Memories of old partners [ENG/ESP]

*****English version*****

Have you ever thought about all the pets that have accompanied you for as long as you can remember? In doing this exercise I realized that I've actually had quite a few pets during my life, so today I'll tell you a little about those companions of whom only memories remain....

1.png

If you were to ask anyone in my family "What is Gabo's favorite animal?" they would undoubtedly answer "Chickens". And that is very true, they are the animals I like the most without having an idea why. My mom says that I am just like my dad, because he also raised chickens and maybe that has influenced my tastes, I don't know; in any case, I had chickens as pets for much of my childhood, adolescence and even during my adulthood.

I remember that in front of my house there used to be a fair where merchants from different places came to sell their products, from fruits and vegetables, to handicrafts and household items. They also sold toys, but the one that was never missing was a man with a huge box of colored and yellow chicks. They always bought chicks from me, but they died soon after. However, because of the care I gave to these chicks, I managed to save many of them and have quite a few hens.

2.png
Las primeras gallinas yo mismo crié.

Here I must comment that it was a bit curious to see how these colorful chicks lost their brightly colored fluff and adopted their typical white plumage, I say typical because it is the color of this type of hens, which are used to fatten and then slaughter, very good for a Sunday soup with the family.

3.png
Uno de mis gallineros destrozado por las lluvias

In any case, I expected to see my hens grow the same colors they had when I bought them as chicks, such as purple, green or blue; but no, I ended up with many hens of the same color, white. The funny thing is that although they all looked alike, I distinguished them and had names for them, one was called Tiburcio, another Claudio and so on with each hen and rooster. They were my pets and like all pets, each one had a name.

4.png
El gallo más grande que tenía

As it usually happens with chickens, it was time to slaughter them. I cried a lot when my chickens had to be killed, but I did enjoy the soups and other recipes my mom prepared.

Another type of pet that I had a lot during my childhood were turtles. With these I had many interesting experiences, such as learning that there are certain types of animals that eat the waste of others. Such is the case of turtles, that on more than one occasion I saw them eating chicken droppings. Disgusting fact that serves no purpose.

As a teenager, I had many more chickens, even more than 40. To have so many, I had to make chicken coops so they could live quietly. I would literally spend entire days during my vacations building coops to keep my chickens. I loved having them, because I no longer had only white hens, but black hens, brown hens, red hens, hens without feathers on their necks (known as pirocas) and others with plumage as striking as it was exotic.

5.png
Un par de fotos de otros gallos que tuve

It had become a hobby for me to have at least one hen of each color or type and it was a marvel to see the chicks that hatched from crosses between certain breeds. It was an experience for me to raise these hens, as I learned a sense of responsibility and what it means to have one or more lives under your care.

Moving away from chickens, we moved on to cats. When I had chickens, I saw cats as enemies, as on more than one occasion I had problems with cats hurting my hens and eating a chick or two. However, one day, someone left a kitten abandoned at the door of my house and being as I am with animals, I went out to meet him when I heard his meowing, I took him in my hands and took him inside. I adopted him and named him Zelaya.

At that time, the military kidnapped President Manuel Zelaya of Honduras. So that name was on everyone's lips. At the beginning I didn't have a name for my kitten, so I decided to give him that name and I liked it in the end. He was completely white with a spot in his eye, but unfortunately he died of poisoning.

Here I should mention that I lost four cats, including Zelaya, because of this same problem. I must assume, that some neighbor hated cats and maybe gave him poisoned food to kill them, when they came to visit his house, as cats tend to do this when they are already big. In my case Zelaya was the first one, I had to watch him agonize for a long time, that was quite painful for me. Michu was the next one, a beautiful Snowshoes cat that died because of this same problem. Niño, Michu's son, also died this way and finally Catina, Michu's wife and Niño's mother, was another victim of this problem.

The family decided not to have pets again, as we had a very hard time because of this. At the same time, we lost a pet that my brother left behind before leaving the country. A golden retriever given to him by a friend. This beautiful dog named Zeus, had a tumor in his chest that we could never cure due to lack of resources, because the operation was too expensive and in those times, to be honest, we barely had enough to eat. As I said, because of Zeus and the poisoned michis, we decided not to have any more pets.

395134_10200247473256488_293557691_n.jpg
Fuente

But everything changed when the rats attacked. It turns out that next to the house there was a small restaurant where they sold fried pork, empanadas and chicharrón. At night this was a breeding ground for rats and only the cats, and Zeus himself, kept them at bay. So when the pets disappeared, the rats took their place. We often found mice gifts that looked more like rabbits, so faced with this problem, we went back to having cats....

At home there was a black cat that we called negrita. It is not a very original name, but it fits her, it fits her. However, this kitty died without explanation. We don't know what happened to her, but she simply died as an adult.

Moving to a more current time, it was time to move house. And to prevent bad pests, I adopted a kitten. Her name was Misha and she was very similar to the first cat I had, Zelaya. She was a very cute and cuddly kitty, not like other cats that don't let themselves be petted, scratched and bitten. No, in fact, my kitty Misha would always come out to greet me when I came home and as I sat down to take off my shoes, she would jump on my lap to be petted. She was a cat with a very cute personality, who sadly died without any explanation. She was only with me for three months, which was enough time for me to get attached to her.

I must confess that it was very hard for me, because at that time the pandemic was starting and the only daily contact I had with another living being was with my cat. I was with her practically all day long, because the work days had been suspended and I could not go out. I would not even go to visit family for fear of bringing the virus to them. To anyone, this could be silly, but it was really painful to watch my cat die in my hands, agonizing for almost an hour until she finally stopped moving and with a last meow she said goodbye....

I buried her in the yard, as I didn't want to leave her in a plastic bag and throw her in the garbage, as some people do. I was too fond of Misha and losing her, along with all the problems and difficulties at the time, caused me great depression. Eventually I got over it, because time heals everything; I still resisted having pets, because I didn't want to go through that situation again of getting attached to this one and losing her for some reason?

I don't remember how it happened, but my grandmother's house was offered two cats, two black kittens. When I found out about this, I adopted them without thinking about it, because I knew it was not healthy to be alone during confinement, so these little cats became my companions during this pandemic that still persists. I have already talked about my two kitties in previous posts, their names are T'challa and Shuri, I have also talked about my little turtle Gamera, a little turtle no bigger than my hand. And finally Tanque, a huge turtle that I rescued from an abandoned construction site, where he was in the company of two other turtles of similar size, to whom I also looked for a home.

I currently enjoy the company of four pets and a fifth, which is an iguana that occasionally comes home to eat the leaves of my crops....

Animals are a blessing and it is up to us to take care of them and protect them as much as possible. But we must always keep in mind that they are living beings and their lives last less than ours. We have to give them love as long as we have them, because they are not eternal?

Well friends, this was the reflection I wanted to share with you. If you like you can leave your opinions below in the comments, I will be happy to read them. I will say goodbye then...

See you next time!



*****Versión en español*****

¿Alguna vez se han puesto a pensar en todas las mascotas que los han acompañado desde que tienen memoria? Al hacer este ejercicio me di cuenta que realmente he tenido bastantes mascotas durante mi vida, así que hoy les hablaré un poco de esos compañeros de los que solo quedan recuerdos…

1.png

Si le preguntaran a cualquiera de mi familia “¿Cuál es el animal favorito de Gabo?” Sin duda responderían que las gallinas. Y eso es muy cierto, son los animales que más me gustan sin tener una idea de por qué. Mi mamá dice que soy igual que mi papá, pues el también criaba gallinas y puede ser que eso haya influido en mis gustos, no lo sé; en cualquier caso, tuve gallinas como mascotas durante gran parte de mi niñez, adolescencia y incluso durante mi adultez.

Recuerdo que frente a mi casa hacían una feria donde llegaban comerciantes de distintos lugares a vender sus productos, desde frutas y verduras, hasta artículos artesanales y para el hogar. También vendían juguetes, pero el que nunca faltaba era un señor con una enorme caja de pollitos de colores y los amarillos de toda la vida. Siempre me compraban pollitos de estos, pero morían al poco tiempo. Sin embargo, por los cuidados que daba a estos pollitos, llegue a salvar a muchos y tener bastantes gallinas.

2.png
Las primeras gallinas yo mismo crié.

Acá debo comentar que me resultó un poco curioso ver cómo estos pollitos de colores perdían esas pelusas de tan llamativo color y adoptaban su típico plumaje blanco, digo típico porque es el color de este tipo de gallinas, que usan para engordar y luego sacrificar, muy buenos para una sopa de domingo en familia.

3.png
Uno de mis gallineros destrozado por las lluvias

En cualquier caso, yo esperaba ver a mis gallinas crecer de los mismos colores que tenían cuando las compré, siendo pollitos, tales como el púrpura, verde o azul; pero no, terminé con muchas gallinas del mismo color, blanco. Lo curioso es que aunque todas eran parecidas, yo las distinguía y les tenía nombres, uno se llamaba Tiburcio, otro Claudio y así con cada gallina y gallo. Eran mis mascotas y como toda mascota, cada una tenía nombre.

4.png
El gallo más grande que tenía

Como sucede habitualmente con las gallinas, llegaba la hora de sacrificarlas. Yo lloraba mucho cuando tenían que matar a mis gallinas, pero sí que disfrutaba mucho de las sopas y otras recetas que mi mamá preparaba.

Otro tipo de mascota que tuve mucho durante mi infancia, eran las tortugas. Con estas tuve muchas experiencias interesantes, como enterarme de que existen ciertos tipos de animales que comen los desechos de otros. Tal es el caso de las tortugas, que en más de una ocasión los vi comer los excrementos de las gallinas. Dato asqueroso que no sirve para nada.

Siendo adolescente, llegué a tener muchas más gallinas, incluso más de 40. Para tener tantas, tuve que hacer gallineros para que estas pudieran vivir tranquilas. Pasaba literalmente días enteros durante mis vacaciones armando gallineros para tener a mis gallinas. Me encantaba tenerlas, porque ya no tenía solamente gallinas blancas, sino gallinas negras, marrones, rojas, sin plumas en el cuello (conocidas como pirocas) y otras con plumajes tan llamativos como exóticos.

5.png
Un par de fotos de otros gallos que tuve

Se había vuelto un pasatiempo para mi tener al menos una gallina de cada color o tipo y era una maravilla ver los pollitos que nacían de cruces entre ciertas razas. Para mí fue toda una experiencia poder criar a estas gallinas, pues aprendí el sentido de la responsabilidad y lo que significa tener a una o más vidas bajo tu cuidado.

Dejando de lado a las gallinas, pasamos a los gatos. Cuando tenía gallinas, veía a los gatos como enemigos, pues en más de una ocasión tuve problemas con gatos que hacían daño a mis gallinas y se comían a uno que otro pollito. Sin embargo, cierto día, alguien dejó un gatito abandonado en la puerta de mi casa y siendo como soy con los animales, salí a su encuentro al escuchar los maullidos, lo tomé entre mis manos y lo llevé adentro. Lo adopté y lo llamé Zelaya.

En esos tiempos ocurrió lo de los militares que secuestraron al presidente Manuel Zelaya, de Honduras. Así que andaba en boca de todos ese nombre. Como en un comienzo no tenía nombre para mi gatito, decidí darle ese y al final me gustó. Era completamente blanco con una mancha en el ojo, pero lamentablemente murió envenenado.

Aquí debo mencionar que perdí cuatro gatos, incluyendo a Zelaya, por este mismo problema. Debo suponer, que algún vecino odiaba a los gatos y tal vez le daba alimentos envenenados para matarlos, cuando estos iban de visita a su casa, pues los gatos tienden a hacer esto cuando ya están grandes. En mi caso Zelaya fue el primero, tuve que verlo agonizar durante un buen tiempo, eso fue bastante doloroso para mí. Michu fue el siguiente, un hermoso gato de raza Snowshoes que murió por este mismo problema. Niño, hijo de Michu, también murió así y finalmente Catina, la esposa de Michu y madre de Niño, fue otra víctima de este problema.

En la familia decidieron no volver a tener mascotas, pues la pasamos muy mal por esto. De manera paralela, perdimos a una mascota que dejó mi hermano antes de irse del país. Un golden retriever que le regaló un amigo. A este hermoso perro llamado Zeus, le salió un tumor en el pecho que nunca pudimos curarle por falta de recursos, pues la operación era demasiado costosa y en esos tiempos, siendo honesto, apenas teníamos para comer. Como dije, por el asunto de Zeus y los michis envenenados, decidimos no tener más mascotas.

395134_10200247473256488_293557691_n.jpg
Fuente

Pero todo cambió cuando las ratas atacaron. Resulta que al lado de la casa había un pequeño restaurante donde vendían cochino frito, empanadas y chicharrón. Por las noches esto era un criadero de ratas y solo las gatas, y el mismo Zeus, las mantenían a raya. Así que cuando las mascotas desaparecieron, las ratas tomaron su lugar. Con frecuencia encontrábamos regalitos de ratones que más bien parecían conejos, así que ante esta problemática, volvimos a tener gatos…

En casa hubo una gata negra a la que llamamos, negrita. No es un nombre muy original, pero de que le queda, le queda. Sin embargo, esta gatita murió sin explicación. No sabemos qué le sucedió pero simplemente murió estando ya adulta.

Ya adentrándonos a un tiempo más actual, llegó la hora de mudarme de casa. Y para prevenir malas plagas, adopté una gatita. Su nombre era Misha y era muy parecida al primer gato que tuve, Zelaya. Era una gatita muy linda y tierna, no como otros gatos que no se dejan acariciar, rasguñan y muerden. No, de hecho, mi gatita Misha siempre salía a recibirme cuando llegaba a casa y mientras me sentaba a quitarme los zapatos, saltaba a mis piernas para que le hiciera cariño. Era una gata con una personalidad muy linda, que lamentablemente murió sin ninguna explicación. Apenas estuvo conmigo tres meses, tiempo suficiente para encariñarme con ella.

Debo confesar que fue muy duro para mí, porque en esos tiempos estaba comenzando la pandemia y el único contacto que tenía a diario con otro ser vivo, era con mi gata. Estaba con ella prácticamente todo el día, pues habían suspendido las jornadas laborales y no se podía salir. Ni siquiera iba a visitar a la familia por miedo a llevarles el virus. Para cualquiera, esto podría ser una tontería, pero fue realmente doloroso ver a mi gata morir en mis manos, agonizando durante casi una horas hasta que finalmente dejó de moverse y con un último maullido se despidió…

La enterré en el patio, pues no quise dejarla en una bolsa de plástico y botarla en la basura, como algunos hacen. Le tenía demasiado cariño a Misha y perderla, junto con todos los problemas y dificultades que había en el momento, me causó una gran depresión. Eventualmente lo superé, pues el tiempo lo sana todo; aún así me resistía a tener mascotas, pues no deseaba volver a pasar por esa situación de encariñarme con esta y perderla por alguna razón…

No recuerdo cómo fue, pero a casa de mi abuela llegaron ofreciendo dos gatas, dos gatitas negras. Al enterarme de esto, las adopté sin pensarlo, pues sabía que no era sano estar en soledad durante el encierro, así que estas pequeñas gatas se convirtieron en mis acompañantes durante esta pandemia que aún persiste. Ya he hablado de mis dos gatitas en publicaciones anteriores, sus nombres son T’challa y Shuri, también he hablado de mi pequeña tortuga Gamera, una tortuguita no más grande que mi mano. Y finalmente Tanque, una enorme tortuga que rescaté en una construcción abandonada, donde estaba en compañía de otras dos tortugas de tamaño similar, a quienes también les busqué un hogar.

Actualmente gozo de la compañía de cuatro mascotas y una quinta, que es una iguana que de vez en cuando viene a casa a comerse las hojas de mis cultivos…

Los animales son una bendición y queda de nuestra parte cuidarlos y protegerlos lo más que se pueda. Pero hay que tener siempre presente que son seres vivos y sus vidas duran menos que las de nosotros. Hay que darles amor mientras los tengamos, pues no son eternos…

Bien amigos, esta era la reflexión que deseaba compartir con ustedes. Si gustan pueden dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, yo estaré encantado de leerlos. Me despido entonces…

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Traducido con DeepL
Photos edited with Photoshop
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Probando habilidades de fotografía y diseño
Learn with Gabo #4 / Aprende con Gabo #4
Peanuts and monster Weekend / Fin de semana de cacahuetes y monstruos








H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency