva a seguir cuidándola y dejarle alimentos por allí, ocultos entre las plantas. Más adelante tal vez tenga oportunidad de compartir con ustedes más fotografías, si es que logro capturar el momento. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Fotos tomadas con tablet HP stream 7
Traducido con DeepL
Photos edited with Photoshop
Photos taken with HP stream 7 tablet
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Tutorial: Personaliza tus fuentes
Cuarenta Cuentos #1 - Barrabás
Weekend of homework and gifts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency