An Indigenous Bazaar Of Locally Hand-Made Products

In this day and age, a bazaar of indigenous, hand-made local products could be scarce due to a high demand of raw products that are so rare to find in a locality.

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by the ever dynamic @dswigle along with my humble presentation and display of indigenous hand-made local products that I have witnessed earlier.

Friday is both a fly day and a market day for me.

Needless to say, from the rural area, I went down to the city today to unwind at the mall. Every so often, window shopping calms my soul, and that unwinding for me is simply to taste food and life.

When I entered the mall, I noticed that some Christmas decors and lights had added colors to the atmosphere while most were window shopping.

The escalator sides have lovely decors too, and the stairs were glittered with red, gold, and silver, adding elegance on everyone’s path with a reminder such that walk.

Meanwhile, I was about to buy cheesecake series brownies at my favorite shop inside the mall with the tagline “sweeter with brownies”, until such time that I bumped into an indigenous bazaar of locally hand-made products.

At first glance, I saw these elegant lamps with various designs.

I thought they were just meant to be displayed for viewing purposes, so I stroll around the area and took the chance to capture some shots of each lamp.

But all of a sudden, I was really very surprised when the Saleslady appeared in a blink while asking me: ”Hello, Ma’am. Unsay imuha?”. This is a Bisaya way of asking me, what do I want to buy in the bazaar.

Honestly, I felt speechless for a while because I never thought that these local products are for sale because of its location beside my favorite brownies.

The saleslady was very friendly and approachable to me. I kept on asking her about the products because I was really mesmerized after seeing a display of indigenous products.

She said that she was part of the production, but as of the moment, she was assigned to be at the marketing. And then she added that the chemist of the products is a Filipino, and they were importing products abroad such as France, Netherlands, Germany, and many more.

Afterwards, she pointed out a direction where some of the displays were placed. So I followed her and had a glimpse of the following displays.

Walking around…

I stumbled on wonderfully-made indigenous products such as creative wrappers, journals, wallets, purses, flower vases, fish catcher floor lamps, cards, baskets, bowls, envelopes, hand bags, tote bags, and paper bags.

And here are the indigenous hand-made local products.

Most of the products displayed were made from indigenous raw materials such as abaca (known for being processed into production of handicrafts), pineapple, cogon grass (best for bags weaving mats, carpet, and bags), and Capiz shells (glitters the hand-made products), which were mixed and processed by a Filipino Chemist.

These are hand-made bags made of mixed indigenous materials such as abaca and pineapple. The left bag pack costs Php695 or 11.84 dollars and the hand bag on the right costs Php 1,300 or 22.14 dollars. If I were to choose between the two bags, I would really pick the hand bag.

In front of the two bags were the tribal long wallets that costs Php235 or four dollars.

The coin purses were so simple yet very attractive. They were sold at a cheap price that costs Php125 or 2.13 dollars.

The baskets were really very nice. They were also made from abaca, pineapple, and cogon grass. Each of the baskets cost Php500 or 8.52 dollars. And if I were to use it, I would really put my favorite goods here.

The floor lamps were really so cool and light. They were made from processed pineapple and abaca. And each of which cost Php2,800 or 47.69 dollars.

Placemats and lamp shade covers were also sold for as low as Php200 or 3.41 dollars. They were all beautiful and how I love them so much.

There was also a stationery section displaying the indigenous cards, journals, memo notes, designing crafts, arts and decors, gift box, and many more as shown below.

This is sold for only twenty pesos or 0.34 dollars. It could be use for dedications. The same price go with the following stuffs.

And an indigenous album with a tag price of Php695 or 11.84 dollars.

At first, I was thinking it was a scrapbook but it was actually an album. It is really the first time that I have seen this kind of picture album for shared memories. It was very attractive and colorful too.

Moreover, I was even more amazed when I have seen these colorful paper bags, gift boxes, and dedication cards. Each of them cost Php75 or 1.28 dollars.

An origami face mask was sold for Php150 or 2.56 dollars. It was made of paper and raw materials such as pineapple fibers. But I did nit buy it because I have a lot of face masks at home.

Lastly, what I love the most in the indigenous displays are the presence of this fish catcher- designed floor lamps which cost Php12,000 or 204.71 dollars.

A few moments later, I finally decided what to buy. I bought three products with the cheapest price.

One product paves way for creating spaces through to-do-list tasks. Another product allows me to store every drop of cents. And lastly, a locally-made product that allows me to place a treasure.

”Can you guess what are the things I bought from the indigenous bazaar? Ten Hive to anyone who could guess it. Break a leg!”

Perhaps it was a great experience on a Market Friday when I have bought simple but elegant things at a cheaper price today from an indigenous bazaar of locally hand-made products. With honest-to-goodness, it made my day.

Happy Market Friday!


Disclaimer: All texts and images are my own, unless otherwise stated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency