Shopping a Dress Online, a Good or Bad Idea?

IMG_20230708_021829.jpg
edited in canva

When it comes to shopping, online is one of the places I love to go. What I love about online shopping is that, I can find the best deals since there are so many shopping stores to choose from. Aside from that, I can also find online even other products that are not commonly available in the local markets. It also gives me so much time to choose and weigh in my options before adding to cart and eventually buy the product. Shopping options right at your fingertips has made my shopping experience easy and comfortable.

Recently, I purchased a dress from a store at Shoppee, a popular online shopping platform here in the country. This is in preparation for an event that I am going to attend in the coming days.

I don't usually buy my clothes online since it is always about the expectation versus reality. Many times clothing products that looks so good on the picture is not what it is in reality. I might also have issues with the sizes. Since I cannot fit it, there is always the possibility that it won't fit on me properly or I might not look good on that dress I just bought. For me, buying clothes online is risky. But I took the risk with the hectic schedules I have, I don't have much time to go shopping at physical stores.

EXPECTATIONS

IMG_20230707_235851.jpg
A screenshot of the dress I purchased.

When it comes to choosing what to buy and which shop I would choose, I always consider the following:

📌 Stores reputation - I only buy from preferred stores or with a rating of 4.8 to 5 out of 5. I also check the number of the store followers. A good rating and more store follower make me choose that store.

📌The Product Reviews - The first thing I do when I see what seems to be a nice item is to read the product reviews and ratings. It should have a rating of 4 to five stars. There should be legit product reviews with real photos of purchased product received and their real experience. I also consider the number of products sold.

Having met my standards in choosing an item and a store, I did not hesitate to check it out. I was positive that I wouldn't be having issues of the product or if there is any, it would be minimal.

The item was shipped overseas so shipping period was more than a week. I even thought it will not be delivered on time.

I really feel that this dress will fit on me perfectly.

REALITY

The product was delivered two days late from its expected time of delivery but it was alright with me since it was shipped from overseas.

As soon as the product was delivered, I excitedly opened it so I can try it on.

IMG_20230708_004516.jpg

My Review:

📌 Color - in the description, the color is retro green and it is what it is. So color is 100% legit.

📌 The Fabric - the fabric in the description is ployester. I don't know much about fabric but all I can say is that, I love the quality of the fabric. Is is soft and silky to feel but not strechable. It is also lightweight and not too thin.

IMG20230708005231.jpg

📌 The handiwork - One thing that I approve of as a good quality dress is how the edges are sewn. The edges are neatly sewn and without dents. Overall, I can see the good workmanship on the product.

IMG_20230708_013043.jpg

IMG_20230708_013027.jpg

I love the dress. I really find it classy and of really good quality. With its price at 13$, for me it is worth it.

but...

What a dissapoint! When I tried it on, the zipper got stucked at the waistline part. OMG! HAHA! I wouldn't fit and my waistline is the problem. 😅 No matter how I tried it just won't fit. I can only blame my self. I lack judgment on choosing the style and the size. I thought the size I chose could fit perfectly. I underestimated my waistline. Haha. I forgot, it's not the waistline I used to have some 10 years ago.

It's a lesson learned when shopping online when it comes to clothing. It is always a risk.

So to be sure not waste my money on clothes, next time I'd rather buy in physical stores.

This my #MarketFriday experience. Thanks to @dswigle I could share it here.

Happy shopping everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now