Market Friday

Market Friday

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Hive, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.
This is the one tag and daily challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post,I continue of the same theme as my last couple of Market Friday Posts in the Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum, with a few of my favorite pieces on display.
But first lets start with a shot of the property from the gardens


Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum,.jpg

Sony A7iii 19mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


A little bit about the property
The William Rotch Jr. House, now the Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum, is a National Historic Landmark at 396 County Street in New Bedford, Massachusetts, in the United States. The three families whose names are attached to it were all closely tied to the city's nineteenth-century dominance of the whaling industry. Because of this, the house is part of the New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park.
Richard Upjohn built the house in the Greek Revival architectural style for William Rotch Jr. in 1834, on a New Bedford plot Rotch had inherited from his father. It was Upjohn's first house, near the beginning of a long career. Rotch also commissioned a garden in the rear, which later owners would significantly expand. The property remained private until 1981, when it was bought by local preservationists and reopened as a historic house museum. It was declared a National Historic Landmark and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005. Today the museum educates visitors not only about whaling but, through its gardens and associated programs for local schools, about the environment as well.

They gave a printout which described what was in each room, and they also had descriptions by many of the pieces

Now these are the favorite pieces I saw while in the museum, and are just in the order I came across them,

Starting with these cool pieces on a cards table, for keeping track of the score


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger



Being a Telecom Tech back in the day I do love seeing old Phones and such, by the way when I started as a tech phones were more advances than this one, so I am not that old lOL


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-2.jpg




Being in the army for 12 years I became pretty good at ironing, but again fortunately the irons I used were more modern than this one


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-3.jpg



This is some sort of Drink container i gather, but for me it was a cool find


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-4.jpg



So much so I got shots of it from a couple of angles


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-5.jpg




An old Sewing Machine I have seen Singer sewing machines of this era, the name Bradbury was new to me


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-6.jpg




Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-7.jpg




A very early elevator, Having been in two incidents with faulty elevators, including dropping two and a half floors once, I am kind of glad this ne was not running.
PS I still ride elevators even after the two incidents but always stand in the corner holding the rail and with my knees bent lOL

Lulu smiles every time she sees me do that, I think partly because it looks kind of funny and partly because if the incidents had happened to her she would probably not ride an elevator


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-8.jpg




A Medicine case complete with Whiskey and Brandy


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-9.jpg



And the last Piece a Globe


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-10.jpg




Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-11.jpg




Oops I missed a couple adding them now


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favorites.jpg




Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favorites-2.jpg



And that’s all folks



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

We haven't started Team USA on Hive yet but no doubt it will come shortly

TEAMUSAhive JJ.jpg

!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long Cove Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency