Market Friday in Montreal

I don't often participate in market Friday hosted by @dswigle. I have have to work Friday from afternoon to evening so I don't take the time to go anywhere interesting. It's Saturday here still for another 40 minutes but I think in some places it's still Friday.

This week the market came to my door. I live in the center of the center in Montreal. This is an area known for bars, cafes, clothing shops both new and vintage.

Every summer the stores, shops and restaurants along this street stretching across several blocks, pull out there wares and sell the same stuff for a little less or the same. Crowds flock to the action.

Yesterday was a perfect weather day so I did a little stroll before work to see the hype.

DSC_4065.jpg

This is what I see when I step out the door. You can buy all kinds of items or gifts.

DSC_4055.jpg

There seems to be more clothing for sale than anything.

DSC_4057.jpg

This pub has been here for more than two decades. I don't know how long. Years ago it had a young poor crowd that came for six dollar pitchers of beer. It was never a classy joint but now it caters to the old guys that want to watch sports and drink cheep beer. Nobody wants to work here. They advertised for staff. After weeks they had a sign looking for staff with an exclamation mark. I wouldn't want to work here either.

DSC_4058.jpg

When I stepped out of my building which is the grey one on the left, I notice a line up of teens and youths lining up for something I don't know. I don't understand what could be worth lining up for.

DSC_4059.jpg

DSC_4061.jpg

If I were in the market for some lacey bras and dream catchers I wouldn't have to go to two different places. This shop has both.

DSC_4063.jpg

You can buy winter coats and summer dresses all in the same place.

DSC_4064.jpg

One thing that interested me were the socks. I have a thing for socks.

DSC_4067.jpg

Across from the socks is lotion and hair products.

DSC_4069.jpg

There are some strange shops that sell eccentric over priced items. I am surprised they're still in business.

DSC_4071.jpg

DSC_4072.jpg

This store has electronic gadgets, cell phones and small appliances. The owner tells me how he struggles to stay open. He once was doing very well.

DSC_4077.jpg

For a food and beverage break you have many choices to please everyone's taste.

DSC_4070.jpg

If you feel like some Venezuelan arepas, the place across the street from me has all kinds including a vegan one. I have never gone there.

DSC_4084.jpg

There are quite a few Indian restaurants on my street. I have never tried
them. I assume they put ghee in everything. I did see a sign in one place saying they had vegan options. I prefer to make my own. I have a cupboard full of spices.

DSC_4085.jpg

Across from my building is the vegan Mexican sandwich shop that my boss owns. I work in his other vegan restaurant around the corner. There are at least ten vegan restaurants within a ten minute walk from this corner where I live.

DSC_4073.jpg

If you are a carnivore you have a selection of famous Montreal delis where people line up for a long time to get a corned beef sandwich. This time they can sit down.

DSC_4087.jpg

DSC_4088.jpg

Well it is time to head back home and get ready for work. Fortunately I can get to work in 60 seconds if I don't have to wait for the light to turn green.

DSC_4091.jpg

And back home to the apartment on top of the wine store.

DSC_4096.jpg

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency