Donating and Charity shopping for Market Friday

Hello Hello you wonderful Hivian!

It is Friday and I am popping this post together for #marketfriday by the super amazing helpful and wonderfully generous @dswigle

Each month, often twice per month I will pop down to one of our local charity shops and donate some items to be sold to help their charity. It could be books, clothes or whatever else that we no longer need.
This particular day which was Wednesday I was taking some books and DIY tools of which I had duplicates.

Let's stroll around some of these charity shops on Kirkcaldy High Street and see what I found!

The first shop that I came to (and where I donated my goods) was for Cancer Research UK. Having lost a few family members and friends to cancer, I like to donate here as the proceeds go towards research on cancers and also care for cancer sufferers.

Most of the charity shops either pay no or reduced rents, which is great until the landlord wants the shop back and the charity has to relocate premises elsewhere.

They like to dress their windows like real shops, and you can tell that this is the summer over here, with the vacation mode theme of this window!

The booboo of the day. I love ducks and birdlife in general and I thought I would get this little painting on the way back. We came back about three hours later and the blooming thing was gone:(

Big Brother is watching you Coming out of the shop I snapped one of the many CCTV cameras. Are they all the place in your country too?

The next on the list was the Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland charity shop. I virtually always get my Christmas Cards from here, they have a Scottish theme and are very funny!

This was the men fashion section including some rather dated ties 🀣

In keeping with the dated theme, they had some figurines of the 1920s era, what would you say ladies?

They did this funky teapot, what a trip and all I could think of was magic mushrooms πŸ€£πŸ„. Imagine the stories you would be seeing if tripping on mushrooms from that teatpot!

Any post for Denise has to have #alwaysaflower by @dswigle and I have to confess to not being a fake flower person. But whatever floats your boat and these roses would be fine enough on a table somewhere.

Then it was time to pop into my favourite charity pdsa which stands for The People's Dispensary for Sick Animals

Who could resist when you see the wee cat and dog welcoming you in!

This was the shop where I saw this cat doorstep mat @coquicoin

This is the inside of the shop, they had tons of books and DVDs as well as clothes and gereral bric a brac. At the front they had new things, and we have bought quite a lot from them recently.

I was tempted to buy this from my nephew Ageese @coquicoin , what do you think @bloghound @ifarmgirl am I worthy 😁

The mystery item

If you saw my Wednesday Walk post then you will remember that I posted this picture and asked what it was, and how chuffed that we got it for Β£7.50 although I gave them the change from the tenpound note that I paid with! I said someone would win 500 ecency points if they guessed it!

And we had a few people who either knew or guessed correctly!


untitled.gif

Yes it is a ceramic hot water bottle or foot warmer and so much more environmentally friendly that plastic water bottles that break and end up in the landfill or worse!

Well done to @george-dee who is one of The Charming Rascals and who was the first to answer correctly and your 500 ecency points have been sent.

This being the week of EVOLution from @dreemsteem and @dreemport I also sent 100 ecency points to the following people who either guessed correctly or simply engaged about the mystery item:
@hoosie @nickydee @omosefe @coquicoin @littlebee4 @zyzymena @tattoodjay and to my original partner in The Charming Rascals @olawalium

You can see the stopper and the hole where you fill the bottle with water, also the one side that is flat, so it won't roll off the bed and break, also easy to put your feet on without it rolling around the floor!



We had a charity shop to visit and it is in the Mercat shopping centre. We popped in through Boots the chemist.

Can you beleive it!! They had none of my shade of blue make-upπŸ˜‰

I popped this one it, as I used to like the American version of this store.
TK Maxx if I remember in the States it is called TJ Maxx

Here was the last charity shop on our route The Salavation Army
I like them as I had a great Aunt who was big into them and her name was Aunt Winifred ! There you go @winniecorp

They had some great books here as we shall discover!

Another charity shop getting on the theme of the moment!
Golf was invented in Scotland and the home of golf is at St Andrews where the Open tournament is being held. St Andrews is in Fife and not that far from where I am. The beach there is actually where I first took my baby steps walking!
So yes they have some old golf clubs for sale πŸŒοΈβ€β™€οΈπŸŒοΈβ€β™‚οΈπŸŒοΈ

I said there were be books here, and look @olawalium your greatest manager?

And you @kenechukwu97 perhaps your greatest club servant?

I am a Rangers fan and what have those two footballers got to do with Rangers?
Fergie was a striker for us for a couple of years ago and is from Govan where Rangers play in Glasgow, and Gerrard was our manager who took us to 55 league titles a couple of years ago.

I see Man Utd captured Erikkson. I wonder if they will beat Liverpool 4-0 again one the season starts!

I did see this wee Eiffel tower and of course thought of @littlebee4 who was on holiday there a wee while ago. She has some gorgeous photographs of her time in Paris if you want to see them and see what beautiful Paris looks like!

The last one on the list was Barnardo's which is a children's charity.
A new building is being constructed and I fear they lose passing trade as the footfall is down.

Being a children's charity I loved these colour of Doc Martens!
Is this the colour for your hat @fionasavourites

They even had a bleeding lephracaun with an Irish proverb
"May the road rise with you,
and the wind be always at your back"

Teapots, every shop has teapots!
I liked these blue and white ones, however they were chipped round the other side. However any excuse to say LOVE YOU and I took that picture!

Nigerians love their soup! Would you use this when you serve me my soup @zyzymena

#sorrynotsorry these were so darn cute that I had to put them in again🀣🀣

And because you made it this far and are in the Hive
You Are The Bees-Knees

Last but not least #alwaysaflower I love this time of year with the blue and pink flowers of the Rhododendron

And this got mega long! I am sorry for taking up your time if you managed to read to the bottom!

One last thing, do you have charity shops like this in your country? Do you donate to them or buy from them?

silver_divider_logo.png



All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman @tengolotodo unless otherwise stated.

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
112 Comments
Ecency