Non-Existing Man

nons.jpg

The favorite part of my job is to observe someone's life quietly, using my cloak of invisibility. Not because I'm interested in gossip, magazine, or anyone's intimate secrets. Because it is the most appropriate situation for my existence; it's like when I wear my invisibility cloak, my image is compatible with my essence, and there's nothing left unreal.

That's the problem with my colleague Osso. To have a foolish belief that he exists. He has a determined character that is unworthy of an elite android. When he focuses on a target, he closes his eyes to all the other realities of the world. I often say to him, "just because you have a mass of 38 kilograms and a mind diagram produced in a lab doesn't mean you really exist." So why do I engage in philosophical discussions with an android? Because I respect him. I can even say I like him.

Osso can play the role of a child or a dwarf. I can be a grown man or a woman. I do not prefer to take on the role of women because then my existence, which is already in the swing, is losing its authenticity. Why am I telling you all this? To make you ready for the story I'm about to tell you? Could be. I can also be because as my age progresses, I am turning into chatter.

In the hall where the briefing will be given, we were sitting on the seats closest to the hologram device and waiting for our boss to come. Osso was in a confused and depressed mood when he was not engaged in any task. He seemed to realize the void of his existence. Finally, our boss Mete entered the hall with active steps after barely blowing up his assistant with demands for a meeting at the door of the briefing hall and said, "Hi, gentlemen, I have excellent news for you."

"This is good news," said Osso.

"Are you sure it is that good?" I asked because I was very fond of underestimating the unfounded enthusiasm of the people around me.

"This news can even thrill you," Mete said when he was opening the hologram player. "The project director will introduce the task to avoid any incomplete information," he added.

The hologram of a pale blond woman in her 30s appeared. Her temples had pale blue veins surrounded by flat blond hair. She didn't look like an ambitious type. If I saw her on the street, I'd think she was an ordinary college student.

"Hello. I'm İmge Sezen. I was assigned to explain to you the project we were working on. I'm not good at presentation. Please feel free to interrupt and ask questions during the presentation."

"Mete said you'd give us good news. So we are anxiously waiting."

"Good news? Yeah, maybe. Depends on interpretation. As the team of advanced mind research, we did not expect such a result. At the beginning of the Mergen project, our prime minister said: "We missed the Industrial Revolution, missed the space age, we didn't grasp the importance of Informatics, but thanks to you, we will capture the ontology era.' As you know, almost all of the electronic components are based on physical lower boundaries. Neither processors can accelerate nor can memory capacity be increased. Although it does not halt like hardware infrastructures, the development of artificial intelligence algorithms has slowed down. Artificial intelligence agents are successful in doing specific tasks, but they cannot exhibit creativity and flexibility when problems become a bit complex. Everyone is more or less aware that the next revolution will be in the field of ontology, but no one has any idea how the next generation of mind schemes should be. We were expected to be able to quickly adapt to the new mind architectures that would emerge from the ontology revolution."

"I'm interested in the subject. But, as I understand it, you went beyond expectations and created an ontological intelligence agent," Osso said.

"The third of the four agreements that Toltec wisdom proposes is not to make assumptions," said İmge Sezen.

"The agreements of Toltec wisdom are a good recipe to prevent disappointments and irritability. But I don't have that kind of problems," said Osso.

"It was an unfounded warning, yes, it was beneficial in the adaptation of the project teams, so I'm telling you what's in front of me. By the way, the assumption is true, " said İmge Sezen. She was naive and shy. However, it was interesting that she could coordinate hundreds of employee activities for such an important project.

"I'm sure a working ontological A.I. agent will attract the attention of superpowers. So intelligence services will be on our way before long," I said.

"It would be naive to think otherwise. You have an important duty to protect the know-how that occurs in the Mergen project," my boss Mete said.

"Will we be able to talk to the new entity you've developed?" Osso asked.

"You are one of the few people who was informed of the results obtained. Mr. Prime Minister is very sensitive to keep the issue confidential," Mete said.

I said, "we'll do our best." It was quite a complicated issue; I wondered what the ontological being developed thought regarding our existence, but of course, I didn't share my curiosity with others.

The campus dedicated to the Mergen project was literally on the mountaintop, and from the air, it was impossible to know that there was such a facility. The entrance of the campus was from the tunnel entrances spread all over the land.

Our guide left after putting us in a small car that looked like the ones used in mines. It was understood that the wagon, which had a very primitive image, was self-controlled, and we went through a dim tunnel and reached the courtyard of the main campus building, which was embedded in the mountain. The courtyard's lighting was as good as sunlight. A statue of Mergen Khan in the yard was depicted on a horse with a bow and arrow. Mergen Han, The God of the wisdom of Turkish mythology, seemed to come alive and join us.

Osso has an idea on everything, "we need to congratulate the sculptor," he said.

I said, "If I see him, I'll give him your congratulations."

İmge greeted us at the building door and led us to the block of the cybersecurity team. They arranged two rooms for us. Flowers and large foldable tablet computers were left on our tables. They even thought about the size of the table and chair for Osso to make him work comfortably as a dwarf. The man İmge handed over us was a typical type of cybersecurity chief. It was understood from his mood and attitude that he had a paranoid personality. He barely spoke and watched us with suspicious eyes. He probably knew we were from the National Intelligence Agency, but he didn't tell it. It was impossible to understand the real feelings; the less they spoke, the less they thought they were giving the other side hints, so people had to pull the words out of their mouths with tweezers. So I stopped Osso from asking questions that we couldn't get any answer to, and our job wasn't system security. It was probably enough to talk to people in other departments to avoid potential leaks. Analysts and code developers would always have a more helpful conversation than security guys.

After having dinner together in the large cafeteria of the campus, İmge led us to a dark tunnel. She put her palm somewhere on the wall. The floor was shaken slightly, and a door was opened from the wall. We got into an elevator with water fairy pictures and went upstairs.

"You can think of Utku as the room itself," said İmge before entering the room of the ontological A.I. agent.

"I suppose her name is Utku. Is she a completed entity?"

"I think the only complete creature in nature is the cat. Sometimes she has fatal locks. We can't understand why. Tens of engineers are trying to solve the problem," İmge said.

After İmge, we went into the room and stood in front of a waving wall like a water surface. I think she was deciding which image to reflect when we entered waves were stopped, the wall became like a lake surface.

Utku said, "Welcome to my little world. Would you like to sit down?"

It was understood that Utku was a hospitable entity. The air conditioning began to blow hot air in the room, which was quite cold when we entered, a pleasant smell from the ventilation spread, and the light level in the room increased.

"Our guests have been sent by the prime minister to ensure our safety. They wanted to see you," İmge said.

"Nice to meet you. I think the short gentlemen is from our category," Utku said.

"It's not hard to understand. We are spreading the electronic wave," said Osso. When he said it, he moved uneasily, could not find a place to put his hands.

"He is amazed," I said, "This is the love at first sight."

"It's nothing like that, I was built in Oslo, and I'm one of the best, you understand what I mean?" said Osso.

It was not wise to miss the opportunities that were faced with the fear of being strange. "Am I a real person? Is my existence real?" I asked.

Utku answered "No" without hesitation.

İmge and Osso looked at me and the opposite wall, which began to reflect the image of a turbulent sea.

"Why, how, can you explain?" I asked.

She said, "Of course." But then, water was drawn across the wall, and a vast desert image appeared.

After a while, İmge asked, "Are you there?" but Utku didn't answer.

"She is good at describing the facts, but when it comes to reasons, she's locked up," İmge said.

Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/0pSNLqAbBmg and https://giphy.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency