Peaking in Lavender by Market Friday


Bees love lavender in bloom. I'm pretty sure they are attracted to anything in bloom, especially where pollen or nectar is involved. I was impressed with the number of bees that showed up for duty in the lavender fields. Every plant, every day. I am not sure if I have said it before, but, they were so mellow, I could reach down and pet them, seriously. It was as if they were drunk on nectar. There were bumblebees and honeybees everywhere, but honestly
![bee on lavender. it was the bumblebee that there was more in numbers.


LAVENDER 3.JPG


It was quite evident that it was the bumblebees that were loyal to the lavender. For every dozen bumblebees, there might be one honeybee. I noticed that for as sweet as the nectar of the lavender is, there were no wasps or hornets around. Unusual, in my opinion. But, not really. I asked the farmer and he said that it repels the wasps, which was news to me. Something to keep in mind to plant in my own garden.


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on Hive.


IMG_5180.JPG


Because lavender is a fragrant plant, bees are wild about it, You can watch as the lavender calls out to the bees and they make a mad dash towards the lavender. It has so much to offer, with both pollen and nectar available.


lavneter 2.JPG


The lavender season is winding down, very soon. There are still fields being harvested, but, the major blooming peaked this week so it will be all downhill from here. You can see the wildflowers, growing taller and free to stretch across the fields, wild and free, such that it is.


lavender 4.JPG


One of the sweetest sights to see is the way the bumble bees sleep overnight on the lavender. In the last few weeks, I have come upon this sight time and again in the peaceful mornings. They slowly wake up and bumble around for a little while. Have you ever seen a bee sleeping on a flower?


bee on lavender.JPG


In the next week or so, the sunflower farm will officially open. So, we will be trading in the lavender for the sunflowers. I am not sure I am ready to let the lavender go, but, I am definitely ready to see a few sunflowers. It would be a rare occurrence if they cross over each other. We have pretty distinct seasons here in this area. In which season are you blooming? Perhaps I am saying that wrong. What is blooming in your countryside?


bee.JPG


Field Hydrangeas. They just grow through the fields around here. I remember when I planted them in my garden and then found some in the fields. I felt like I wasted my money. Bulbs are one thing that I try to trade for. It works out well for everyone. Bulbs tend to double in bulbs after a few years. You can split them and give someone else a little pleasure or you can just keep them yourself, but, unless you have an incredibly large yard, you might run out of space. Sharing is the best deal going. Give one, get one. Spread the love.


bee flowers.JPG


Growing up, we used to pick black-eyed-susans in the fields back in Connecticut, a State in New England. Sandwiched in between the Atlantic Ocean and the once upon a time farmlands, there were seas of yellow flowers, just waiting to be picked. No lavender, but, plenty of happy little daisy-like flowers.

Center Crest.png

@MarketFriday cannot resist a few flowers here and there. I hope you don't mind, it is such an addictive little thing, clicking and posting flower pictures. Who can resist? Not me.


Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


image.png


And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time and learned a little something new. As always, thank you for taking the time to visit, and remember, #MarketFriday loves you! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a fabulous day! Cheers!!


IMG_5112.JPG


As always, there must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower


image.png


For centuries, flowers have held symbolic meaning for cultures. Their elegance and beauty are legendary. Do you speak the language of flowers? Do you have a flower that you consider your favorite?


W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFNKkiqbuqY2w8xt5o9p.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!


1.Go to any type of market, or anywhere where you pay money for a service. It can be a museum, a movie theatre, or an auction. Be creative!
2.Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost? We like to compare prices, otherwise, it is just pictures of a market!
3.Post the pictures! No out-of-focus ones, please! Tell a little bit about the pictures that you post. Having many pictures to scroll through does not make a better post without explanation.
4.Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated) If you don't, then #MarketFriday should be your first tag
5.Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
6 You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.
7.#MarketFriday post should be submitted sometime on Friday UTC
8.The post MUST be in English
9.Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
190 Comments
Ecency