RE: The Death of the Mall on Market Friday

Wow.... I haven't been out shopping much here. I use to go somewhere nearly every other day and the grocery store of some kind, several times a week. Our mall was already failing here, actually, it had pretty much failed years back and some local investors bought it and gave it a lift, but it has never returned to it's former glory. A big cluster of shops were built a couple miles from it that now has all the bigger named stores and restaurants. I was surprised and disappointed when it wasn't "mall style" because we have all seasons here, so if it is too hot, too cold, raining or snowing, you are outside to walk from one place to the other. Not a good way to spend an extended amount of time (even before covid).... unless the weather is good.

Thing is, a couple weeks back, I had a day off and went to a doctor's appointment and then to get a blood draw which took me too the best shopping area around. I went in a place or two, a beloved grocery store, but only for the famous muffins (thankfully they were still selling them).... and into a pet store that is half pet supplies and the other half novelty or outdoor decor. The corner that previously had tons of outdoor chimes, flags, bird houses,feeders, baths and other fun outdoor things, was nearly empty. I understand not fully restocking with the lower amount of shoppers, because money is the bottom line, but on the other hand, you can't sell what you don't have. I was ready to drop an unknown amount of money on frivolous yard/porch decor and fun things, but I left empty handed. Now..... I am not complaining, I truly understand, but once things loosened up, how are you going to make sales? It's a bit of a hard circle there.

I'm truly sorry about how many businesses have not been able to pull through it. I live in a cluster of small cities and we already didn't have the variety that bigger cities have always had. Now though, it appears the variety is greatly damaged and even though I know shopping online hurts the local economy, where is the choice if the stores are nearly empty? I am not driving to a bigger city for things.

Covid sure has changed things and I'm betting permanently. I can't imagine now our area recovering to it's former glory.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency