Market Friday — Weekly Grocery at Peunayong Traditional Market

It's Friday and time to share about #MarketFriday which is organized by @dswigle. On this occasion, I will share a little story about my experience shopping at a traditional market I visited for the first time. Previously, I usually did the weekly grocery at Al-Mahirah Traditional Market (you can click the link to read the story), but the market is only open in the morning until noon. Unfortunately today my schedule in the morning was quite busy so I couldn't go to the market. I could only go to the market in the afternoon and from the information I got from my office mates, they said that Peunayong Traditional Market is open from morning to night.

If Al-Mahirah market is located on the edge of the city and not too far from where I live, Peunanyong Traditional Market is located around the city center and surrounded by shop houses. The distance, only about 7km from where I live, is not too far, but the intensity of the traffic flow is quite dense so it takes quite a while to get to the market, especially when I go there after work.

The layout of this market is also very different from the Al-Mahirah market. There all the sellers are gathered in a large building while here, each seller has his stall whose average size is 3x3 meters. Despite having to move from one stall to another, I prefer shopping at Peunayong Market compared to Al-Mahirah Market. This is because one stall does not only sell one category of ingredients, but can sell various ingredients such as vegetables, noodles, eggs, tofu, tempeh, and others. In the Al-Mahirah market, each seller only focuses on selling one specific product only.

As soon as I arrived at the market, I parked my motorcycle in front of a stall that sold quite a lot of goods. The first thing I look for is vegetables, and of course, I grab spinach, which is my favorite.

Next, I also bought 5 stalks of spring onions and a few stalks of parsley, chicken eggs, quail eggs, tempeh, carrots, cauliflower, potatoes, and tomatoes. My total purchase at this kiosk was 68,000 IDR or about ~5.26 USD. Here I share some of the breakdowns.

Item ProductPrice IDRPrice USD
2 Bunch of Spinach5,000~ 0.35
5 Stalk of Spring Onions & Parsleys8,000~ 0.55
6 Chicken Eggs15,000~ 1
20 Quaill Eggs10,000~ 0.67
2 Tempeh10,000~ 0.67
500 Grams of Cauliflower10,000~ 0.67
1Kg Potatoes15,000~ 1
300 Grams of Tomatoes5,000~ 0.35

After I finished buying the vegetables and some products which are protein sources, I moved to another stall selling fruits. The location of this stall was about 50 meters away from the first stall where I shopped. When I arrived, I saw several fruits such as sweet purple potatoes, jackfruits, pumpkins, peanuts, and bananas. After looking around and asking the price of each fruit, I finally decided to buy a hand of bananas for 15,000 IDR (~1 USD).

After I finished buying the fruit, I decided to go home. When I got home, I immediately separated the items into their respective containers and put them in the fridge, so they could last longer.

That's all for this week's #MarketFriday. Thank you for visiting and taking the time to read this post. Feel free to leave a comment on this post. See you next week everyone!


All these pictures were taken using iPhone XR
and processed through Adobe Lightroom


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency