A kind of selfie

It's Friday again and "Friday I'm in love"! Of course, it's The Cure's song, a wonderful song that fills me, the pessimist, with optimism. Because I know that Friday is every week, that it repeats itself endlessly, whether we want it to or not.

Friday means something besides being the beginning of the end... of the week. It means I'll try writing again in the community that has this day in its name, MarketFriday!

Because I like to try to write something original I shy away from reading what my peers in the community have written before writing my post, so as not to be biased either in topic or content. I also don't read @dswigle's post, who is the initiator and curator of this community. Usually. Today, I can't figure out why I still read @dswigle's post before I started writing my own. Maybe because I had clearly in mind what I was going to write and didn't think I would be influenced by outside events.

I read and I was influenced!

A kind of selfie

To explain the title of the post though. Initially, I wanted to write about something else but reading @dswigle's post threw my plans off. I thought I'd do a different kind of post in this Friday market and merchandise be me. Because I sell out whenever I post something. As someone buys me, here's the merchandise as it looks. I don't do selfies, because I don't like them. I try to put the merchandise on a stall, in this case on the surface of some windows. Some reflections!

img_20210613_105222.jpg

Looking for some small art galleries, in the Old Centre of Bucharest, I photographed some windows that attracted me and they rewarded me with some shaky images. Images of the author who speaks here.

img_20210613_105201.jpg

At times like this, on the street, I use my phone more for photos. People aren't too thrilled when they are photographed on the street, the bigger and more modern cameras they see, the more suspicious they are. Instead, everyone has a smartphone. That's why using my smartphone as a camera is less annoying because everyone recognizes themselves in the character taking the pictures. So I use the smartphone for convenience and safety.

Bucharest, the capital of Romania, had a period of glory in the last century, from the beginning of the last century until the end of the Second World War. It has been compared to Paris. Not the whole city, just this center where I am now. It was called Little Paris! I found a bistro called just that...

img_20210613_110243.jpg

img_20210613_110330.jpg

Later I noticed that my image stuck to this place too.

img_20210613_110330_1_.jpg

Vis a vis is one of the sought-after galleries. Unfortunately, it was closed, the pandemic closed a lot of these small businesses.

img_20210613_110311.jpg

And this is where I saw later that I stuck to the window.

img_20210613_110311_1_.jpg

It's not a personal promotion post but if I think of myself as a commodity then I have to expose myself, right?
Fortunately, the photos are blurry enough so that a bit of mystery remains.
xet.png

And yet, where is the market today?

Well, my intention was to look for a certain art gallery where I found out that the paintings of a Syrian painter who paints in Romania and who paints in a style that I like a lot are exhibited. His paintings are quite expensive but I wanted to see if I could find something I could buy.

I can say with relief that here too the gallery was closed and so I wasn't tempted to buy, but the result was yet another picture of me on the window.

img_20210613_110226.jpg

img_20210613_110232.jpg

img_20210613_110234.jpg

The gallery seems abandoned in a hurry, the paintings are scattered everywhere as if a highly contagious virus has arrived there.

Which is almost true.

xet.png

I read Denise's post...

Instead of a model #marketfriday post, Denise chose to open up a discussion about community. About the MarketFriday community and about communities in general, about what it takes to be a community. It's a topic I've thought about many times and I have to say I agree with what Denise said. The idea that everyone needs to support their peers..., not just post and run. To interact and support, to send feedback. In general, that's missing from many of the communities on Hive. Denise has noticed this and wants this not to happen in MarketFriday. She has sounded an alarm, I am curious if this will be successful.
In the end, I have to admit that I haven't done my duty as a member of the community either but I am trying to fix that.

xet.png

Little Paris. What it looks like now and what the future will be like.

Since I've arrived at the place where the middle of Little Paris once was, I've looked around and thought I'd show you what it looks like now. In just a few pictures.

Some of it has deteriorated due to lack of care and even intentional destruction. I'm surprised they've lasted more than a hundred years.

img_20210613_105510.jpg

img_20210613_110012.jpg

Fortunately, several years ago the rehabilitation of this place began and many buildings have changed their appearance, have regained their former beauty.

img_20210613_110424.jpg

I think in not many years it will all be rehabilitated and will be one of the most sought-after spots in the city.

xet.png

I mentioned at the beginning a song that inspires me on Fridays.

xet.png

In keeping with tradition, will be a flower, because #alwaysaflower. Now a flower picked from the Old Centre of Bucharest.

img_20210613_105523.jpg

xet.png

For #marketfriday and #alwaysaflower by @dswigle

xet.png

every_picture.jpg

xet.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency