Market Friday in Bulanao Public Market

Bulanao is located in Tabuk City, Kalinga. Although I have visited the place when I was younger, I haven't had the chance to go to their market.

After having our coffee and donuts somewhere, we then decided to visit the market which is near by. It was our plan to buy Kalinga coffee.

(Note that the following was also posted this here.)

We also have to buy fish and other stuff for our breakfast, more like brunch since coffees and donuts were enough. My other brother who lives there accompanied us to the market as well.

image.png

image.png

Upon entering the market, the strong aroma of coffee is already in the air. Sacks of coffee are displayed in most of the stalls that we passed. I felt like I'm in cloud nine already. The aroma alone set me in a good mood. Aside from coffee, tobacco is another product that can be seen here.

But first, breakfast.

image.png

The fish section or the wet market is located towards the back part of the market, at least from where we entered. There are various entrances to the market.

Not all the stalls are opened yet. Unlike in our city that by this time all stalls are open and it's a busy market.

image.png

Live tilapia fish can be seen in big thick plastic basins. I was not able to picture the whole thing but placed above the basin is a pail with holes in it where water goes out. The vendor will then use a dipper to get water from the basin and put it back in the pail. I noticed all the vendors do that. I'm sure there's a reason behind it but I forgot to ask. Maybe to imitate flowing water? I can only assume.

image.png

There was also frozen squid placed on top of a chair. The vendor said it was just delivered that's why it's still frozen.

image.png

I also saw this sign. It roughly states that the market is the livelihood of the people. I think there was an issue about developers and those who own lots in the market. It seems like a mall is to be built here.

image.png

I was not sure how much was the fish for I was busy taking photos. It was my companions to bought most of the stuff. I was asked to buy oil and fish paste. The plan is to fry the fish and then add onions and tomatoes. Then chili will be cooked in fish paste. All that will be eaten with rice of course.

image.png

I bought two bottles of cooking oil for PHP40.00 a piece and then a bottle of fish paste which costs PHP60.00. From this stall that I bought those from, they do have coffee too but we decided to buy from another stall.

image.png

These are different kinds of smoked pork which is a common product sold in the markets of the Cordilleras. Mostly those sold in our market are displayed in the open and not packed.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Wines, dried fish, legumes, coconut oil and sticky rice can also be seen in the market. I posted these photos in my social media account and my sister commented that we should have bought legumes. I do love legumes myself but at that time, I was not really focused on that for the power of coffee is strong.

image.png

We bought 4 kilos of this powdered coffee at PHP200.00 a kilo. I only bought one kilo. My other brother bought one as a gift to his girlfriend. My cousin bought one as a gift to his mom and our friend bought one to bring home. My other brother didn't buy because he doesn't like this one and would prefer the not powdered like this. We couldn't find any other coffee sellers who has a different form of coffee. The vendor said that these were freshly delivered.

image.png

These are rice delicacies that were just delivered to a stall across where we bought the coffee. I bought some of those. I forgot the particulars but all in all it was under PHP200.00. These are made from sticky rice. The vendor had no time yet to display them properly when I bought some.

We then headed home to our cousins with our purchases.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmo9dXXMegWRCSm3YfRoqc8Qdx3EAnyCpGhJZycm9jci4jhx16iKT9aLMSRqRB (2).jpg

After having our brunch, we then prepared ourselves and had to leave. We have to visit yet another cousin and family who live in the next town.

We informed her of our purchase of coffee and we were told that those sold in the market are not pure coffee. Most are mixed with either rice or corn or something else. We did try what we bought and she said it tastes a bit sour unlike the pure one. With that, she then accompanied us to buy from someone who sells pure powdered coffee.

We also tried that but for me, I can't tell the difference lol!

This is my entry to @dswigle's @MarketFriday challenge. Come and join the challenge and show us your market.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency