The Shop of All-Kinds-Of-Everything

First Image.png
Oh no!! My salt container cracked and I had to replace it. And it's Friday, so #MarketFriday by @dswigle it is 😁.

Actually, I have been meaning to do this for some time now, and so it all fell into place. This shop is called Kedai Serbaguna - translated loosely to "All-kinds-of-everything Shop" and it's true. You will walk in to get 1 thing you need and walk out with another 9 you think you need.

But I was good today and walked in, got my salt container and lots of pictures/footage to share, and walked out.

This shop is here temporarily until the land is taken back by whoever to build something more permanent. It is warehouse-size-huge, with a zinc roof, and rows and rows of all kinds of everything. On a hot day, you will melt, but it is still worth browsing, coz it is fun.

You can find all kinds of basic things like pots and pans to toys and stationery to pillows and mattresses to rat traps and fluorescent lights.

IMG_1920.jpg
Rooster bowls and tableware are popular with the Chinese here. These designs were brought with those who migrated to Southeast Asia back in the day and are even considered as collector's items. Of course, these are not the real thing but if you wanted a cheaper version, then ta-dah!

IMG_1888.jpg
I had these rat traps at home when I was a kid. Dad would check in the morning, and if there was a rat trapped in there, he would drown it long enough to make it dizzy, then let it go so the cat could catch it - for some reason typing this now sounds strange but I gather, it was a win-win except for the rat.

I remember one day, I was about 5 then, I was watching this rat drowning and I was so curious, so I stuck my finger in (don't ask me why?) and the rat bit me. Of course, I got a small beating and a big scolding for doing something so silly (old school parenting😉).

IMG_1891.jpg
Mattresses lined the top row and pillows the bottom. Nothing fancy of course.

IMG_1893.jpg
Nothing was ever wasted back then, and Mum would make mats like these from rags. These days I guess we throw or giveaway clothes/fabric we are done with and buy the mats🤦‍♀

IMG_1894.jpg
These kinds of mats too. In fact, I made one for a school project. Fun times.

IMG_1900.jpg
Piggy banks, because we all want the US dollar. But all of this will probably be a thing of the past with digital currency, whether decentralised or decentralised taking over.

IMG_1901.jpg
More piggy banks, these made with clay. I had this as a kid, it was a rooster. It was placed high, above the window where I couldn't reach it. And one day, I remember climbing up the alter to get to it when my parents had left me in the house for a couple of hours (I was 5, and it was common back then I guess, to lock your child in the house when you needed to run some errands). There was a candle alight and my dress caught fire. I put it out immediately, but the dress was a little burnt which I got into trouble for much later when my mum found the dress in the back of my drawer, and I was still too short to reach the piggy bank. It wasn't a good day.

IMG_1905.jpg

Seashells made into wind chimes. Painted first too.

IMG_1908.jpg
I remember using this to boil water. Even bath waters. We'd just stick it into the pail and there's a clip to hang it by the side so only the coil is immersed in the water. I haven't used this in sooooo long and asked my girl if she would want this for Uni as they don't have hot showers, then thought better of it in case she didn't watch it and left it to.... you get the picture.

HEART DIVIDER.png
This is the real reason, why I like walking through this shop because there are all kinds of old-school stuff and trinkets. Check out the video to see more.

THANKYOU.PNG

#Day14 #Year2022
All pics/footage from my gallery
Music: Them Thieves by Ava Low, Epidemic Sound

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency