Ropa Americana - Market Friday

When we moved here, we had no idea that our town would be known for having a ton of Ropa Americanas in it. These are otherwise known as thrift stores in the United States!

Another thing I never realized was that clothes that people donate in the US can make their way to other countries to be sold in stores like our Ropa Americanas. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy to have brands I know instead of relying on cheap polyester shirts with English typos (that's another post in and of itself).

I like that I can go into one of my favorite stores here and find shirts I know are made of cotton, fit well, and are a good brand that shouldn't fall apart soon. I've even been able to get good deals, like the pants I'm wearing now are my size from American Eagle and they were in the 3/$1 box recently!

Today my girlie and I hit the local organic veggie market, stopped by the Lury Ropa Americana, and then went to our amazon returns store, Remate. All of our favorite Friday stops!

The Lury store on main street is #2 and way smaller than the other one up the road, but I was still able to find a few good deals. My parents are about to head to Hawaii, so I tried to convince my dad he needed this authentic Hawaiian shirt for $3! I also found a shirt for my husband. He really likes pearl snap buttons and is in this "western" kick right now with boots and Wranglers (which we still look for at the Ropa Americanas). Ha! The shirt cost me $5.

.

It is interesting the things you can find in one of these stores. Anything from baby clothes to shoes to blankets to hats to purses to shorts to winter coats! They are a treasure trove just waiting to be discovered. Today we also purchased and shared a Hostess chocolate cupcake for $.50 from the Ropa Americana! YUMMY!

The quality in some of the stores is lacking, however. Sometimes the clothes will smell musty or have stains. It just depends on what the owner orders from the distribution company over in Panama City.

My girl wanted to buy this hat today, but I didn't see much use for it! I also found an adult wetsuit for $1. You just never know what you're going to find in these places!

Do you ever go thrift shopping?


šŸ›ļø #MarketFriday by @dswigle. šŸŒø


Use my referral link to join Ecency and earn points for posting, commenting, voting, and more that you can trade back in for an upvote! So easy - I can usually get at least a $1 upvote twice week, depending on my level of activity!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency