Marketfriday : My visit to Alapa Market to buy yam

Hello,
This is participation for today's Marketfriday which was initiated by @dswigle.
Alapa market is situated in Asa Local Government Area, Kwara State Nigeria. The market doesn't function as a regular market. There is market days that is they transact business every three day and they count five days again to know another market day. The first two days is called pre market day during this time people who sell only yam are in the market and the last day which is the third day is actual market day when everybody selling different goods such as ram, goat, rice, beans and other food stuffs come to buy and sell their goods. People come from different cities, state to transact business. Things are very cheap there compared to other markets. It is really a big market.

My journey to Alapa market

I set out around 7:15am and move to where I can get vehicle that is going to Alapa market, getting there the car was empty

IMG_20210403_080817_177.jpg

I was the first person to board the car and here when you go to bus stop the vehicle will wait till the car is full with passenger. I was already tired of waiting and extremely hungry. Before the car was full I saw where they are selling bread and mineral.

IMG_20210403_080130_974.jpg

IMG_20210403_080551_486.jpg

I quickly bought bread and mineral for myself I guess that will sustain me. Eventually the car was full and we set out to Alapa market.
When I got to the market I expect the place to be full of people like I usually witness in Ilorin where I stay but I was told it was second day of the market which means it is only yam sellers that will be in the market and yhe third day will be for the general. I was angry but not too angry because it was yam I came to buy.

IMG_20210403_094702_130.jpg

IMG_20210403_094503_868.jpg

The market was big and different people came to sell and buy yam in the market. Trailers and small buses are in the market to offload the yam while some are taken the yam to another state to sell.

IMG_20210403_094501_579.jpg

Inside the market there were many trees where people can stay under the shade and small places which are made of trees and the roof is made of dry grasses.

IMG_20210403_095157_304.jpg

IMG_20210403_095109_168.jpg

I see the reason why I was asked to come and buy yam at Alapa market, there we're may yams in the market.
I notice somethings in the market. They were three kinds of people in the market:first is the farmer, the farmer came to deliver the yam to the marketer and finally the people who came to buy the yam. So the marketer act as a middleman between the farmer and the final consumer. The marketer will talk to the farmer how much is willing to sell the yam and the marketer will help the farmer to sell the yam. The marketer tell the customer the price and they both agreed on the price the yam will be sold meanwhile the marketer collect small amount of money from the farmer for helping him to sell and also collect money from the customer. When I bought my yam worth of #33000 ($72.5), the marketer collected extra #2000 ($4.3) from me. I was told that is how they do things there.
Before I bought the yam there was a place I wanted to buy yam but I didn't have money inside my pocket so I told them that I want to withdraw from the POS to get the money before I came back they have already sold the yam I wanted to buy. I was furious because they have promised to keep the yam for me but my greatest surprise they sold it out to another customer. I just left the place where I eventually bought the yam.
It was already 12pm when I bought the yam and I was looking for car that will transport it to my house when I was told that there already a car that will do that for me but is not free I still pay 2000 ($4) for the driver. Not only my goods was there, some people are already board the so we were four people in total with yams that the driver carried.

IMG_20210403_113058_276.jpg

IMG_20210403_114906_254.jpg

IMG_20210403_113345_783.jpg

So that we can identify our yam, maker was used to spot out their yam.
While I was a waiting for the driver to pack the yam in the car, there was a restaurant should I call it a restaurant well they sell good there. I bought pounded yam with two good beef meat. It was delicious and I used water to step it down.
In the market, there is a blacksmith. I have never seen where hoe or cutlass was made. I head right away to see how it was made. I asked question from him and he was really happy to explain to me

IMG_20210403_104522_667.jpg

IMG_20210403_104715_431.jpg

After an hour the driver has already packed all the yam inside the car and we set out to our various homes. It was really a great journey to Alapa market. I really enjoy myself and I learn alot.

IMG_20210403_165037_226.jpg

IMG_20210403_165034_393.jpg
The yam I bought

Thanks for checking my blog, feel free to comment, reblog and fellow.

@femcy-willy cares

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency