My Chickens Are Sick? / Mis Gallinas Están Enfermas?

Portada.jpg

I imagine that if you are pet dreamers you will have realized that sometimes having them is like having a small child at home. I am not a parent, but I have been told and sometimes I feel, both with my chickens and my cats, that I have to be aware of them, how they are, if there is any strange behavior, if they are eating well and this kind of things....

While I was tending to one of my hens I noticed that she had a black face. Actually vinotint colored but this is not a usual color in a hen, so I got scared. I will tell you that the case with this hen did not become a big deal, but I did discover something that worries me and I still don't know what to do....

If you have ever had a hen around, you may have noticed that they are not easy to catch when they don't want to be caught, but to make a long story short, after a long time chasing her, I managed to catch her.

Español


Imagino que si son sueños de mascotas se habrán dado cuenta que a veces tenerlas es como tener a un niño pequeño en casa. No soy padre, pero me han contado y a veces siento, tanto con mis gallinas como con mis gatos, que debo estar pendiente de ellas, de cómo están, si hay algún comportamiento raro, si están comiendo bien y este tipo de cosas...

Mientras atendía a una de mis gallinas me di cuenta que tenía la cara negra. En realidad de color vinotinto pero este no es un color habitual en una gallina, así que me asusté. Les adelanto que el caso con esta gallina no pasó a mayores, pero sí descubrí algo que me preocupa y aún no sé qué hacer...

Si alguna vez han tenido una gallina cerca, quizás se han dado cuenta de que no son fáciles de atrapar cuando no quieren que las atrapen, pero para hacerles la historia corta, después de un buen rato persiguiéndola logré atraparla.

1.jpg

Indeed, my concern was well founded because the hen had a black face but not because of any bruise or because she was sick in any way, no, but because her face was covered with mud.

It was an unfounded concern but it did scare me, because chickens also get buba, also known as fowl pox. But in the end it was just that, a scare because I only used water and that was it, the hen was clean and shiny.

En efecto, mi preocupación estaba bien fundada porque la gallina tenía el rostro negro pero no por algún moretón o porque estuviese enferma de alguna manera, no, sino porque tenía la cara cubierta de lodo.

Fue una preocupación infundada pero sí me asusté, porque a las gallinas también les da buba, también conocido como Viruela aviar. Pero al final solo fue eso, un susto porque solamente empleé agua y listo, la gallina quedó limpia y reluciente.

2.jpg3.jpg

There I released her and she finally returned with her chicks to a nest that I made for them to take shelter from any danger.

That is the hen that had the other smaller chicks, of which there are 3 left, since two died.

Allí la solté y finalmente volvió con sus pollitos a un nido que les hice para que se refugien de cualquier peligro.

Esa es la gallina que tuvo a los otros pollitos más pequeños, de los cuales quedan 3, pues dos murieron.

4.jpg5.jpg

6.jpg

Once they were there in the nest, the hen calmed down a bit and I took the opportunity to take the chicks one by one for pictures. Although the hen was upset and scared, she was confident enough to let me borrow her chicks for the photo shoot.

They have grown quite a bit since the last time I showed them to her. They are no longer a little ball of feathers, they are stretching a little more and have started to grow feathers. They look really cute and healthy.

Una vez que estaban ahí en el nido, la gallina se calmó un poco y aproveché para tomar a los pollitos uno por uno para tomarles fotografías. Aunque la gallina sí estaba molesta y asustada, me tuvo la confianza suficiente para dejar que le tomara prestados a sus pollitos para la sesión de fotos.

Han crecido bastante desde la última vez que se los mostré. Ya no son una bolita de plumas, ya estan estirándose un poquito más y les empezaron a salir plumas. Se ven muy lindos y sanos la verdad.

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

I don't have to worry about these three for now; however, I have two chicks that don't have a hen, their names are DD and DC. Well, I raised these two chicks inside my house, in a small pen with a light bulb.

They are very dear to me but unfortunately one of them is sick.

Por estos tres no tengo que preocuparme por ahora; sin embargo, tengo dos pollitos que no tienen gallina, se llaman DD y DC. Pues bien, estos dos pollitos los crie yo dentro de mi casa, en un pequeño corral con un bombillo.

Son pollitos a los que aprecio mucho pero lamentablemente uno de ellos está enfermo.

7.jpg

That day, while I was feeding them, I realized that I was missing one of the chickens, because there are 10 in total. When I walked around the yard looking for it, I got scared because I saw it lying on the ground, it was DD!

I didn't want to move him, because I didn't know what had happened to him, so I took pictures to send them to a friend who studies veterinary medicine and he told me to help him stand up, because he was falling to the sides. I did, but he could not stand up.

Ese día, mientras les daba de comer, me di cuenta que me faltaba uno de los pollos, pues en total son 10. Cuando caminé por el patio buscándolo, fue cuando me asusté porque lo vi tirado en la tierra, era DD!

No quise moverlo, pues no sabía qué le había pasado, así que le tomé fotos para enviárselas a un amigo que estudia veterinaria y me dijo que lo ayudara a ponerse de pie, pues se caía a los lados. Lo hice, pero no lograba mantenerse en pie.

8.jpg9.jpg

InShot_20231203_173055574-min.gif

I left him there and gave him some water in the meantime. My friend recommended that I pick him up and feel his legs and neck to see if everything was firm and nothing was broken.

Apparently everything was fine but he just wouldn't stand up, so I did the next thing he recommended, massaging his paws. This did have an effect and the chick managed to stand up, albeit with difficulty.

Lo dejé ahí y le di un poco de agua mientras mientras. Mi amigo me recomendó levantarlo y hacerle tacto en las piernas y en el cuello, para ver si todo estaba firme y no había nada quebrado.

Al parecer todo estaba bien pero simplemente no se ponía de pie, así que hice lo siguiente que me recomendó, masajearle las patitas. Esto sí hizo efecto y logró ponerse de pie el pollito, aunque con dificultad.

InShot_20231203_173540371-min.gif

After a while he managed to stand up but just barely, so I let him go but he only took a few hops to fall down again. No progress so I just picked him up and kept him at home, so he wouldn't sleep in the yard hurt like that.

I don't know what happened to him, but I'll keep an eye on what my friend tells me, he said he would come soon so for now it's wait and see. In the meantime I will take care of him like I did when he was little, indoors and with a light bulb nearby. Note, he doesn't want to eat either. He does drink water but does not eat.

Después de un rato logró ponerse de pie pero apenas, así que lo solté pero solo dio unos cuantos saltitos para volverse a caer. No hay progreso así que solo lo tomé y lo guardé en casa, para que no durmiera en el patio así lastimado.

No sé qué le pasó, pero estaré atento a lo que mi amigo me dice, dijo que vendría pronto así que por ahora toca esperar. Mientras tanto lo cuidaré como lo hacía cuando estaba chiquito, dentro de casa y con un bombillo cerca. Nota, tampoco quiere comer. Sí toma agua pero no come.

InShot_20231203_174233459-min.gif

Well friends, that's all for now. If you have any idea of what could be going on with the little DD chick I invite you to write it in the comments, I will be attentive.

With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por ahora. Si tienen alguna idea de qué podría estar pasando con el pequeño pollito DD los invito a escribirlo en los comentarios, estaré atento.

Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!


Separador.png

7.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now