Vibrancy is Making It's Way Back To Moalboal Market, Cebu, Philippines

It's A Happy #MarketFriday #Hivers!

Today for the first time in many months, my trip to my local market was reminiscent of the good 'ole days in Moalboal, and it's encouraging.

_B130472.jpg

Chock-a-block alleys with hanging stalls, slow-walkers and stooping vendors, which often caused retardation of movement, had suddenly become deserted. Now, after extended months, the vibrancy which is characteristic of Moalboal Market, is finally making its way back; as long-standing vendors have reinstalled their positions, and everything seems harmonious.

_B130420_this one.jpg


With more freedom in inter-island travel, farmers from the mountains have resumed the delivery of their produce, and sequentially, continuous rainfall in recent times, has had a positive impact on the quality of their crop. Everything is noticeably mature and rich in colour - which means the fruit and vegetable is tastier and packed with more nutrients.
_B130477_edited.jpg

_B130478_edited.jpg

Lots of "double yolk" eggs...

_B130476_edited.jpg

Bananas, Oranges, Mangoes, Apples, Lemons, Lemonsito and Clementine

_B130412_edited.jpg

Egg Plants, Mulunggay (miracle plant for many healing properties), Alugbhati (type of spinach), Sayote / Chayote (Cho Cho) - many local veggies.

_B130440_edited.jpg

Lanzones (Langsat) Fruit Vendor (left), and Fish Vendor (right)

_B130453.jpg

Suman Malagkit With Coconut Caramel Sauce (Sticky Rice) Vendor

_B130459_edited.jpg

Animal Feed Vendor

_B130454.jpg

_B130682_edited.jpg

Fibreless Mangoes, Grapes, Watermelon, Lanzones, and Roasted Peanuts.


Native Craftsmanship

I love the electrifying colours of the native craft and household items, which seems representative of the lively and fun-loving nature of Filipinos in general. These colours give me hope, because they remind me of the rainbow, which makes me have an optimistic outlook.

_B130431_edited.jpg

"Walis Tambo", whiskered broom, made from phragmites grass (common reed plants). Very soft - used for sweeping indoors or the veranda/patio. Also String Doormats.
_B130432_.jpg

Does size really matter?

I must admit, I never imagined broom sticks could be this short, but they seem to work for Filipinos. I think these brooms are so creatively designed that they look more like collectible items, than for their functional purpose of sweeping dirt. I resisted getting one, as I have a traditional broom with a very long stick at home, and my mind takes me to an old Jamaican saying:

"A new broom sweeps clean, but an old broom knows every corner."

Meaning: it's not always a good idea to get new everything, and that, experience is the best thing to have.šŸ’”

_B130434.jpg

With that thought in my mind, I stick to my plan of only buying the necessities and adhering to my shopping list of needed items only.

_B130429_edited.jpg

_B130430_edited.jpg
_B130433_edited.jpg


"Bunot" - Coconut Husk Floor Polisher:

Makes me nostalgic about childhood memories in Jamaica. šŸ˜

_B130424.jpg

'On all fours, I'd use a cloth to apply polish to my floor; then I'd wait a few minutes for the polish to dry; then using my coconut husk floor polisher (just like one of these), I'd meticulously shine my floor till it sparkled šŸ¤£ - 'twas my favourite household chore.'šŸ˜

šŸŒŽ Jamaica and Philippines - same same, but different :)


Recalled Employees

I'm extremely happy to see my friend Nary back at work, as he was laid-off for many months, due to lack of work and funds caused by Covid crisis.
Nary says he's happy to be outside of his home and back at work (it's like an Outdoor Adventure šŸ˜‰).

received_700921253879113.jpeg

Nary is a gem of a guy with a calm, patient and caring demeanour.

It would appear I'm not the only one happy to see Nary back at his station, because as Nary is sorting my internet account, he seems a little distracted by this lovely little girl (daughter of another vendor), who apparently adores him, and is heartened to see him back at his usual post.

_B130450_edited.jpg

_B130457_edited.jpg

_B130449_edited.jpg

inCollage_20201113_180940549.jpg

It's no surprise that he [Nary] has such a huge customer base:)
_B130474_edited.jpg


Haberdashery & Household Items

You are guaranteed to find everything you need for your home here at Moalboal Market, and things you didn't know you needed too.

_B130426.jpg


_B130428_edited.jpg

_B130427_this one.jpg


It Ain't Over Till It's Over

facemasksign.jpg

Mm-hmm!

NOTICE

Wear a face mask when you leave your home. 
If you do not wear a mask, you can be fined PHP 1000.00.

Although things are picking up and seemingly in full-swing, stringent rules remain, and is mostly abided by all.

_B130480_edited.jpg


Usual Suspects

#streetphotography

'What's a town like without memorable characters?'

Well, Moalboal has a good few ...

_B130497_edited.jpg

_B130487_edited.jpg

_B130681_edited.jpg

_B130500_edited1.jpg

āš”ļøāš”ļø "BANG!!!"

_B130766.jpg

Lightning lit the sky, and a loud thunderclap startled us.

_B130767.jpg

Seems like the bright sunny day with clear skies is about to change, as any minute the sky could open up and we'll have "liquid sunshine" :)

Methinks it's time to head on home...
_B130767_cropped.jpg

_B130768_edited 2.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog.

It's been fun taking you on a virtual tour of my local market in my town Moalboal, as I relay little stories of what makes it such a vibrant and a lovely place to hang out and interact with the locals.
#MarketFriday #Moalboal #Cebu #Philippines

HaveYouBeenHere?

I hope to see you soon!

... and I promise I'll get you a "Balanggat" too :) - Native Filipino Farmers Hat...šŸ˜Ž

So long till my next blog:)

šŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸšŸ

šŸ“ø: Olympus OMD E 10 MII
šŸ“: Moalboal Market, Cebu Philippines
šŸ“† November 2020

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency