Como adopte a mi gata Tammy / How I adopted my cat Tammy. ENG/ESP

Hello Hive community! Today I want to tell you a little bit about my cat. I adopted her in August 2021 when a friend offered her to me as a pregnant kitten had had 3 kittens at her work. At first, we thought she was a male, so I took her home when she was only a month old, and named her Tommy thinking she was a male. At first she was very shy and hid everywhere in the house, but little by little she adapted and learned to use the sandbox quickly. A week later, a friend came to visit me and we checked the kitten and found out that she was a female.

¡Hola comunidad de Hive! Hoy quiero hablarles un poco sobre mi gata. La adopté en agosto del 2021 cuando un amigo me la ofreció ya que una gatita embarazada había tenido 3 gatitos en su trabajo. Al principio, pensamos que era macho, así que la llevé a casa cuando solo tenía un mes de nacida, y le puse el nombre Tommy pensando que era un macho. Al principio estaba muy tímida y se escondía en todas partes de la casa, pero poco a poco se fue adaptando y aprendió a usar el arenero rápidamente. Una semana después, un amigo vino a visitarme y revisamos a la gatita, dándonos cuenta de que era hembra.



Currently, Tammy is 2 years old and is very independent, affectionate and selective in allowing herself to be petted by anyone. When she was little, she lived in an apartment with little space, but she adapted quickly. I don't let her go outside because I think there are too many dangers for cats outside, so I prefer her to spend long periods of time indoors. I moved to a bigger house when she was 1 year old, and although she had a hard time adjusting to the change, she now has more space to run and play. Tammy is quite big she grew up a lot after a while I thought she was a small sized kitty but after we moved she grew up a lot now I give her a little more freedom and she plays outside but she is always very close she never goes far away sometimes I walk her with a harness although she is still not used to use it.

Since she was a little girl, I got her used to another person (my brother) as if he were her owner, so that when I have to go on a trip, she stays with him and feels comfortable and safe. I feel calm when I am away from home, as I know she will receive the care she deserves and will not feel sad.

Actualmente, Tammy tiene 2 años y es muy independiente, cariñosa y selectiva al dejarse acariciar por cualquier persona. Cuando era pequeña, vivía en un apartamento con poco espacio, pero se adaptó rápidamente. No la dejo salir a la calle porque considero que hay muchos peligros para los gatos afuera, por lo que prefiero que pase largos ratos dentro de casa. Me mudé a una casa más grande cuando ella tenía 1 año, y aunque le costó adaptarse al cambio, ahora tiene más espacio para correr y jugar. Tammy es bastante grande creció mucho después de un cierto tiempo pensé que era gatito de tamaño pequeño pero luego de mudarnos ella creció bastante ahora le doy un poco más de libertad y juega afuera de casa pero siempre esta muy cerca nunca se va lejos a veces la paseo con un arnés aunque todavía no se acostumbra a usarlo.

Desde pequeña, la acostumbré a otra persona (mi hermano) como si fuera su dueño, para que cuando tengo que salir de viaje, ella se quede con él y se sienta cómoda y segura. Me siento tranquila cuando estoy fuera de casa, ya que sé que recibirá el cuidado que merece y no se sentirá triste.



I spayed her when she turned 1 year old, because I didn't want her to have kittens due to the difficulty of finding them a good home with responsible people who will give them a good life. Besides, there are many abandoned kittens. I think it is important to sterilize pets to reduce the constant abandonment of both cats and dogs.

La esterilicé cuando cumplió 1 año, ya que no deseaba que tuviera gatitos debido a la dificultad de encontrarles un buen hogar con personas responsables que les brinden una buena vida. Además, existen muchos gatitos abandonados. Creo que es importante esterilizar a las mascotas para reducir el constante abandono que sufren tanto los gatos como los perros.



Tammy is not my first pet, but she is the first one with whom I feel a special connection. She has helped me in my moments of depression. Since I adopted her, I feel happier knowing that I am giving her the life she deserves. I have thought about adopting another cat to be her companion, but since she is territorial and independent, I worry that she will have a hard time adjusting to having company. Sometimes, a neighborhood cat approaches her and seeks to play, but she doesn't adapt, which makes me doubt if it would be a good idea to bring her company.

Tammy no es mi primera mascota, pero sí es la primera con la que siento una conexión especial. Me ha ayudado en mis momentos de depresión. Desde que la adopté, me siento más feliz sabiendo que le doy la vida que se merece. He pensado en adoptar otro gato para que sea su compañía, pero al ser ella territorial e independiente, me preocupa que le cueste adaptarse a tener compañía. A veces, un gato del vecindario se le acerca y busca jugar, pero ella no se adapta, lo que me hace dudar si sería buena idea traerle compañía.



Pets can be very helpful, especially when you live alone, they are a great companion, but they also represent a responsibility that not all people know how to fulfill. I would like to motivate more people to adopt and give a better life to animals that suffer mistreatment and abandonment.Thank you for reading and have a nice day.

Las mascotas pueden ser de mucha ayuda, sobre todo cuando se vive solo, son una gran compañía, pero también representan una responsabilidad que no todas las personas saben cumplir. Me gustaría motivar a más personas a adoptar y brindarle una mejor vida a los animales que sufren maltrato y abandono.Gracias por leerme que tengan un bonito día.



All photographs used are from my personal gallery.


Todas las fotos utilizadas son de mi galería personal.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency