This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Memories of a good time

Unfortunately, memories are still more pleasant than reality. This year, which I entered with high hopes, shows no signs, for me, of being any better than previous years. Something is happening, after this seemingly endless pandemic, and, at least for me, nothing good looks like it will continue.

In such moments, in order to forget the present, I turn to the past, to the most pleasant memories. For me, the best memories are holiday memories and the best holidays have always been seaside holidays.

The best beach holiday experience I had was in Greece, on the island of Thassos. For me, the ultimate beauty at sea is in Greece and because I have only been to Thassos island, that's all I can relate to.

img_0301.jpg

I have been to Limenaria, the second largest town on Thassos, there they call it a village but in my opinion, it is a small town. My first holiday there was in 2017 and I liked it so much that I decided to go there every year, as long as I can travel. Beyond the beauty of the place, the atmosphere that I liked, the fact that I found what I now expect from the sea were also our hosts with whom we became very close friends.

We managed to go back there in 2018 and 2019 and that was it. The pandemic stopped us from going to Thassos again.

img_2094.jpg

The memories, aided by the hundreds of photos we have taken over the three years, make us forget the not-so-good present and fuel our hope that next summer we will finally get to Greece.

Now I don't want to highlight the natural beauties of the island. For that, other travel posts will follow.

Right now I'm going to talk about food!

Every time I visit a new place, a new region, or a new country, especially a new country, I am most curious and eager to know the local food.

Being Greece, all the more so. Before arriving on the island I tried to find out how and where the best food was and everyone I asked said... taverna! So I started looking for tavernas. They were many and hard to choose.

img_3522.jpg

img_3516.jpg

img_20170919_092116_1_.jpg

When we got to our hosts I thought I'd ask and ask for a recommendation. A place where they used to eat when they decided not to eat at home. They recommended that I go in the evening to a street near the hotel and that there I would find what I was looking for. They didn't tell me more, they just said it was a surprise.

I didn't have the patience to wait for the evening, so I immediately went to that street.

img_2430.jpg

All the taverns and terraces were located on the waterfront and on the busiest streets.

img_20170916_203131.jpg

When we arrived at the place recommended by our hosts we found a side street far from the sea. I figured I would find a famous and hidden restaurant. It was not so.

img_2435.jpg

img_2439.jpg

Instead of the restaurant, we found only some tables and chairs placed on either side of the street. Nothing else.

img_2444.jpg

img_2451.jpg

I left somewhat disappointed but also curious because I trusted our hosts. We returned in the evening... The "scenery" changed a little, I noticed that the tables were ready.

img_4482.jpg

This was the start of a very enjoyable evening! In a very short time, all the tables were occupied.

img_20170918_201125.jpg

img_20180917_201811.jpg

That's when I found out what was going on there. A family had designed such a tavern, i.e. their kitchen and the street. The simplest and most ordinary food, as they usually eat, cooked by the women of the family. I mean mother, daughters, daughters-in-law.

img_20170918_205009_hht.jpg

img_20180917_203736.jpg

img_20180917_203743.jpg

This is what the menu looks like.

img_20190905_193819.jpg

Simple dishes, salads, fish and seafood, meat. Tasty, fresh, and cheap food. Cheap because they've eliminated a lot of the costs that restaurants have.

img_20180920_195337.jpg

img_20180920_200323.jpg

img_20190908_201648.jpg

Toasted bread on the grill on which they put extra virgin olive oil, made from olives from their orchard. Grilled fish, fried with olive oil and lemon and wine!

img_20190905_202538.jpg

img_20190905_204047.jpg

Mediterranean food. A joy for all customers. We met them every evening. Anyone who has eaten here never wants to go anywhere else. Become a permanent customer.

img_20190905_210738.jpg

img_20190909_212448.jpg

I was delighted with the place I found to eat. Looking forward to the evening. Not only me...

img_20180917_200223_hht.jpg

Food was plentiful for everyone. More than the food was the totally special atmosphere that I haven't found anywhere else. We all felt a bit Greek, that's why we went there. We also learned, cooked some dishes at home, and applied the same methods: grilling, extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, and wine!

img_9886.jpg

In the end, I have to put a flower. Also from the island.

Thanks to the one who opened the way to Thassos for me, my son Alex who is 40 years old today!Happy birthday! He gave me the gift of the 2017 holiday.

img_20210708_112739.jpg

befunky_design_9_.jpg

For #MarketFriday by @dswigle

befunky_design_9_.jpg

every_picture.jpg