Market Friday Returns


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on Hive.I put #MarketFriday on vacation as it was becoming a little overwhelming with my work schedule. Hopefully, work will lighten up and we will continue forward.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmpma9DG8gYwwVeNUXT2ZAZpbKf7LP91i2BkbXhwzSFqyT4m1pUHTbwMSANKBt.jpg


This week, I went to the Military Commissary to go grocery shopping. I decided to show you some of the fruits and vegetables that I used. I try to be smart about what I am buying and not get distracted by the signs that shout Sale!!! I used to fall prey to that and I would get home with all this food and I wonder what I will do with it.

Are you ready to shop a bit? I am never ready!! I would rather be doing almost anything, riding my bike, swimming in an ocean of waves, running straight into the sunshine. But, everyone at home wants to eat, so I will go do the needful. Color me kind. Today, they get food. Water tomorrow.


IMG_4947.jpg


So, it all starts with a bright plate of sunshine. Who could resist the sweetness of life wrapped up in the orangest of peels? I cannot tell a lie. It wasn't me. They are sometimes a little sneaky, offering up samples so that you will be tempted. Ever since Auntie COVID came to town, that nicety has gone away, as it should. Now, I must guess what it looks like inside.

IMG_5587.jpg


Blueberries in a cantaloupe bowl surrounded by grapes. Remember what they say. Five servings of fruit and veggies every day. I try to incorporate as many vegetables into a meal as I can. Finding new ways to wow my family's taste buds is always a mission. So I try to find recipes that have things in them that they like and push in a little something new.


20210301_120021.jpg


I know that zucchini isn't something new for their pallet, but, I am always trying to find great ways to use them. I bread them and fry them, bake them, saute them, but, I am really looking for some good ways to use them. Ditto with eggplant. It's fun to experiment, but, more fun when you discover a new way to do things. Do you eat zucchini and eggplant? What is your favorite way to use them?


image.jpgsource

Do you use a shopping list, either on your phone or written down? Do you shop for the sales or for the taste of what you are feeling like? I tend to put menus together for each day, so I can do more economical shopping, getting items that I need instead of what I see. Sometimes, I am impulsive, so I bring a list so I don't wander off the menu. :))


IMG_5699.jpg


Is there anything more delicious than the delicate taste of asparagus with a touch of garlic, lightly sauteed in olive oil? Only if they are paired up against freshly picked off-the-vine tomatoes. Well, at this time of year, I will have to believe them if they say they are freshly picked off some vine in California. Or Chile. We have had a great season for fresh fruits and vegetables, despite shortages of other grocery items.


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


Question:I have keys, but no locks and space, and no rooms. You can enter, but you can’t go outside. What am I?*

source


Answer! Can you guess??? A keyboard!

Center Crest.png

Oh, red cabbage! You are so underappreciated! I love you in a salad.
Cabbage soup. Another winner. Okay, the winner may be pushing it, but, it certainly has made its way into my heart.The heads always seem so tiny to me and yet, I never run out of it.


3W72119s5BjWPGGUiZ9pqnZoj8JHYxCCp9dtn2QVfAoeXGVvgkNKKHLFYX7aKr2Dy9SjiFyEEeBmEaEM1aiznbD7tFrVJV8G4YQBzWMYZih9DXDZY8pNhU.jpg


Salad is my favorite! I can't imagine a day without some sort of salad. I even made little heart tomatoes to throw in. They are so sweet! I found out how to do it around Valentine's Day. But, every day is Valentines to me!


20210219_165506.jpg


Rules of the Road

Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative (or not, we don't judge!)
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture(s)
Use the MarketFriday Community Platform or tag #MarketFriday
Drop the link into the MarketFriday post so I can find it
Have fun!

Heart On A Course L.png

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


And just like that, this post is done. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit, and just remember, #MarketFriday loves you! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a most fabulous day! Cheers!!


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmkEWWtuTPCzKnJtbgjzqNaugFanpieUfGy2YozwHL57XVK6PaYgq3GmwDfPBh.png


As always, there must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower


IMG_8115.JPG


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.


It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

20200312_091441.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency