Market Friday-Aboaboo Market, Tamale, Ghana 🇬🇭

Hello everyone, nice to be here, I hope you’re all having a great market Friday. My name is Nativr Boy, I live in Tamale, Ghana 🇬🇭.

Friday is here again and I’m happy to take part in this week's #marketfriday challenge. Today I’ll share with you my experience at the Aboaboo market in Tamale, Ghana.

Tamale is the capital of all the northern cities in Ghana and the Aboaboo market is the biggest market in the whole of northern Ghana 🇬🇭.

On this day, I went to the market to get some books. There was a huge fog in town, the sun was on a break, therefore, depriving the market atmosphere of its usual beautiful bright and vibrant energy.

This is me

AT THE BOOKSHOP

This is my friend’s small bookshop. It’s located in the heart of the Tamale Aboaboo market. He sells a wide range collection of books. You can find any genre of books here.

I bought two books. I like reading all genres of books but I enjoy fiction the most. African novels are my favorite genre of books. Chinua Achebe and Wole Soyinka are my all-time best writers. My favorite non-fiction book is the Holy Quran.

the goated ‘things fall apart by the great Chinua Achebe

I paid 60 Ghana cedis (5$) for these two books. The shocking thing about books here is that unlike anywhere else in the world where books prices are determined by the experience and efforts put into the production, in Tamale, the price of a book is determined by the cost of printing the book. The bigger the book, the higher the cost of printing therefore the higher the price. What I understand about this is that almost all these books are printed and sold without the writer’s consent, therefore what you are actually paying for is the cost of the papers and not the information the book carries. (Except when the book is written by a local author).

That’s an illegal practice, a clear copyright infringement, but that’s also our reality.


ON THE STREETS OF THE MARKET


This is a tro tro (danfo), a famous public transportation bus in West Africa. On market days, you’ll find a tro tro on every street of the market. Tro Tro is considered a cheap public transport for most people living in the city (Tamale). A 25km ride will cost you only ten Ghana (0.9) cedis and take about an hour.


Another cheaper public transport unit is the motorking. A tricycle motorbike. On a normal day, a motorking is used to transport farm produce but on a market day, a motorking can carry everything, including traders. Motorking is the favorite transport service of the market women who live outside Tamale, it is cheaper, convenient, and more ghetto. A 25km ride on a motorking will cost only about six Ghana cedis. (0.3$)


When I was going back home, I spotted this Koko joint and started craving immediately. Koko is a popular Ghanaian porridge usually taken as breakfast or lunch. It’s a porridge made with corn flour. A cup of Koko and sugar costs two ghana cedis (0.16$)


This is koose, a popular snack that goes with Koko. Koose is made by deep frying small balls of bean paste. Five balls of koose cost about two Ghana cedis.


I hope you enjoyed reading about my #marketfriday experience. You can also share your experience and get rewarded by taking part in the market Friday challenge by @dswigle


All images in this post were taken by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency