Depression and sex (A twitter response post)

depression and sex.png
Depression vector created by pch.vector - www.freepik.com and Inkscape.org

My posts have been very dark and gloomy, when I read this I was a little shocked so I wanted to know more about it. For this post I am going to have to do a lot of research it explains properly but guess, it's more information to my belt and more knowledge in this field is like a superpower.

My new objective in terms of writing is to be able to write a thousand words on any subject related to depression without having to refer to any web pages for references; nevertheless, the information that I use must be true and believable, and it must be able to be linked to different websites.

I believe that if I collect the information necessary to acquire this capability, I will eventually have a great deal of understanding regarding this subject.

Good day, my name is Dr Ebingo Kigigha, and I'm working toward a career as a psychiatrist. I have a dream that one day I will be able to make a difference in the realm of depression, and by extension, mental health.

In this Medic Vibes post, I will be responding to the tweet that was posted by @fact on Twitter and received a lot of attention.

I will also be responding to trending comments in the post.


A person's thoughts, feelings, and ability to operate normally during the day can all be impacted by depression. The greater the frequency, intensity, and length of your symptoms, the higher the likelihood that you are suffering from depression. There are many different indications and symptoms of depression, some of which we may recognize in ourselves and others.
Note Suicide risk is significantly increased for those who suffer from depression.

When a depressed person worries about a potential risk to their life, these concerns should be taken extremely seriously. It's possible that intervention and assistance could save their lives.


Sex and Depression

depression and sex 2.png
Inkscape.org

Before I continue this post I would like to inform you that I have spread misinformation about this topic if the post by @fact is true. I was on @young-boss-karin 's [Sex and Something[(@young-boss-karin/olmleqgd) where I said that no such relationship exists.

I wonder how sure I sounded when I said that. But I'm human I pray every day against sounding confident about stuff I'm not really sure about and yet I still said what I said.

@fact is usually dropping stuff about depression but most of what is posted is still stuff we cover Medic Vibes.

I will be following Healthline's outline to discuss this topic by breaking it down for men and women, So let's go on.

Women
Although it is not PC to say, in the 2018 article written by Healthline they explained how women are more likely to be affected by depression linked to hormonal changes. Some other factors such as juggling work and family life, prenatal phases of pregnancy, postnatal phases and menstruation all come into play affecting a woman's mental health especially related to depression.

As women age also, factors such as reduced estrogen can make sex less pleasurable and other physical factors can make sex downright painful. If the woman does not seek help from a professional it might lead to unfavourable outcomes with depression being one of them.

Men
The feelings of guilt, worthlessness and lacking confidence that come with depression have a way of affecting a man's drive for sex adversely. Because depression comes with not finding pleasure in what was previously pleasurable, sex also becomes uninteresting while facing depression.

Another key factor is an antidepressant medication which reduces libido.

Both men and women feel worthless when they are can not function sexually.

Tips

Here are some tips to help you deal with the effects of the condition. Most adults facing depression without any treatment suffer from issues around sex. Taking drugs for depression after sex can also help by reducing their side effect during sex.
Having conversations about the way you feel with your partner can also help absorb some of the guilt you might be experiencing concerning this issue.

Hive Stories

In this post, I read it was a heartbreaking story by @tarazkp about how he was managed for a stroke. I said on Medic Vibes how chronic conditions such as stroke can cause depression.

His story could cause deep thought and brings so much light to those facing depression and stroke survivors. I'd like to thank him for sharing this story on Hive and urge my reader to try and check it out.

References

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency