Visit to the park and brunch for #MarketFriday

We were looking forward to this day because of the scheduled activities still related to the month-long flower festival we are having here in our city.

Here's a short video I took at Melvin Jones Grandstand where lots of activities were held.

#MarketFriday is hosted by @dswigle. For more information about it, visit her latest post Lost at Sea with Market Friday and find the guidelines in that post how to post in this community.

We were at the park an hour after the start time of 8:00 a.m. as posted on social media. It was a busy day. The football activities were already ongoing. Preparation for the kite flying and painting activities was also going on.

I was really interested in the kite flying challenge the most. Some participants are preparing their kites and testing them every so often. It was a windy day as well so it was a good day to fly a kite. However, while it was windy, you can still feel the heat of the sun.

While registration for the painting activities and preparation for the kite flying challenge was being held, a demonstration of a new sport called disc golf is done. Learn more about it here.

This sport is now introduced in the city. I am not aware of this sport and there is a plan to train participants in this sport for the Southeast Asian Games. Don't quote me on that as I wasn't sure if that was what the announcer mentioned. The goal is to shoot the disc/frisbee in the ring.

I was under the sun in the open field for some minutes taking videos before we decided to go eat first and come back later on. Our initial place to eat had a long line waiting outside. This is one if not the most popular fast food here in the city. Since it is a Sunday, expect the place to be full. Still, we were hoping we will have a seat but were disappointed. We then went to a fastfood across it.

Thankfully, there were vacant seats. I thought this was the place where their pad thai is one that we liked so we ordered that and some fried dumplings. When we first tasted their tom yum, it was really great and did remind me of the one we had in Bangkok back then. However, the last two times we were there, it wasn't as good. Most of the food we had there was so-so that's why it was kind of a letdown when the tom yum changed. It's like no reason to go back there anymore. I can't remember actually when was the last time we ate here.

Our food arrived quicker than I expected. Thinking it was a good sign. However, when our order arrived, it was then that I realized this was not the place I was hoping for a good pad thai by the looks of it.

I realized that too late. While the noodles are cooked nicely, there was not much else in there. Too few ingredients. It was sweet and spicy and had lots of onions, not the pad thai I was hoping for.

The fried dumplings are not that good either. While the wrapper is crunchy, there is an aftertaste of bitterness. The fillings are dry as well.

It was a reminder again why we were not going there anymore. One of the reasons we ate there is to give it a chance and hoped that things were better.

Earlier while we were on our way to the fastfood, I was feeling not so good. It's like my energy was drained and I felt lethargic. I think I had too much sun. I had a bit of a headache and my mood is not that great.

From the fastfood, we crossed the street to where a brand of ice cream we liked is sold. My partner wanted some of it to hopefully wash off the not-so-good taste of pad thai. I don't feel like eating one though. It was a Korean restaurant with some products sold aside from ice cream.

After buying ice cream, I checked their other stuff and that's when we decided to buy some stuff to cook for later. I was really not myself that time so taking photos was out of my mind because my concern is to buy and then go home straight away which we did. We had to cancel going back to the park to watch the kite flying challenge.

It was only when we were about to eat that it came to me to take photos.

We bought fish cakes at Php120.00, chopped mixed veggies (carrots, onions, cabbage) at Php25.00, sliced leeks at Php25.00, Enoki mushroom at Php75.00, and as an afterthought, potato marbles at Php75.00.

In a pot, we placed about 3 cups of water to boil. The only thing we need to do is to cut the fish cakes into strips about an inch thick. Once the water boiled, we placed that and the enoki mushroom in the pot and let it boil for 2-3 minutes then added the leeks and the mixed veggies and let it boil for 2 more minutes. We added some salt and that was it. Easy and ready to serve and consume! This made-up soup of sorts saved the day.

So there goes our #BeautifulSunday hosted (hosted by @ace108) and #SublimeSunday (hosted by @c0ff33a) entry for today.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency