Shopping At Kuting Reef’s Honesty Store

Do you love shopping in an Honesty Store?

How I love to experience it but I rarely see an Honesty Store here in my country. Perhaps I so love the idea of making honesty a habit, as the store allows paying through an honesty system through a money container. #MarketFriday by @dswigle

When I visited Kuting Reef, Southern Leyte, Philippines, I was able to experience shopping at an Honesty Store for the first time.

Upon entering the place, an Honesty Store is in front of the entrance. It was just a little stall with many enticing food delights which were packed with various foodies displayed. Most of the foods displayed were chips and had great flavors too.

They were all my favorites especially the big packs of junk foods. And when I looked at the prices, I was amazed because I was expecting the products to be sold at high prices. I did not expect that the price was just right.

There were chips, biscuits, and most of the foods were delicacies from the different parts of the Philippines. They were all my favorites. I wanted to buy junk foods but I love my health more.

Behind the stall at the right portion is a glass wall where guests will be waiting for the accommodation. And when I entered the place, it was so peaceful, and seemed all guests were already in the reserved rooms. So I took the moment to capture the space as I love its interior design and the colors added elegance to the spot.

And when I turned to the right side, a stall for souvenirs of all kinds was displayed too which made me so excited.

I never hesitated to see the displayed items from food to swimming wear, bags, lotions, creams, souvenirs, and more.

There were many summer and beach clothes sold but I was not interested to buy although they were sold at cheaper prices. They were all made of cotton and were truly comfortable to wear as I was touching and trying to see the style of each wear.

I so love the pink hues of two-piece swimming wear but I felt conservative at that moment. I love to wear shorts but I am not so confident to wear bikinis especially when I am in a crowd. However, I tried it when I joined a pageant back then and I also have the collection at home but I rarely use it though.

The hats were so colorful and I love them all. The painted bags were lovely too. Hats and canvass bags were sold for as low as 200 pesos or 3.61 dollars.

Although they were sold at an affordable price, I did not buy them since I am looking for something that can be carried easily and can be placed in my bag without worries about the container I will be using.

Other mini and colorful kinds of stuff were also sold at an affordable price varying from 100 pesos to 200 pesos, or 1.80 dollars and 3.61 dollars, respectively.

What made me truly excited to shop at Kuting Reef’s Honestly Store was the presence of souvenirs for Pasalubong.

Pasalubong is what I always remember whenever I will travel everywhere for I always think of what to bring for my friends and loved ones. And it must be something valuable to the culture of the people I have been through.

So here I am standing near the items that I wanted to buy for my friends and loved ones as I come back to my hometown, Bukidnon, Philippines.

The elegant mugs with a beautiful sunset and sunrise scenery of the Kuting Reef were sold for two hundred ten pesos or 3.79 dollars. While the keychain with a can opener was sold for 75 pesos or 1.35 dollars each.

The refrigerator magnet caught my attention. It was sold for 85 pesos or 1.54 dollars. What I love about these are not so bulky to bring back home and I could always buy more to give to my friends and loved ones.

I kept on looking at the displays. There were native hand-made bags, slippers at the bottom, lotions and creams at the top and many more. I did not buy any of them since I am having mine in my room.

So I finally decided to buy refrigerator magnets as souvenirs during my recent travel to Southern Leyte, Philippines, and part of it was the Kuting Reef Resort and Spa.

Can you guess how many refrigerator magnets did I buy at the Honesty Store?

Before leaving the place, I calculated the total amount at 85 pesos each and dropped an exact amount at the counter.

Perhaps it was an exciting experience to shop at the Honesty Store for the first time and I so love the idea of practicing honesty and integrity at all times.

Disclaimer: All texts and pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now