This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Caring for William: A Story of Sacrifice and Love for a Wild Animal [ENG/ESP]

All Photographs are from my authorship

The Office Crying GIF

William, my cat, is a little over a year old. Since I adopted him, he has manifested an extremely demanding, but above all, wild personality. Although he has always been considered domestic, he has never been completely docile. On the contrary, he has always been extremely possessive, territorial (more than cats usually are) and foolish to absurd levels.

Exactly 16 days ago, I found him with a deep and extensive wound on his left hind leg. It did not appear to be caused by another animal, but by another human being. In this country, the treatment of cats is extremely bad, they are even seen as a plague. Although not all my neighbours think this way, some do.

William, mi gato, tiene un poco más de un año de edad. Desde que lo adopté, se manifestó con una personalidad extremadamente demandante, pero sobre todo, salvaje. Aunque siempre ha sido considerado doméstico, nunca ha sido del todo dócil. Al contrario, siempre ha sido extremadamente posesivo, territorial (más de lo que los gatos acostumbran ser) y necio a niveles absurdos.

Hace exactamente 16 días, lo encontré con una herida profunda y extensa en su pata trasera izquierda. No parecía ser causada por otro animal, sino por otro ser humano. En este país, el trato hacia los gatos es extremadamente pésimo, viéndolos incluso como una plaga. Aunque no todos mis vecinos piensan así, algunos sí.

All Photographs are from my authorship

Although I took William to the emergency room, the public health system is so deficient that the care received was very poor and inefficient. Not having the resources to pay for a private vet, I had to leave him in such inadequate care. At the time, I had three urgent payments that could not be postponed.

I bought all the medicines he needed, from Diloxicam for his inflammations to Ciprofloxacin and Bacitracin to use as an oral and topical antibiotic for healing. However, I didn't have the cash to buy an Elizabethan collar and had to hand-make one from old x-rays I had at home.

I rebuilt the homemade collar more than three times because William always found a new and ingenious way to remove it. On my third attempt, I managed to find the exact size.

Aunque llevé a William a urgencias, el sistema de salud pública es tan deficiente que la atención recibida fue muy pobre e ineficiente. Al no tener los recursos para pagar un veterinario privado, tuve que dejarlo en esa atención inadecuada. En ese momento, tenía tres pagos urgentes que no podían posponerse.

Compré todas las medicinas que necesitaba, desde Diloxicam para sus inflamaciones hasta Ciprofloxacina y Bacitracina para emplear como antibiótico de uso oral y tópico cicatrizante. Sin embargo, no tenía el efectivo suficiente para adquirir un collar isabelino y tuve que armar uno a mano con radiografías viejas que tenía en casa.

Reconstruí el collar casero más de tres veces porque William siempre encontraba una manera nueva e ingeniosa de removerlo. En mi tercer intento, logré encontrar la medida exacta.

All Photographs are from my authorship

With all the changes I made to protect him and his wound, I had to hand feed him twice a day and give him water, take him to relieve himself and groom him. In addition, I had to give him two dressings a day to keep the wound hygienic, fresh and healthy.

The responsibility of caring for William has become an emotional and psychological rollercoaster. There is a level of stress that builds up in my body and mind that never seems to diminish. At times, the frustration reaches such a high point that the only clear feeling I have is that I want to cry.

But I can't let my cat feel alone and helpless. He has been my most loyal friend in the darkest moments of my life and now it is my turn to return that love and affection. Every day, I continue to work and care for him in the hope that he will soon be completely healthy.

Con todos los cambios que hice para protegerlo a él y a su herida, he tenido que alimentarlo manualmente dos veces al día y darle agua, llevarlo a hacer sus necesidades y acicalarlo. Además, debía realizarle dos curatajes diarios para mantener la herida higiénica, fresca y sana.

La responsabilidad de cuidar a William se ha convertido en una montaña rusa emocional y psicológica. Hay un nivel de estrés que va acumulándose en mi cuerpo y mi mente que parece nunca disminuir. A veces, la frustración llega a un punto tan alto que la única sensación clara que tengo es la de querer llorar.

Pero no puedo permitir que mi gato se sienta solo y sin ayuda. Él ha sido mi amigo más leal en los momentos más oscuros de mi vida y ahora es mi turno de devolverle ese amor y cariño. Cada día, continúo trabajando y cuidando de él con la esperanza de que pronto esté completamente sano.

All Photographs are from my authorship

William has always been more than just a challenge in my life, but I cannot imagine my existence without his strange companionship. Sometimes I forget that he is not a human baby, but to my way of thinking, he is the best kitty in the world, despite all the difficulties that arise from his wild personality.

In continuing to care for William, I have learned a lot about how to be a better pet owner. Although the process has been difficult, it has also been very rewarding. It has taught me the importance of patience, perseverance and unconditional love not only for my cat, but for any living thing that needs help.

Sometimes I think William is more than just a cat, he is a kind of muse or guide that teaches me to have a deeper connection with nature. Caring for him has taught me the importance of not only being a good caregiver, but also a good person, someone who cares about others and is willing to work hard to help.

William siempre ha sido más que un simple desafío en mi vida, pero no puedo imaginar mi existencia sin su extraña compañía. A veces olvido que no es un bebé humano, pero a mi modo de ver, es el mejor gatito del mundo, a pesar de todas las dificultades que surgen de su personalidad salvaje.

Continuando con el cuidado de William, he aprendido mucho sobre cómo ser un mejor dueño de mascotas. Aunque el proceso ha sido difícil, también ha sido muy gratificante. Me ha enseñado la importancia de tener paciencia, perseverancia y amor incondicional no sólo hacia mi gato, sino hacia cualquier ser vivo que necesite ayuda.

A veces creo que William es más que un simple gato, es una especie de musa o guía que me enseña a tener una conexión más profunda con la naturaleza. El cuidado de él me ha enseñado la importancia de no sólo ser un buen cuidador, sino también una buena persona, alguien que se preocupa por los demás y está dispuesto a trabajar duro para ayudar.

All Photographs are from my authorship

Although the road has been difficult, I will never regret adopting William and fighting for him. With each passing day, I feel closer to him and other living beings. He is a constant reminder that we are all the same, that life needs to be nurtured and cared for, that we must be kind and gentle with each other.

Aunque el camino ha sido difícil, nunca me arrepentiré de haber adoptado a William y de haber luchado por él. Cada día que pasa, me siento más cercano a él y a otros seres vivos. Es un recordatorio constante de que todos somos iguales, de que la vida necesita ser cuidada y cuidada, de que debemos ser amables y gentiles unos con otros.

All Photographs are from my authorship

Thank you for the kindness of reading!