Cruising through Market Friday Challenge | It's Vietnamese Dessert for now

It's been weeks since I last posted anything on Market Friday Challenge. I blame it on the busy work schedule that I've recently been on. My right hand man was asked to leave the organization; he was a victim of Covid-19 as many others were; loosing their jobs because the company can no longer have him on the payroll. I couldn't blame the organization as it was either him or me. Ultimately, we all need to take care of ourselves and call me selfish but at times like these, survival of the strongest is important.

Anyhow, I'm not here to talk about my misery of the past few weeks, that would be for another post on another day. For now, let's enjoy some small little bit of happiness.

IMG_20201011_084201.jpg

If you have been following my previous post on Market Friday Challenge, you would've realised that I'm a huge fan when it comes to the local wet markets in Vietnam; especially if it's wholesale or just plain local market which is plentiful in Vietnam. In this part of Saigon where I live in, such markets are readily available and they sell all sorts of things - fresh provisions such as meat, seafood, vegetables & fruits to cooked food to household items. Anything you can think of, they have it here.

In this section of the local wet market, one will also find stall such as these. Bread, pastries, tarts and other forms of sweet desserts. In Vietnam, glutinous rice is very commonly used in many dishes and enjoyed in all meal types and courses; be it soup, appetiser, main course and even desserts.

IMG_20201011_084141.jpg

One will never find food dull here, that's for sure!

I've not tried many of it because I don't really have a sweet tooth nor do I fancy glutinous rice. It's just way too filing and hard to digest as well. However for the locals, this is their favourite ingredient in any dish. Something which I never understood. Then again, there's still a lot of things that I have yet to discover. Maybe one day I would understand but definitely not today.

IMG_20201011_084144.jpg


This is an inspiration from Denise @dswigle to join the #MarketFriday Challenge! If you haven't followed her yet; please do so now as she is one of those genuine encourages with a true heart and soul to support people on HIVE!

This is the one tag and weekly challenge that I try to make a point to join; not to mention that I'm also a fanatic when it comes to sight seeing or shopping in any form of market - indoors, outdoors, food, textile, accessories and etc.

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe!
There's so many different cultures and beauty in this world and the more we travel and open up our eyes, the more we gain.

It's easy to participate :

  1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service.
  2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
  3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
  4. Post the picture(s)
  5. Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
  6. Minimum 250 words

signature.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency