Trying MBTI


image source

I gave 25 minute presentation on the MBTI test a couple days ago around its history, validity and application.
Based on what I researched I think that for the most part it’s largely invalid because personality is too abstract of a concept to be defined in a combination of 4 letters
On top of that, circumstantial factors heavily affect your results on the mbti test (or really any personality test). For example If you feel more extroverted at the moment when you take test for any reason, you would like get Exxx, even if that’s not how you usually are
I think it’s a much better indicator of how one is feeling at the moment, rather than measuring personality
Personality is also really hard to measure. Most definitions of “personality” have the common theme of stating that personality as a concept is made up of many smaller components (deemed cognitive functions), and even though the mbti designs it’s Personality archetypes around 4 cognitive functions (E v I, etc.), it does not account for any of the other extraneous variables as mentioned above.
However, I also think that as long as you don’t interpret the MBTI results as 100% accurate (as no one can really fit into a specific “type”) it can provide some good insights into your personality, some strengths/weaknesses and how you might respond to external factors.
That’s basically my presentation in a nutshell, just a few things I found interesting,
I really enjoy talking about this stuff! 😂
Ironically, when I took the test 4 years apart, I got the exact same thing, so I found it oddly consistent and accurate lol.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency